We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
Review of Brookside

Brookside
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brookside
Ranked #1 of 2 Allonby B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at Past & Present in September 2013 during our driving holiday in the Lake District. The hosts were very hospitable, room was very comfortable although the bathroom was not en-suite but just outside the room. Very Victorian style of decoration. The host allowed us to use a warm lounge to watch TV and chill out. The B & B is located just in front of the sea front. Breakfast was quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janban53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

What a little piece of Heaven this is! We stayed very near by (2 doors away) this summer and had the pleasure of chatting with the owners on a number of occasions. We popped in for afternoon tea with our children and were made to feel very welcome indeed. Beautiful crockery, fantastic scones and a lovely atmosphere. I would thoroughly recommend this little tea shop to all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofistikate1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
376 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have been coming to Past and Present for many years. It is an oasis in Allonby where Alan and Pauline make you so welcome. You can sit inside or outside on a sunny day, tea is served in china cups and teapots. Give it a try you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

A wonderful rest at Past & Present in Allonby, a lovely victorian styled guest house. Pauline and Alan welcomed us and we had a very relaxin stay, the beds were just wonderful.
The quest house also has a tearoom which is open most afternoons to the general public. Although we didn't sample these ourselves a lady said it was the best afternoon tea she had ever had. Pauline and Alan also have a wealth of knowledge of the local area which they are more than willing to share.

Allonby maybe a little further north than the popular honey pots of Cumberland but it has a village feel and being on the coast plenty of walking to work off the cooked breakfast and cream teas!!!
Worth a stay x

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dora02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allonby
0.4 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#2 of 5 in Maryport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rafferty's Bistro Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#1 of 1 in Dearham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Green View Guest House
Green View Guest House
#1 of 3 in Silloth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Brookside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside

Property: Brookside
Address: Brookside Brookside Brookside, Allonby CA15 6PU, England (Formerly Past & Present)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Allonby
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Allonby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Brookside 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brookside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Allonby, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing