We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Place!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captains Cottage

Captains Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Sea view to Criffel and Dumfriesshire from decking area
Sea veiw from decking area in garden
Our nautical but nice house sign
The roaring wood burner in the lounge area
Bedroom one with Kingsize bed
One of the beds in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
The other bed in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
Sunset view from Kitchen/Lounge window
kitchen/lounge window with sea view
walled courtyard next to decking platform with sea view
Captains Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Allonby, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HOUSEofMA...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Place!”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here for the second time we love this place! Very nicely decorated and maintained, and so clean which is important to us. So close to the beach and lovely view of the sea from the kitchen. We will be back..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Thankyou for taking the time to review our cottage we would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindiloo2...
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage but facing wrong direction”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

From the photos and description of this cottage, I assumed that it faced the sea and would have sea views from most windows and from the chairs on the decked area, if not from the patio. The cottage is, however, actually built end on to the sea and there is only one window in the whole cottage which offers a sea view, and it is approximately 3 feet by 2 feet and in the dining area. The length of the cottage shown in the main photo faces 2 huge buildings, one of which is very dilapidated and depressing. The patio and decked area are also this side of the cottage and, at the sea end of this area is a high whitewashed wall, against which the decked area stands. True, you can see the sea from this decked area but only if you are standing up and are tall enough to look over the wall. You cannot sit on the decked area chairs and see the sea. I have tried to make this clear so that future holidaymakers don't feel the disappointment we did when we saw the position of the cottage, against what we had been expecting. I am not suggesting that the photos and description are misleading but I'm sure we are not the first guests to have pictured ourselves sitting on the decking watching the sea or waking up to a sea view through the bedroom window. I have, however, only knocked one star off as the cottage itself is delightful inside. It has a seaside theme running throughout, is tastefully decorated, has large comfortable rooms and was spotlessly clean. We found everything we needed apart from scissors (which we bought and left in the cottage for others) and found the bed in the main bedroom very comfortable.
The cottage is very close to the sea and Allonby is a village with some cobbled streets, a couple of pubs, post office and shop. Be early if you want fish and chips from the village chippy. It is advertised as being open 'till late' but we went at 6.45pm and they had already sold out of fish!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: The position of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Hi thank you for your review and thank you for the scissors they even match the decor! ; ) if only we could spin the cottage around so that not just the kitchen window faced the sea. So sorry you were disappointed with the position, we would also love to have a bigger sea view window but as it is a protected area planning only allowed 1 m square, however we still can see the waves crashing over morning coffee or the fantastic sunsets at night. You're right about the chip shop it often sells out fish but is delicicious when you can get it : )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIPPERLEE
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A thoroughly enjoyable 4 day stay !”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Captain's Cottage is of a very good standard indeed and ideally located immediately next to the beach with wonderful views across The Solway to Scotland,made even better by the great weather we had !
Allonby itself is a very picturesque village with all necessary amenities and the immediate area ,although quite flat is delightful containing many quite lanes, footpaths and hamlets.
However without doubt for us it is the super coastal location combined with a sense of remoteness that is main attraction !
Anna is a very conscientious friendly host & all in all I have no hesitation in recommending Captain's Cottage !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable accommodation & excellent location !
Liked least: The wall between the decking & beach,perhaps glass would be better ?
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review our cottage your kind comments are much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson S
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous - Home from home”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from a 3 night stay in this fab cottage, beautifully decorated and everything you could possibly need for a self catering holiday has been thought of by Anna. The cottage is in a great location, so peaceful and a stone's throw from the beach. My 2 dogs had a wonderful time too and we would return tomorrow without hesitation. Thanks to Anna and Ian for this gem of a cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thankyou so much we really appreciate you taking the time to review our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa794
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil and relaxing cottage close to many adventures!”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a great place to stay! This was our second time and the cottage was even better than before if that was possible! The window in the kitchen diner was a really great addition as it makes you feel connected to the sea even whilst inside. The sunsets were magnificent and having small children it meant we didn't have to miss them whilst they were asleep!
The location is ideal, near a fantastic park that suited all our children who range from 2-9years old. The beach is clean and refreshing.
We felt thoroughly recharged and will definitely go again. Next time we going to take bikes as the coastal path is safe and designed for cycling.
Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage xxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2016
Your review is much appreciated thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damionsmu...
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great accommodation , Fabulous location”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Had a fabulous short stay at in March , having originally booked in January but then having to cancel due to health issues we were ecstatic to finally make it to captains cottage and it was even better than expected !
Easy to find , great parking facilities the cottage itself was large and spacious and well equipped ( we did miss having a dishwasher though , and a larger fridge would not go amiss), although they are only tiny niggles as everything else was great .
The location is second to none right next to the beach for long walks with the dogs and just across the way from 'The Codfather' fish and chip shop the best fish and chip I have ever tasted.
It was still chilly in March but the cottage was always warm and cosy with full central heating and a fabulous roaring wood burner in the living room
The Pinicle of our stay was the amazing sunsets which we watched through the kitchen window every evening - photos don't do it justice.
We were in the area house hunting ( successfully !) and so will not be staying again as we will be living up there but if that was not the case we would have already booked for a repeat visit, and wouldn't hesitate to reccomend captains cottage to anybody it's a fabulous self catering cottage and a credit to the owners ( who incidentally are the nicest , helpfull and customer service focused people that I have come across in our many self catering stays around the area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness of the property
Liked least: No dishwasher , tiny fridge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Its it much appreciated your kind comments and taking the time to review and pleased your house hunting was successful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ay47
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceeded our Expectations!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Having just returned from a stay here, we would definitely recommend it. The cottage was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated throughout and it had all the home comforts that both ourselves and our children needed. Being directly next to the beach, its in a particularly unique setting which makes it even more special. We appreciated the sea view from the kitchen window every morning and our children loved the fact that the park was practically next door!

We used the local pub and chip shop in Allonby and the staff were friendly and helpful at both.There's lots to do in the area and we would definitely recommend the Clip'n'Climb in Maryport for children.

Our only regret is that we didn't book a longer stay, we were sad to leave such a lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing