We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captains Cottage

Captains Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Sea view to Criffel and Dumfriesshire from decking area
Sea veiw from decking area in garden
Our nautical but nice house sign
The roaring wood burner in the lounge area
Bedroom one with Kingsize bed
One of the beds in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
The other bed in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
Sunset view from Kitchen/Lounge window
kitchen/lounge window with sea view
walled courtyard next to decking platform with sea view
Captains Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Allonby, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peppermin...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fabulous cottage which cannot be faulted. A lot of thought and care has been put into making sure you have a wonderful stay no matter what age. Immaculate and comfortable whatever the weather and we had storm Aileen! Perfect for beach combing and walking but so near to the Lakes and at night you can have the most amazing sunsets with views over to Scotland. Two pubs serving meals and the Codfather fish and chip shop (beware very large portions) and the Ice Cream shop a must, everyone so friendly and helpful really is a lovely place. Was so sad to leave thank you Anna

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thankyou so much for your kind comments we really appreciate the time you have taken to write your review. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your review we would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thankyou we value and appreciate you taking the time to write your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a delightful review it is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate and value your comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sharon a
2 reviews
“Quiet retreat with beach on doorstep”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Captains cottage was fantastic, well equipped wit a lovely log burner for chilling out and having a glass of wine. Anna the owner welcomed Barny our dog too. Great location for travelling to lake Windermere, Coniston and then scenery through Buttermere and Keswick. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review we really appreciate and value your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry M
2 reviews
“amazing”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

amazing place would recomend this lovely family place to anyone cod faters chip shop is amazing and staff very friendly, we also went to jacks the pub just few minutes walking lovely and friendly again beach is amazing few rocks about amazing walks. great views of the sunrise and the sea from the kitchen window, our daughter loved the ice cream place on the other side of the road from the chip shop,defo going back already booked our next holiday at this lovely relaxing place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thankyou so much for your time reviewing our cottage we really appreciate your comments and are delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing