We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
49
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an amazing experience guest house bike ride wild animals spent one night day hike rooms are clean kidepo national park delicious food home away from home chicken cold beer a lot of fun sipi falls boda boda tour shorter hike wonderful trip
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

At first, the most important thing you have to know about Karatunga: Go there if you’re in Moroto!
No matter if you want to stay for just a night, either in one of their comfortable rooms with your own shower and toilet or on the camping ground next to the bonfire, go there!
If you just have a few hours in Moroto, go there and enjoy Ivan’s most delicious local cuisine, rice, greens, beans, cabbage, Rolex, boo, chapati, sweat potatoes, French fries, chicken, Beef, Irish potatoes and, if you’re lucky: Pizza with fresh basil!
If you want to stay longer (I stayed in Moroto for almost two months) you have to stay in Karatunga: There might be cheaper accomodations but no matter where you go, you’ll never get that perfect breakfast (coffee, tea, fresh fruits, Omelette, toast, honey) every day, you won’t find a friendlier and more warmhearted staff and nowhere it’s easier to meet People who can take you to any kind of activity!
Go there and enjoy Karatunga’s hospitality as long as you can!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philipp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

What a genuine experience! Me, my wife and 6 years old son spent 1 night with a family in the moutains and we stayed 1 night in a kraal. We'll remember both nights as a 'once in a lifetime' experience. Sitting at a camp fire, listening to the intense songs...Having a chat with them about how they experience life and about their future expectations... Our son playing with the kids all kind of games our grandparents use to play when they were young...

If someone is planning to go to Uganda, please do not forget this region for the most authentic experience possible in this stunning country.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank victork693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We spent one night in Kara Tunga Guesthouse and one night 'in the Kraal' with the Karamajong. A relaxed and authentic experience! The Guesthouse is located on a green and spacious compound. Friendly host Ivan served us with tasty meals and we enjoyed a good night of sleep in one of the decent guest rooms. On our trip to the Kraal we danced and jumped with the Karamajong shepherds and enjoyed their local brew and stories. We can definitely recommend a visit to Kara Tunga. Lots of fun in a unique environment.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

A driver came to pick us up in Jinja, after that we drove to Nakapiripirit, we slept in a hotel and the day after we started early to hike (and camp) Mt. Kadam. Great guides, good materials (tents etc) and a lot of fun. The hike was difficult, but totally worth it! After that we had an overnight-experience in the 'kraal' near Moroto, we met local people in the village and sang together. The day after - with a lot of muscle pain - we went for a mountainbike tour in Moroto. We could use a room in the guesthouse of KaraTunga Moroto for showering after. We also had breakfast and lunch at the guesthouse, beautiful guesthouse and it's a shame we didn't had the chance to sleep here. After some rest we drove to Kidepo National Park, to celebrate New Years Eve. An amazing opportunity to celebrate this with a campfire, traditional dance and surrounded by wild animals. On the 1st day of 2018, we went for 2 game drives in Kidepo and spotted a lion! Overall, it was a well organised tour and very interestting to see how people live in the north of Uganda. RECOMMENDED!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

We took guests who were visiting to lunch at Kara-Tunga. We arrived a bit early for African lunch. We were graciously seated under a tree in lovely chairs. It was so peaceful and welcoming. Lunch was served in decent time with great entrees that had plenty for our 7 guests and my husband and me. The food was really delicious and presented in a eye appealing way.
Ivan is a gift. I hope Kara-Tunga appreciate him as such.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 600ingridl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theovos, Owner at Kara-Tunga, Karamoja Arts & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Ingrid, thank you for sharing your experience and we're happy you enjoyed the culinary creations of Ivan our chef. Hoping to host you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews