We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pendragon House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caerleon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pendragon House B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Caerleon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed at the wonderful Pendragon House this week and couldn't have been happier with this lovely B&B.

The owners are incredibly friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. The room was spotless, the beds were comfy and the breakfast......delicious!

I shall certainly be booking up to stay again when I visit Caerleon again later this year. Impeccable service from the lovely Kath & Peter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleee_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
62
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a delightful find. We stayed here while attending a wedding close by and found it to be a little gem.
Friendly and welcoming hosts and a charming room with a comfortable bed made this a pleasurable stay followed by an excellent Welsh breakfast the following day.
We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the building and I slept very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank got0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Pendragon House is located in the very centre of Caerleon. As noted by some other reviewers, the one-way road system of Caerleon made finding the B&B a little difficult - the trick is to look for the Olde Bull Inn's car park, then walk around the corner to the B&B. You will receive an incredibly warm welcome from Kathryn - a warmth that continued throughout our stay. Although distracted by family activities (we stayed on the weekend of her daughter's birthday), Kath's friendly helpfulness never wavered.

The rooms (we stayed in rooms 1 and 2) were not huge, but were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms were lovely, with decent hot showers and lovely toiletries. However, our rooms faced the street, which proved to be quite noisy on weekends. We were disturbed by people leaving the pub and restaurant opposite. Sticking doors (the bane of old houses!) meant we were also woken by other guests returning to their rooms.

The cooked breakfast was plentiful and tasty, although we were a little disappointed by the continental selection. We had been spoiled at other B&Bs with yogurt and stewed fruit or fruit salad for breakfast, and did miss having those. A small matter, though. Kath catered well for our son's lactose intolerance.

I wish that I could give Pendragon House four and a half stars. While we could not fault Kath as a host (she really is quite wonderful), and the house and rooms are lovely, a couple of little issues did mean that our stay was not absolutely perfect. However, these would not prevent us from wanting to return, or from recommending Pendragon House to others.

Room Tip: The room at the back might be a better bet on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Best omelette and *award-winning sausages I've ever had. Not only a convenient location in a lovely little but large on history and scenery, this B&B is spotless and sooooo comfortable. And to be greeted and taken care of by the lovely Kathryn (Auntie Kath!) and her husband beat, you are made to feel like royalty.
Plus, they are well informed about the town and local surroundings.
A definite highlight of my trip, and I will most definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Only if you struggle with steps, ask for the first floor room (which also might be a bit quieter, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethKuyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

A lovely place and you will never be as well looked after as with Kath and Pete. Location wise its a good base to use for so many sights or business. You have Newport and Cardiff close by but to visit the Gower peninsula or up into the Brecon Beacons is easy from here as well. Just off the motorway but in a wonderful little town so not busy and yet close to amenities

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonJ225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

A colleague and I stayed here whilst attending a conference at Celtic Manor and it was a real treat. Kath made us extremely welcome and the rooms and breakfast were of first quality. So simple to arrange a cab to ferry us there and back and an infinitely more pleasant experience than staying at the nearby Holiday Inn / Hilton!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Now I have to to be upfront and say we knew Kath and Pete before visiting their wonderful B & B. We were neighbours in Surrey before they moved to a TOTALLY new venture in Wales.
It took us a couple of years to organise ourselves( ?!) but we made it to Caerleon this September.The main emphasis of the trip was for my brother to have a couple of rounds at the Celtic Manor course. That worked out really well and the staff were really helpful and accommodating.
Now our stay at Pendragon....... Well it was just lovely and homely and welcoming and cosy and fresh and .......... The bedrooms had everything you might hope for but couldn't expect and delightful finishing touches. The bed and linen was sumptuous and sooo... comfortable.
Kath cooked us delicious breakfasts each morning from an extensive choice of dishes..... The omelette is a must....and you can choose whatever you want to go in or with it! In a handful of years Kath and Pete have made an enviable and welcoming 'home from home'. It was just a very very special place to stay!
Now the other great thing is that this little gem is set right in the heart of a rather special town which is steeped in history and it's all on the doorstep, so once you've parked up you don't have to get in a car again until you leave.Stunning excavated Roman ruins, cosy restaurants, numerous hostelries and unrivalled scenery make this a 'must visit' destination.Put it on your list and stay at Pendragon to be pampered!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fion_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerleon
0.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendragon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendragon House B&B

Property: Pendragon House B&B
Address: 18 Cross Street, Caerleon, Newport NP18 1AF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Caerleon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendragon House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendragon House is Georgian Grade II Listed house in the heart of Caerleon village in South Wales. A warm Welsh welcome is assured, whether you are visiting relatives or simply exploring this historic area. Close to all local amenities, golf courses and historic attractions. All our double and twin rooms have en-suite facilities offering elegant and luxurious accommodation for all the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pendragon House B&B Caerleon, Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing