We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great afternoon”

National Roman Legion Museum
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Caerleon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great afternoon”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have lived in Newport for 13years and never visited this Museum. We took our 7 year old God daughter who was able to enjoy the history she taught us.
such an interesting place to visit. I was amazed by the water effects of the pool. so clever and the water so inviting.
I would take visiting family and friends here as a point of interest. excellent afternoon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BROWNIE750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    132
    20
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“What a place!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

So many amazing things to see. Ideal for kids, great displays, better artefacts and displays than at bath and all free. Great to have a selection of sites in close proximity. Staff all welcoming and knowledgable. Good selection of hands on. Will go organised in future with picnic etc. caerleon is a nice place to get to know with some nice looking pubs and cafe. Will go again next time we're in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SimeyWimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Good representation of our past.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

In central Caerleon (On the one way system). A very good collection of artefacts from the adjacent Roman ruins. Well worth a couple of hours especially if combined with the Legionaires Fortress & Baths.Exhibits sensitively displayed for maximun viewability & effect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IainwiththeI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“interesting!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

some museums r rather fusty and boring. this 1 isn't, with some interesting insights that cannot b found by just pottering around the sites. in addition, there is an excellent range of books 4 sale, and the staff r helpful at answering difficult questions

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sjmgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Simply the Best!"”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After 40 years of enjoying Roman history and visiting sites, we were blown away by what's on offer in Caerleon! We stayed in the town, just round the corner from the Museum and Baths complex, so everything was in very easy walking distance - ideal for families with young children. The Roman bathing experience was beautifully recreated in the first building, using sound and projected images to make it look as if the water and the bathers were actually still there! Mesmerising and magical! In the Museum itself we found a wealth of Roman artifacts, including a hoard of enchanting gemstones, life-size models of soldiers, walls full of informative boards and great murals, original carvings and statuary, a faithfully recreated Roman garden, a mock-up of a legionary barrack room, a very nice looped film about spinning and dyeing to make clothes in Roman times and lots of other details to enjoy. There's even a fragment of writing on a tiny wood-shaving from the age of the Legions. Just breathtaking.
What made all this even better was the lovely attitude and enthusiasm of the staff, both in the museum and the baths complex. On both days our visit was enormously enhanced by their input. They were busy, but found time to talk to us and ask us about our experience there. They obviously took great pride in their work and enjoy sharing their love of history with the visitors.
The amphitheatre is beautiful - green and peaceful, a complete round space, and I believe it's still used for plays and festivals. The barrack block is reduced now to the foundations, but is a great way to imagine the size and the business of the original fort.
All these wonderful attractions are free!
This was simply the best Roman experience we've ever had. Bravo to the people who maintain and support it and the staff who present it to the public!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Roman Legion Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Roman Legion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing