We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well presented”

National Roman Legion Museum
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Caerleon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“well presented”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Didn't know what to expect but well worth the trip from Abergavenny. Lighting and graphics really made it all lifelike so easy to see how the Romans used the baths.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dave e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    133
    20
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Needle in a Haystack”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a hard place to get to.Not one signpost on the main routes.Spent over half a hour driving around Newport looking for a way to get there.Giving up we decided to go through Usk and Lo and Behold a Signpost hidden in bushes at the side of the road. Parking in the village was behind the Pub for only two hours, but walking to the Ampitheatre there was free parking but not a lot as most places were for coaches which there were none .Best to take a picnic with you. The Baths were rather good as was the Museum.On enquiring about the lack of signage I was told that there was one on the M4 so unless you come that way hard luck.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheBemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
“Trip to see Roman Legion Museum”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a fantastic place this National Roman Legion Museum is we were staying in the near bye Celtic Manor Resort and got a leaflet in reception and after reading thought that we had to visit the buildings as they were so close to the resort.

The Bathhouse and amphitheatre are all very well preserved and the great thing is that you get to walk around the ruins of the amphitheatre which is about 2000 years old, the artefacts in the museum are very well preserved as well and make very interesting viewing.

Whist we were visiting there must have been several junior school trips visiting the sites, how fantastic it must be for the young children so view, see and touch such historical artefacts.

Will return again on our next trip to Wales a must for all people interested in important historical buildings and best of all it's FREE!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurence771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This place is great.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

If you have kids then you need to go here they are amazing it will keep them entertained for hours and also they will learn things while they are here.

Helpful?
1 Thank J-Reeves91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We sadly didn't have much time - enough for a good look around the Baths, and then a quick look round the museum. The baths were excellent, with lots of great information about the lives of the soldiers who would have used them. The 'swimming pool' lighting was really well done - although the darkness did make it difficult for me to imagine them outside, as I believe part of the baths we walked round would have been. I liked the yellow triangles to draw our attention to things we wouldn't have noticed without them.

Unfortunately we had to rush in the museum. I gather from signs around the museum that there was an audio tour, but we weren't told about this when we came in and I don't think would have had time for it anyway. Without that many of the displays of things they'd found were a little dull, although I was much more interested in the section on military history. And the themed toilet was brilliant!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Roman Legion Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Roman Legion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing