We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food - amazing prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Caerleon B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food - amazing prices”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Whilst the restaurant has a range of exotic meats on the menu, it also offers a very nice conventional menu. Quite simply, the quality and value is incredible, and the great prices mean that you are very tempted to order a dessert when you have finished your main course. Drinks are also very reasonably priced.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dalekracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    22
    8
    13
    21
See reviews for
19
21
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

booked in about 6.30 yesterday ..... the owners daughter who deals with the pub part of the business greeted us and was very nice , we then waited a little while for her mother and father too arrive as there were in charge of the hotel part.... there was some confusion with the rooms .... my partner had booked online 2 twin rooms as that was all that was left , they gave us 1 twin and 2 singles .... not happy as there were 2 couples , the owner then said he was doing us a favour giving us a single room for free .... yeh right , this just meant 1 couple at too sleep in separate rooms !!!!! room so small you could not even move another bed in there.
cold room with radiator that stayed on a luke warm temperature however much u turned knob , 1 towel each the sort you use too wrap wet hair in , the only plus thing was the pub very friendly and nice and great atmosphere , lost phone at bar that night and thankfully wen i went too bar in morning it was there ..... soooo many thanks for that .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1happyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulval, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Arrived at 5pm to be told I could not have a hot meal as it was fully booked even though a resident! Got wet walking towards village so returned still hungry and after asking, a friendly local spoke to the Barmaid and sorted dinner out for me at the bar - lovely food. Room very dated and right above bar, so noisy. Pre-organised for breakfast at 7.45am before I set off for a course, but on arrival in the morning was told I couldn't have anything as breakfast was between 9-10am and that nothing was set up! No apology and I found person quite abrupt, as though I was a bother! Left keys on front desk and left very unhappy! Certainly won't be going back there again! Need to learn to look after customers needs a lot better.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Had not been here for years but recently changed it's name and manaagement so decided to give it a try. Now called The Stuffed Dormouse. Today we had Sunday Lunch which was excellent in both quality and value. The staff were very friendly and the service was very good. Would certainly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteply_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian a, Owner at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you glad you enjoyed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. No hot water or heating, no breakfast, no tea facilities. No one there at 8.30 am to ask or complain to. I had to leave cold and hungry not what hotels should be about.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UlyssesSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian a, Owner at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
This review is justified, but let me explain.
On the afternoon of this guests arrival a new gas cooker was fitted. The fitter had to turn off the gas at the mains and when completed turn the supply back on. Unfortunately he forgot to reignite the hot water and central heating boilers. At 7am the following morning, when we opened for breakfast, we realised what had happened and telephoned the fitter.
The guest had booked and paid for a room only reservation and had not requested b/f.
All b/f orders being completed i went across the road to get the morning papers and on my return found her room keys on the reception desk.
The hospitality tray in this room is situated on a shelf in the wardrobe. We are extremely sorry for this occurence and to make amends, would be happy to offer a nights stay FOC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I read the reviews of this hotel and nearly booked elsewhere. However, it was close to where I needed to be and actually, I'm glad I went there. They do turn the water off overnight, but it comes on at 6:30 in the morning.

I booked a two night stay and arrived at 8 in the evening - the couple that run the hotel were there to greet me and made me feel really welcome. I had my dinner there on the first night and it was good, basic food.

I had booked a superior single room and ended up with a large double room. The bathroom was small, but had everything I needed. There was a hairdryer, tea making facilitties and easy access to an iron. There were plenty of towels. The decor is a little dated, but the hotel and rooms are really clean. The hotel is on a main road, but I got a really good night's sleep on both nights..

I had a full breakfast the first day of my stay and tea and toast on the second day. The service was great and the couple that ran it were really friendly. I was on my own and was made to feel really welcome and safe. If you want clean, basic accomodation, then I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanrahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian a, Owner at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Travelled down to Caerleon, taking my youngest daughter to University, decided to stay overnight so we could settle her in, and fetch shopping etc.
Booked a double room for one night, ended up in a twin. Beds too soft and uncomfortable, no air in the room, couldn't open the window, stuffy and hot. TV wouldn't work, tea and coffee, but no kettle, refused to make a cup of tea using water from the bathroom sink. Tried to have a shower, no pressure, water came out at a trickle, and the shower leaked, water was faster running down the pipe, lost the water for a few minutes, when it restarted, it was alot faster, no cold water though, couldn't get any cold at all. The bathroom floor was dangerous, it sunk by the toilet so badly my husband almost fell, the bathroom door wouldn't close properly so no privacy at all. A boiler kept coming on close to the room, very noisy, and a constant noise of running water all night didn't make for a good night's sleep at all.

On a good note, the food was great, very tasty, the hotel owner ran the bar and did the food orders, his wife did the cooking, quick polite service, but the food was expensive, over priced for what it was, as were the drinks, £8 for a pint of lager shandy and half a cider, pushed the bill up alot from the initial £69 to over a hundred pounds, not including breakfast, as i didn't include it in the booking there wasn't any option to buy any, i was up and downstairs before he was.
He seemed genuinely surprised that there wasn't a kettle in the room, he claimed that guests were pinching them, but to be honest, if they had cleaned the room prior to us checking in, especially as we couldn't check in until 4pm, they would of known the kettle was missing.

All in all, a poor night's sleep, poor facilities, noisy from the boiler and constant running water, the outside was in really bad condition in desperate need of restoration. The bar and restaurant were really nice, the nicest part of the entire hotel, didn't make up for the poor parts though.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, none of the rooms were any good, very noisy creaking floorboards, unsafe in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vodaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian a, Owner at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Mum dad & daughter arrive at reception and are given keys for a double room and an adjoining twin for single occupancy. From reading this review they obviously used the wrong rooms. The twin has since undergone a total refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerleon
0.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#15 of 18 in Newport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old Barn Inn
The Old Barn Inn
#1 of 2 in Llanmartin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel

Property: The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel
Address: Ponthir Road, Caerleon, Newport NP18 3NY, Wales (Formerly Roman Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Caerleon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Hotel Caerleon
Roman Hotel Newport
The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel Caerleon, Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing