We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gateway Hotel(Newport)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newport Central(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
288
197
85
27
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
197
85
27
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb shankmain buildingroman ruinspatescallopson displaycrevettessunday lunchtwo coursesstaff were attentivecar parkthe blue roomwine listlovely hotelbooked a tableevening mealstayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

As a surprise birthday treat for the wife we stayed one night in the Blue Room (no 22) last week. I was surprised it was available at short notice and was given a very good rate including breakfast. The room itself is a treat from the moment you enter the 10 foot high double doors and climb onto the kingsize four poster bed. The quality of the fittings and carpets are exceptional and in keeping with the style and age of the property. The bathroom is huge with a twin person jacuzzi and a large shower and is luxuriously appointed.

I've eaten at the Priory before and it never disappoints with an excellent choice of fish. Portion sizes are generous but be aware as other reviewers have pointed out the vegetables have to be ordered at a cost otherwise you will only have your choice of fish/meat and the potato that accompanies it. Deserts were generous in size and I certainly felt that I had eaten enough food when I retired to my room for the night.

Breakfast is full english with a choice of toast, yoghurts, cereals ,fruit juice etc and was good quality.

As a final note to anyone booking the Blue Room especially in the winter, it is a cold room. The radiators pump out a good amount of heat but with the size of the room, the height of the ceilings and the fact that this building is 12th century it is barely enough to keep it lukewarm on a very cold January evening. Likewise the single radiator in the bathroom which results in very cold feet on ceramic tiles in the middle of the night.

This however should not be enough of an excuse to put you off staying in this fabulous room at a price that would otherwise get you a standard double room in a holiday inn express

Room Tip: Room 22 The Blue Room is a gem, perfect for that special occasion
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

visited for lunch with 2 friends. Decided on the 2 course lunch menu. First course pate ,we each had 2 pieces of baguette 2 pieces of pate and a very small salad, No butter was supplied and I asked the waiter, he arrived with 3 very small pieces of butter wasn't really enough for 6 pieces of baguette. Our main course arrived beef and mushroom pie, fishermans pie and sliced beef. We had ordered jacket potato for one and chips for the other two persons. Chips arrived in a very small dish certainly not enough for two and the jacket potato was quite small. Not a sign of a vegetable on the plates. How much better the meal would have look had it been served with peas or carrots. Would not visit again or recommend..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bridget m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Priory Hotel on an overnight visit to family in Caerleon. We arrived quite late in the evening and were impressed with the appearance of the hotel and grounds. You enter through a gate in the walls and there is plenty of free parking in the grounds. We were welcomed to the hotel and given the key and the usual info about breakfast etc. There is no lift in this hotel and we had to carry our luggage up the staircase, nobody actually offered to help us. In order to get to the staircase we had to walk through the restaurant which was busy with pre-christmas diners.

Our room, number 1, which we noticed was next door to a function room, was impressive with a long bathroom and a walk in wardrobe with a fridge and mini bar. The furniture was of an antique style and fully in keeping with the hotel's decor. We also had a lovely view of the grounds. The only disappointment was the bed which had a thin mattress on what felt like a solid base, very hard.

The bar staff were very accommodating as we had arrived quite late and our son and daughter-in-law came to meet us so we had a few drinks before retiring, there was no fidgeting to shut the bar, they were quite happy for us to sit for a while. Breakfast was very good, full english set us up nicely for the day, however a workman was there removing pictures from the walls and bustling about doing things, which made us feel a bit uncomfortable.

All in all a very interesting hotel, I would have liked more time to explore.

Room Tip: Room 1 was next to a function room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didavkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is ideally situated in the historic village of Caerleon.
We stayed for 3 nights. The room was spacious and comfortable. Excellent bathroom.
The staff were very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Angelina was excellent.
The restaurant was busy every night, yet the service was good. The quality of the food was fantastic - the fish was amongst the best we have ever eaten. The crevettes were spectacular, and the lemon sole well presented. The 2 course menu was very good value.
The bar and restaurant contained many distinguished and erudite looking people - the local elite obviously patronise the hotel.
Well worth a visit, either for a short break or a special occasion to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Took wife for a spot of lunch and decided to try the Priory, as I've heard mixed reviews. Started with being told to order at the counter. Seemed odd standing in front of everyone viewing the menu's on the wall with a waitress waiting. Anyway...Chicken for Joss and Sirloin for me. Starters were Cod goujons and soup. So we went an sat down and waited. Our drinks were taken swiftly and staff were fine. Then the first error.....soup....but no bread. Then we order bread and no butter knife! It was quickly solved and on we go. Starters finished and plates cleared. The next course arrives and I must say, the plate with not a scrap of sides looked a bit bland. However, the chips were lovely and the steak was superb! Joss really enjoyed the chicken and the sauce was lovely. The restaurant was busy and quite noisy but it was a nice atmosphere and didn't spoil the meal. Overall..pretty good and worth the £50. If I was to give a tip, it would be get a decent menu on the tables and sort the silly standing by the deli. Also, bread with soup and butter needs a butter knife, not a steak knife, but overall we were happy!
:-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshboy2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews