We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience will definitly return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agriturismo Il Portone
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience will definitly return”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed at the II Portone for three nights with my family. The room was more of a suite with a private balcony with fabulous views. The owners were very attentive and helpful with suggestions during our stay. II Portone is extremely well maintained and spotless. We ate dinner there for two nights during our stay and all I can say is that Donatella is a great cook. The food and wine were excellent. Abruzzo is a beautiful part of Italy that many tourist overlook, not crowed with tourist but many wonderful hill towns and things to do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    17
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
56
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

After 3 nights in Rome, we decided to spend our last night closer to Pescara. Il Portone has been immaculately restored from an old barn with an authentic rustic feel, stone floors etc, but with all mod cons and beautiful linen, plates, glasses etc. The rooms have balconies with great views of the mountains. Very quiet, very comfortable bed.
We had dinner at Il Portone in the evening and it was as good as any meal we had had in Rome, absolutely delicious. All produce comes from their land, including wine
Outstanding value and charming hosts in Giancarlo and Donatella

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anth_e_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snezhinsk, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a magical mystery Russian tour and wonderful stay at Ворота, находится на расстоянии just between Аббатеджо and Roccamorice. Джанкарло is such a kind of Русский правда, воз every time makes sure we had a great stay. Owr rooms были просторные, удобные, every day cleaned и действительно-действительно руст. I've made a great number of photos of B&B inside and фантастические виды вокруг. What a ночлег we had heartly made by красивая Донателла! And I'll never forget this unreal wine for you with Джанкарло! Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kofanovkofanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in this magnificant place for two nights driving up from Pescara from a late evening flight from Norway. With the good help of sat.nav. on the iPad it was easy to find in the dark and rainy night, and the warm welcoming of Giancarlo and Donnatella was really wonderful. The room we got was very charming with a large, four-poster bed, with beautiful handmade linen and a large and heavy wool-carpet on top.
When the fog slightly disappeared the last morning, we could see the astonishing view of the Majella mountain which rises almost at 2800 m.
Abruzzo is a region in Italy well worth visiting with the sea nearby on one hand and the high mountains on the other hand. It is a hidden gem not overcrowded by tourists, at least not in october. The temperature is still comfortable and around 22-25 degrees at daytime, and even a rainy day wasn´t bad at all.
We will definitly go back to Abruzzo, and also to Agriturismo il Portone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leif Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We visited family in Abbateggio during Fiesta this year and loved our 4 night stay at Il Portone.Very comfortable room with great views from our balcony.We had the oppotunity to dine there on two evenings and enjoyed the well presented and authentic cuisine.Thank you to Giancarlo and Donatella for all their attention to small personal detail.We love this unspoiled area of Italy and its proximity to both the Adriatic coast and the mountains--lots of good walking opportunities and incredible views.We were impressed with the amount of historical restoration that has been- and continues to be done in this area since we last visited in 2006.There are many points of interest and towns to visit and a good selection of new restaurants in the region to explore.We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We flew into Rome airport and were heading to the Gargano peninsular. Looking for somewhere interesting to stay we found Agroturismo Il Portone on the net. Having good reviews we booked a nights accommodation including an evening meal.
We were allocated a room next to reception with a private terrace and superb views. The bathroom was spacious and the bed very comfortable.
Our evening meal was delicious and all local ingredients were used, mainly from the owner's farm.
We thoroughly enjoyed the stay although the weather could have been kinder. We have no hesitation in recommending Il Portone (but think about more than one night!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanbyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was our fifth trip to Italy, and this is one of the highlights of all of our trips. We found it much more enjoyable than any 5 star hotel. Giancarlo and his wife have done an incredible job renovating what was originally an old barn. Every detail has been addressed - handmade plates, antiques, even old family photos. A true look at their beautiful Italian life. The rooms are immaculate with beautiful views. The food, prepared by his wife, is all produced on their farm, and was fresh and delicious. Giancarlo and his wife are wonderful hosts. When we return to Italy, we will definitely return to Agriturismo Il Portone. This place is an absolute must!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbateggio
3.2 mi away
Resort Regis
Resort Regis
#1 of 1 in Turrivalignani
196 reviews
5.1 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare Di Nonno Mario
Agriturismo Il Casolare Di Nonno...
#1 of 4 in Manoppello Scalo
56 reviews
14.5 mi away
Agriturismo Montupoli
Agriturismo Montupoli
#1 of 1 in Miglianico
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Agriturismo Rosso di Sera
12.7 mi away
Agriturismo La Rustica
Agriturismo La Rustica
#5 of 6 in Pianella
2 reviews
15.9 mi away
Agriturismo La Solagna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Portone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Portone

Property: Agriturismo Il Portone
Address: Contrada San Martino 2, 65020 Abbateggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Pescara > Abbateggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Abbateggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm holiday “Il Portone” in ‘Borgo San Martino’ is set on the green hills of Abbateggio, in the heart of the Majella National Park.It is immersed in a natural environment suitable for hiking and excursions on a mountain bike and it is surrounded by a vast and interesting panorama embracing the Mount Majella, the beautiful hills and the Adriatic sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Agriturismo Il Portone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing