We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave the stress behind..”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Rendham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
huntingdon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Leave the stress behind..”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I arrived very late at nearby Rendham Hall ( which I thoroughly recommend ) and the landlady there, Colette, on hearing we hadn't eaten recommended and booked for us here. We were amazed. Excellent atmosphere. We walked in, and everyone turned to look, but not with the usual suspicion and appraisal , just to catch our eye and welcome us. Everyone is friendly, but not overly so. If you want privacy , you are left alone. The food was excellent, with a wide range of choices.
The service was second to none.
Excellent ales, no juke box,no clanging fruit machine, no dart board and ... no group of semi drunken, boisterous louts!!
All in all a wonderful , old fashioned pub/restaurant.
We are going back to Rendham Hall, and we WILL be eating here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rogadodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
york
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly traditional pub”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Called here for a meal while staying nearby. Had excellent steak enjoyed by both of us. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Husband enjoyed all the guest beers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowdropYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We own a static caravan nearby and use it every weekend, so we fill up the car and head up to Suffolk .
The car seems to now know that the first port of call is to the White Horse Rendham,first rate food,top notch beer,served from the barrel, great publicans who work very hard to make the pub the delight that it is.
Everyone we meet in the pub are very friendly,plus the lack of loud music,fruit machines,pool table and dart board,makes the atmosphere even better.
Counting down the days to when we can use our caravan again,after of course the car has taken us the White Horse.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Traditional country pub”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Only had basket meal of a turkey roll and chips but the turkey was lovely,service good and the welcome friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very friendly but the menu needs some work”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

If we hadn't eaten dinner then this pub would have got a rating of 4 but the menu and food let it down. The welcome was very friendly and there is plenty of space to sit whether you want the garden, an area at the back under shelter or in the bar itself. The landlord was very accommodating when it came to us deciding where we should eat on a warm summer's evening.

The menu - in summer - starts with a beef and ale type pie which I don't think is very appropriate for a menu in summer. The fish cakes were enormous which meant they were mainly potato. It would have been better to have made them smaller so the fish was more dominant. And one of the dishes had some hair in it. So, could do better with the food.

It's a shame but I'd happily go back for a drink but would want to eat elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grapefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Saxmundham, Suffolk
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing