We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, friendly staff.”
Review of The Old Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Malborough B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Marlborough is conveniently placed between Kingsbridge and Salcombe so you get the best of both worlds without the high prices charged at either town nearby.

We had an amazing meal here so thought we would share it with you. When we walked in there was a really pleasant atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful, they organised a table for us in the restaurant area even though we were 5 minutes after they were supposed to finish serving meals (it was around 10pm from memory!)

For starters we both had the bruschetta with goats cheese which was to die for, then I enjoyed the chicken, bacon & cheese with a side salad & chunky chips, my wife had the beer battered cod & chips. Beautifully made.

An added bonus was that we stayed at the Alpha House B&B less than 50 metres away and got 10% off the bill, so worth mentioning if you stay there.

We can highly recommend this place for a great meal in relaxed surroundings. (Their pizzas looked good too!). We will be returning to stay at the B&B and to return here to sample more of their delicious menu.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Biggybigster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterside4663, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thanks Biggybigster, for your several kind words. Our kitchen closes at 9pm, so it goes to show how accommodating we are! Very glad you had a great evening, with great food.
Perhaps you would like to stay with us next time, as we also do B&B.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review 'The Old Inn'

Regards

Jo & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    11
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
14
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mona Vale
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spacious and clean room. Paid a little less to have a bathroom across the hall but was worth it. Hosts were friendly and professional. Noise from the pub at night could be heard in the room however we were staying over a bank holiday weekend, and in a pub, so this is to be expected. Dinner was fantastic and good value. For a cheaper option than Salcombe (pretty much half the price) I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaValeMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterside4663, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review, and pointing out that we are a pub so there will always be an element of noise.
We do try our best to keep the noise to a minimum, but often people who are enjoying themselves tend to shout about it, and fueled with alcohol and decent music, they can get a bit carried away.

I wish more people would travel the short distance from Salcombe, to try our excellent food.
But sometimes it's more about the view, and Salcombe does take some beating, hence the price increases... but it always gets dark!

We hope to see you again soon,

Regards

Jo & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a fantastic meal here on Sunday night. Rang and booked a table pretty last minute (about two hours notice). Hubby and I both went for the rump steak served with caramelised shallot and garlic, chips and green beans - one of the best steaks I've eaten - really tender (we eat ours medium rare) and the shallot/garlic topping really worked well. The chips were great - came out looking like they might have been over-cooked but were just lovely and crunchy on the outside and soft and fluffy inside. Really good, friendly, efficient service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavebatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterside4663, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review. The steaks are very popular, especially with the garlic & shallot.
With regard to your chips, I insist that they are crunchy, not pale, and dripping with fat.

Perhaps next time you should try our 'Rump of Lamb' with a red currant jus, served with sauteed herby potatoes & seasonal vegetables. My mouths watering just thinking about it!!

Hopefully you will join us again soon,

Regards

Jo & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Old Inn , Malborough, Devon, is an excellent B&B and good value for money. The hosts Jo Tucker and her family are extremely friendly and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble.

Malborough is a small Devonshire village with limited car parking, fortunately the Old Inn has a good size car park.

We stayed in the en-suite room which was very clean and of a reasonable size. The shower-room is small but adequate. My Daughter stayed in the double room which has a private shower room/wc across the corridor, this was not a problem. This room was also of a good size, very clean and comfortable.

The Old Inn restaurant has a good menu, we all enjoyed both breakfast and dinner. All meals were well cooked, plentiful and great value. We wholeheartedly recommend the restaurant.

Malborough is well situated for touring South Devon, being located between Salcombe and Hope Cove. We would not hesitate to stay at the Old Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERSIDEVIEWS, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our family run pub. It was a pleasure to meet both, and enjoy a late drink at the bar, after your eventful day!
It is always nice when guests appreciate how hard myself, Sophie and all of our staff work, to ensure a pleasant stay.
We hope to meet you again soon.

Regards

Jo & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very welcoming and friendly staff and locals. The spacious bedrooms had all the things you would expect and are amazingly clean and tidy.
The breakfast was fantastic and had a wide choice. The price was good value and appears to stay the same all year round.
The staff went above and beyond for us and we would not hesitate to stay here again (and I am in the summer!) .
Joel *****

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel-MR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERSIDEVIEWS, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thanks Joel, for your fantastic comments. It was a pleasure to meet both you, and your girlfriend.

We look forward to seeing you in the summer.

Sorry for the late reply, my email alerts for 'Tripadvisor' had ceased, for some reason?

Anyway, better late than never.

Regards

Jo & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was our third stay at the Old Inn and once again, it didn't disappoint.
If you can, try to arrive early on a Friday evening to enjoy the local friendly banter, on their way home after a hard day's work. We settled in to a lovely open fire and really enjoyed our evening meal...the best King Prawns ever and delicious Lamb steak.

The en-suite room wasn't available for our stay but we were allocated another room that was just as good albeit with a separate bathroom (the upside, it was for our exclusive use).

Our breakfast's were superb and Saturday night's meal was "top nosh"

The only down side to our stay was the low water pressure in the shower which never left you feeling really clean. We mentioned this and was told this would be looked into.

Overall, we would highly recommend the Old Inn at Malborough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richieb190727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERSIDEVIEWS, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We are always grateful to receive such praise! Unfortunately, for some reason, I have not been getting 'review alerts' through my emails, therefore it has taken some time for me to respond to your comment.
I can assure you that the problem with the shower you were allocated, has finally been rectified.
Apparently, the shower that had initially been fitted, was for high water pressure, so, taking the advise of a reputable plumber, we replaced it with a shower for low water pressure, which made no difference whatsoever!
Finally, at great expense, we have installed a shower with an internal pump, which is marvelous...
Hopefully, you will visit us again and take advantage of this.

Many thanks
Jo & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived at The Old Inn on Sunday 27th October. Shown to our room promptly, a large light bright room with a double shower, immaculately clean. .Returning to the bar we found the locals very friendly..Lunch was ordered , it was one of the b est Sunday lunches I have had in a long time. Breakfast next day was cooked to order, any combination we wanted, again this was very good. Tuesday was my partners 70th,at the breakfast table there was a cchilled bottle of prosecco, compliments of the house, and a birthday card! we were very touched.The two landladies, mother and daughter go out of their wayto make you feel welcome and be helpful.
Can't wait to return. E ve Morris.

Room Tip: Try room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 588Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERSIDEVIEWS, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thanks Eve for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards Jo & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malborough
2.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
853 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
416 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn

Property: The Old Inn
Address: Higher Town, Malborough, Salcombe TQ7 3RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Malborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Malborough, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing