We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of The Old Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Malborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from a short break to Salcombe, but decided to stay a short walk away in Marlborough, well what a perfect gem we found with The Old Inn, the friendliest staff and owners greeted us with open arms, and the food was first class,the facilities are clean and modern, and spacious parking available also the environment is cosy,the locals are great and welcoming, shall definitely be staying again, would recommend highly
5 stars from me,Thanks Jo and Stace for a wonderful stay
Robin and Katie Bell, Gloucestershire.

Room Tip: Worth the little extra for the en-suite, but would still stay if unavailable
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterside4663, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Wow Rob, what a fantastic review, I might even have to stay there myself!!
It was a pleasure to meet you both. Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it really does make a difference when people are looking for somewhere to stay.
Perhaps you should think about running a pub yourselves, you certainly were a hit with the locals.

Best Wishes

Jo & Sophie alias Stace?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for The Old Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the village 21st to 28th June. Used the pub 4 or 5 times to drink, watch the World Cup and have a couple of meals. Always received a warm welcome and the locals were friendly. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. Service good even on Friday when it was very busy. Reccommended.



Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank john_hTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterside4663, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks John,

Both myself & Sophie would like to thank you for your review. We try to please everyone, which can be very difficult, but obviously we must be doing something write judging by our 'Tripadvisor Reviews'
Shame we didn't do better in the 'World Cup' but at least you enjoyed a great pint or two!!

Regards Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for a wedding in Salcombe and will be returning as soon as possible.
The staff couldn't do enough for us and really did make us feel welcome.
The breakfast was superb and very filling.
Would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterside4663, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay. It makes our job so much easier when we have guests like yourselves. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, it's very much appreciated.

See you soon,

Jo & Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

So impressed with the staff especially the landlady (flower girl)!! A busy lively pub with a happy atmosphere.

Food excellent and served with a smile. Very accommodating with my veggie diet. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterside4663, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

My daughter, Sophie (flower girl) especially likes this review, as you referred to her as the 'landlady'. I was on holiday at the time, and she obviously did a fantastic job, as always, at keeping our guests happy. The promotion has gone to her head!!

Hopefully our paths will cross again.

Regards

Sophie (new landlady) & Jo (now manageress)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Marlborough is conveniently placed between Kingsbridge and Salcombe so you get the best of both worlds without the high prices charged at either town nearby.

We had an amazing meal here so thought we would share it with you. When we walked in there was a really pleasant atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful, they organised a table for us in the restaurant area even though we were 5 minutes after they were supposed to finish serving meals (it was around 10pm from memory!)

For starters we both had the bruschetta with goats cheese which was to die for, then I enjoyed the chicken, bacon & cheese with a side salad & chunky chips, my wife had the beer battered cod & chips. Beautifully made.

An added bonus was that we stayed at the Alpha House B&B less than 50 metres away and got 10% off the bill, so worth mentioning if you stay there.

We can highly recommend this place for a great meal in relaxed surroundings. (Their pizzas looked good too!). We will be returning to stay at the B&B and to return here to sample more of their delicious menu.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Biggybigster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterside4663, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks Biggybigster, for your several kind words. Our kitchen closes at 9pm, so it goes to show how accommodating we are! Very glad you had a great evening, with great food.
Perhaps you would like to stay with us next time, as we also do B&B.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review 'The Old Inn'

Regards

Jo & Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spacious and clean room. Paid a little less to have a bathroom across the hall but was worth it. Hosts were friendly and professional. Noise from the pub at night could be heard in the room however we were staying over a bank holiday weekend, and in a pub, so this is to be expected. Dinner was fantastic and good value. For a cheaper option than Salcombe (pretty much half the price) I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonaValeMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterside4663, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your review, and pointing out that we are a pub so there will always be an element of noise.
We do try our best to keep the noise to a minimum, but often people who are enjoying themselves tend to shout about it, and fueled with alcohol and decent music, they can get a bit carried away.

I wish more people would travel the short distance from Salcombe, to try our excellent food.
But sometimes it's more about the view, and Salcombe does take some beating, hence the price increases... but it always gets dark!

We hope to see you again soon,

Regards

Jo & Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a fantastic meal here on Sunday night. Rang and booked a table pretty last minute (about two hours notice). Hubby and I both went for the rump steak served with caramelised shallot and garlic, chips and green beans - one of the best steaks I've eaten - really tender (we eat ours medium rare) and the shallot/garlic topping really worked well. The chips were great - came out looking like they might have been over-cooked but were just lovely and crunchy on the outside and soft and fluffy inside. Really good, friendly, efficient service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavebatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterside4663, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your review. The steaks are very popular, especially with the garlic & shallot.
With regard to your chips, I insist that they are crunchy, not pale, and dripping with fat.

Perhaps next time you should try our 'Rump of Lamb' with a red currant jus, served with sauteed herby potatoes & seasonal vegetables. My mouths watering just thinking about it!!

Hopefully you will join us again soon,

Regards

Jo & Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malborough
2.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
403 reviews
1.8 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
869 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn

Address: Higher Town, Malborough, Salcombe TQ7 3RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Malborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malborough
Price Range: £75 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Malborough, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing