We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run, beautifully presented, camp / caravanning site.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Higher Rew Caravan and Camping Park
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Higher Rew after August bank holiday.
What well presented, clean, quality campsite.
I'm so pleased we've found this little gem.
Excellent for couples, singles and family's.
Amenities excellent, plenty of clean showers, good 4 minute shower for 20p.
A washing machine and drier, plenty of in door washing up space. And a freezer for you ice packs. Shop on site and beaches walking distance.

Play barn for the kids, only down side to this, is kids still playing on the swings after dark, can be a bit noisy for those camping close to these amenities:(
Possible suggestion, to close them after 10pm the summer ? Just a suggestion .
Overall great stay, helpful staff and the weather was great for us too, will definitely stay again.
ThankYou Higher Rew camp site.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Bridget N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

A wonderful placed campsite in the most beautiful area of Devon. The campsite fits into the glorious surroundings and has many brilliant walks on its doorstep. The site is well managed by the family owners who always give a personal touch for every camper. The toilets and showers are kept scrupulously clean and the camp shop is to hand for essentials and more. Whilst the weather can be unpredictable nowadays; this site continually gives happy memorable holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duggat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at this campsite for a week last year. We stayed in the bungalow field which during high season was spacious and not overcrowded. The facilities are standard for a good campsite. A barn with decent showers. Excellent washing facilities and toilets were separate (Thankfully)!

This is a popular and busy campsite in one of the best locations near salcolmbe. So book early.Their booking system is a bit erratic, could do with a computer!

great tip is to walk to south sands (20 mins) where you have a nice beach and a high class restaurant. Also an NT place overlooking this bay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We originally booked 10 nights at Higher Rew and ended up leaving after just 3 because the experience was so awful..

To start with, they put us on a different pitch to the one we had booked, which happened to be next to a large and, as it turns out, rather noisy family gathering. The first night the neighbours' kids were up until 11pm and woke our kids up. We spoke to them to ask them to keep the noise down and they did.. For about 10 minutes..

The next day we spoke to the camp site owners and asked them to have a word. They didn't and the next night was the same as the first, except this time that they decided to have a game of football at 11pm. Again we had to ask them to keep the noise down, and again our kids were woken up.

The third night was pretty similar so we decided to leave. The campsite owners tried to charge us for the full 10 nights, which we declined to agree to do, and then tried to compromise by charging for 5 nights. We explained exactly what had happened and the fact that they had not stuck to their own policy of no noise after 10pm and had to insist that we wouldn't payfor any more than the 3 nights. They very reluctantly agreed.

Aside from the experience, we were told the pitch number and pointed in the general direction, the pitches are not level, the facilities are some distance from the pitches, and the showers, despite being hot, dribble rather than shower.

We will definitely not be going back to Higher Rew again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EstebanLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at higher rew for 3 nights during the summer.
The campsite was clean, quiet and good value for money.

The shop on site was a great feature, selling everything needed in order to have a successful camping trip. Also, the owners are extremely helpful and provide a high quality service.

The only negative point that could be improved was sometimes the wait time after arriving and being allocated a pitch, but this was not a problem.

Overall, the location of the campsite is excellent and should be recommended to anyone wishig to camp near Salcombe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MyH0lidayReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malborough
1.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
168 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
413 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Rew Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Rew Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Higher Rew, Malborough, Salcombe TQ7 3BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Malborough
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Malborough
Price Range: £8 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Higher Rew Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Higher Rew is a family run park in an area of outstanding natural beauty close to the beautiful Salcombe Estuary. Three generations of the Squire family have, over many years, created a relaxed caravan and camping park for your enjoyment. We are annually inspected by the English Tourism Council, who have awarded our park four stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Rew Caravan And Camping Park Malborough, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing