We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Higher Rew Caravan and Camping Park
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our third time at Higher Rew, really love this campsite. Location is perfect, showers lovely and clean. Have been in August when campsite full and also in June when quiet both times were fantastic, Salcombe is lovely and plenty to do in the area. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been camping here for many years and the place has remained pretty unchanged in that, it is quiet, clean, well run and not over crowded, the only addition is wifi is now available in the barn. The pitches are very generous in a glorious rural setting. On certain nights a van rocks up and out comes a pizza oven, you make your order and you watch them bake! Families and couples all enjoy the place. Highly recommend it. They welcome dogs.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank serena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Lovely rural campsite just a short drive from Salcombe. Very laid back and friendly atmosphere. Simple, clean facilities. The other campers were very friendly and our daughters made lots of friends during our week. We will certainly return (hopefully next year)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RandyBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have stayed here many times over the last three years in our caravan and have always had a great time. Lovely quiet site with good facilities in a great location overlooking a tranquil Devon Valley which leads down to South Sands. Very well run and Sue is always very helpful. Dog friendly: the site has access via a small flight of steps at the end of the site to a field further up the hill where dogs can bound around uninhibited. In season the site is good for BlackBerrying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RHBristol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Higher Rew after August bank holiday.
What well presented, clean, quality campsite.
I'm so pleased we've found this little gem.
Excellent for couples, singles and family's.
Amenities excellent, plenty of clean showers, good 4 minute shower for 20p.
A washing machine and drier, plenty of in door washing up space. And a freezer for you ice packs. Shop on site and beaches walking distance.

Play barn for the kids, only down side to this, is kids still playing on the swings after dark, can be a bit noisy for those camping close to these amenities:(
Possible suggestion, to close them after 10pm the summer ? Just a suggestion .
Overall great stay, helpful staff and the weather was great for us too, will definitely stay again.
ThankYou Higher Rew camp site.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Bridget N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A wonderful placed campsite in the most beautiful area of Devon. The campsite fits into the glorious surroundings and has many brilliant walks on its doorstep. The site is well managed by the family owners who always give a personal touch for every camper. The toilets and showers are kept scrupulously clean and the camp shop is to hand for essentials and more. Whilst the weather can be unpredictable nowadays; this site continually gives happy memorable holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duggat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at this campsite for a week last year. We stayed in the bungalow field which during high season was spacious and not overcrowded. The facilities are standard for a good campsite. A barn with decent showers. Excellent washing facilities and toilets were separate (Thankfully)!

This is a popular and busy campsite in one of the best locations near salcolmbe. So book early.Their booking system is a bit erratic, could do with a computer!

great tip is to walk to south sands (20 mins) where you have a nice beach and a high class restaurant. Also an NT place overlooking this bay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malborough hotels
1 mi away
The Old Inn
The Old Inn
#1 of 5 in Malborough
68 reviews
1 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#3 of 5 in Malborough
27 reviews
1 mi away
No photo provided
Malborough House
#5 of 5 in Malborough
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Rew Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Rew Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Higher Rew, Malborough, Salcombe TQ7 3BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Malborough
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Malborough
Price Range: £8 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Higher Rew Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Higher Rew is a family run park in an area of outstanding natural beauty close to the beautiful Salcombe Estuary. Three generations of the Squire family have, over many years, created a relaxed caravan and camping park for your enjoyment. We are annually inspected by the English Tourism Council, who have awarded our park four stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Rew Caravan And Camping Park Malborough, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing