We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hosts but...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Roquette

Villa Roquette
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montblanc
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Roquette
Ranked #1 of 2 Montblanc B&B and Inns
Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Like previous reviewers, we found Carole and Tony to be warm and helpful hosts- even arranging for a doctor for a sick member of our party. The information and descriptions on the website are factually accurate: specifically the sunny corner apartment and adjoining room was ideal for two adult couples who cooked, dined, socialized, and played cards. Montblanc is a wonderful base from which to explore extensive wine-making territory and large scenic areas.

What disappointed was the level of poor housekeeping and disarray. We found it unsettling to look out upon what could be a pretty garden and see dead plants, extra hoses, empty containers, unused tools. Or the hose-end dropped on our balcony some while ago and left to collect dust. Or poorly cleaned and maintained bathrooms and kitchen. The Wifi system barely reaches past the door into the apartment so that it was necessary to stand at the door to download news and e-mails- a funny scene with four internet users.

Overall we would recommend Villa Roquette if it was really cleaned, made to be visually appealing and fully functional. Over a dozen visits to France, we have stayed in many Gites, Chambre d'hotes, and rental apartments where a higher level of care is the norm.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WeBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    4
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We wanted to travel in the Languedoc - Roussillon region in France but wanted to find a base to call home. We found Villa Rouquette and for two weeks we called it home as it is perfectly located for our day trips round the countryside. We stayed in the rose apartment and it was perfect for us.
Tony and Carole were very helpful with anything we needed. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Picky_1_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We cannot speak highly enough of the generous help and warm welcome we received from Carole and Tony during our 5 night stay in May. We felt more like friends than visitors and were treated as such. This made all the difference. Our accommodation was very comfortable and spacious and well-appointed. It was a great introduction to this part of France, to which we hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieHBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We have been traveling to Languedoc in the South of France for a number of years and have stayed in Tony and Carole Tidswell's properties. Villa Roquette is in the perfect, lovely little village
near the Mediterranean. They are the most welcoming innkeepers. Full of local lore, history and information as to where to go and what to do during your visit. You really get a taste of French village life. Their apartments are very comfortable and nicely furnished. They have an outdoor garden area and good size swimming pool. You are near the larger cities of Bezier, Montpellier and Perpignan but we love the smaller villages. Be sure to go to Marseillan for some nice restaurants overlooking their charming port and visit Noilly Prat. We'll be coming back to Villa Roquette, hopefully, with the grandkids, too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenapavalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at Villa Roquette for two nights in May as part of a short "self-guided" cycling trip in southern France. We were warmly welcomed and escorted to a bright and lovely 2 room suite- with all that I needed to fix a cup of tea after a well-earned shower. After a full day of riding, with our only transportation (bicycles) safely stowed and sheltered, we were delighted to dine that night (and the next one) on tasty home-cooked food, with our interesting and gracious hosts!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly IA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were struggling to find a b&b for our overnight while driving through the southern center of France. After 4 towns & not having any success, we inquired at a restaurant in Montblanc. The gracious hostess connected us with Carole Tidswell, the owner of the only b&b. After a few wrong turns with the crazy maze of one-way streets, we found her home! Our small suite, named the Poppy for its red hallway & decor, was on the second floor. We had a comfy queen bed, a large bath with a good shower/tub, & a separate toilet room, plus a little balcony overlooking the gardens. The room & villa was pleasantly decorated with original art works. Carol & Tony were wonderful hosts who made you feel a part of the family. Our breakfast was served in the garden & was casual with lots of interesting conversation. We enjoyed our first night so much, we asked about staying a second, which we were able to do. There was also free use of a washing machine which was timely for altering the mass of dirty laundry in our suitcases. (The laundry dried quickly in the warm sunshine on the outdoor lines.) We found our stay with the Tidwells to be very pleasant & fun. We enjoyed sipping a local wine with them as we visited in their gardens after our day of sightseeing. Carole even brought out pizza to share with her guests as we enjoyed the company of other guests & our hosts. It's difficult to find overnight facilities in this area as the French have rules against signage. No wonder we were having problems! The Tidwells are British & have lived in France for more than 16 years, so it was good to have hosts who easily understood us & we didn't have to struggle with our limited French vocabulary. The Villa Roquette was a great find as we meandered our way across the South of France. We highly recommend you find this little town & friendly hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJHWaverlyIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Wonderful accommodation and ideally located with easy access to the coast and many places of interest. Excellent hosts too - friendly and welcoming whilst still allowing guests space to do their own thing! Spacious rooms, comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. Parking also no problem. A couple of excellent restuarants very nearby - but also good food available on site! Carole is an excellent cook! Only 10-15 minutes drive takes you into Pezenas which has a wealth of shops bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montblanc hotels
0.1 mi away
Camping Le Rebeau
Camping Le Rebeau
#2 of 2 in Montblanc
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Tipis du Soleil
Les Tipis du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Montblanc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roquette

Property: Villa Roquette
Address: 146 rue de la Republique, 34290 Montblanc, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montblanc
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montblanc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B, Guest House - in the center of Herault in the region of Languedoc and the main towns of Agde, Beziers and Pezenas - close to the Mediterranean sea, the mountains of the Herault National Park, lakes and many historic destinations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Roquette France/Montblanc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing