We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best.”

Britannia @ The Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Beesands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$65
Cuisines: Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Britannia @ The Beach home of fantastically fresh local seafood - affectionately known as 'The Shack'. Here at The Shack we offer a combination of a traditional fishmonger, village stores and a unique rustic cafe.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Still the best.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Just had breakfast at the Britannia. The Fisherman's breakfast is simply wonderful. I'll not be wanting anything else until tea time.
Brilliant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank smith1dv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    103
    13
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great little resturant”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Beesands is a beautiful little fishing hamlet with stunning views. It has 1 pub - The Cricket Inn, and a smattering of holiday cottages. The Britannia is basically an extended beach hut with an outdoor decked area that seats appox 20 people. Although we did not eat in the resurant, the quality of the food looked excellent, and it was always full so they must be doing something right. There is a serving hatch that does a takeway menu. We did have the takeaway which was beatifully cooked and although a tad on the pricey side it was well worth it.
We will be trying the resturant on our next visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bristoldoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wythall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small Eatery, big heart”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just returned from a sunny week in Devon and after a superb 9 mile walk along the South West Coastal Path turned up at Bee Sands having heard of 'The Shack', it is small and then additionally there is a take away service and also some tables and seating on the other side of the tiny road, on the shingles. We had arrived at 5.45pm thinking we would beat the evening meal lot - wrong - the tiny eating area at the Shack was fully booked so we sat at a table on the Shingle beach. We waited half an hour for our meal - worth it - the best Fish pie I've ever had but BIG and hubby had a huge Crab Cake. The quality and freshness were obvious, tasted great.
There is no menu as such until the family know what they have caught that day and then they put together a specials board. We loved it, felt lucky to be served, it was so busy. Bee sands is a tiny little village by the sea with cottage holiday homes in the main and this is the last fishing family in the village - worth supporting them!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieB742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Unique Setting and Great Food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Situated overlooking a beautiful bay, the kitchen is a very nice hut with a weatherproof awning providing undercover seating. It's sounds rustic but it really is very well done and the tables are nicely laid out in restaurant fashion. It is best to book because it is very popular and for good reason. It is not licensed but you can take your own alcohol and glasses and coolers are provided.
This is predominantly a fish restaurant that serves, in the main, locally caught seafood. There is a varied menu and the quality of the food and service is great. If you are not a seafood eater it probably not the place for you. The journey to the restaurant is via very narrow country roads so we got a cab. We had a really nice evening , a must if you are in the area,.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doublechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outdoor eating by the beach.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Excellent service & reasonable prices.The extensive fish menu was good but there was little else for someone with a fish allergy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Britannia @ The Beach also viewed

 

Been to Britannia @ The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing