We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Britannia @ The Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Beesands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$65
Cuisines: Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Britannia @ The Beach home of fantastically fresh local seafood - affectionately known as 'The Shack'. Here at The Shack we offer a combination of a traditional fishmonger, village stores and a unique rustic cafe.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were staying at a campsite just outside Torcross and whilst walking the South West coast path, came across this place at Beesands. It is a very simple set up, with the use of the public toilet 20yards or so away but a great spot and fabulous food. Whilst it was mainly fresh fish on the menu, most locally caught I believe, there were other options for non fish eaters.
We stopped for lunch with myself having the Crab Cake and my partner, a Crab Sandwhich. We then decided to book an evening meal as the menu looked amazing - John Dory, Monkfish, Crevettes, skate, Hake, lemon sole..... The list goes on. All at very reasonable prices.
One word of warning is to book in advance, as they get very booked up! A great, simple set up, with fabulous fresh fish..... Oh, and it's a BYO. No corkage charge.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahnMatt1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    103
    12
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We found this place by chance, and were so glad we did the food was so good we booked a table for the next day. The menu has plenty of choice and they have a very good specials board,
which they change everyday, Ihad the scallops which were to die for, the king prawn with cream and chille served with pasta was excellent, and the crab cake, very big and very good.
I would recomend you book a table if you want to go in the evening as we had to go at 5pm the following day as they were fully booked for later.
On the whole if you like seafood this is a must.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iona1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a revelation”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Britannia at the Beach is simple but stunning. The food is so fresh and beautifully cooked. The owners and staff are an example to any other restaurant. Polite, friendly and accommodating. Nothing is too much trouble. Have eaten there ourselves several times including with family and children. Cannot fault this restaurant. A shining example of what quality food and customer service should be about. Good value for money. Recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 41garyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loddiswell, Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best local fish restaurant”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This really is a hidden treasure. Just to look at the restaurant, which is essentially an oversized beach hut, you wouldn't think it could could serve such a great food.
The fish is all caught locally, so the choice, usually from several different types of fish and crustacean, is always 'catch of the day'! Your meal is perfectly cooked to order.
Worth remembering that the restaurant is a unlicensed but you are welcome to bring your own alcohol.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked and dined at the Britannia twice during our week.

We were immediately welcomed and shown to our table, this contained fresh flowers and a jug of water with lemon slices. We were given wine coolers for our bring your own wine. As the evenings were chilly the heat lamps were turned on.

There was a great selection of fish on the menu and as we had arrived at 7pm some of the specials had sold out.

On both occasions the starters took about 30 minutes from ordering, We had the Scallops, 1/2 pint prawns & massive crab cakes.

For the mains we had the wonderful sea bass, excellent jerk monkfish and Turbot - all cooked excellently. Only minus was the fennel gratin, it was a bitt too crunchy. Otherwise great food.

Lovely touch was the guylain chocolates presented with the bill.

The food can be a little slow coming out to the dining area due to the success of the takeaway.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffreymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Britannia @ The Beach also viewed

 

Been to Britannia @ The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing