We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely country estate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alla Posta dei Donini
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here as my wife was attending a conference at the hotel. The hotel is quite lovely: very spacious and elegantly furnished rooms, located on a large site in a small village, so very quiet. Wifi worked well. Breakfast and dinner were excellent in the hotel restaurant, and the staff were very courteous and helpful. While my wife attended her conference, I took a local bus into Perugia, which was easy and very inexpensive. Note that, to stay here, you really should have a car. Although the bus was convenient, there are really no local options for dining other than the hotel. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank majorswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

dear Mayorswede,
thanks a lot for the time you've spent at Alla Posta dei Donini! we are really happy to know that you've enjoyed your time in Perugia. We hope to meet you and your wife again during your next trip in Italy!!
kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

I've learnt on this trip to Europe that although France and Italy are packed to bursting in the summer holidays, and there is ugly pollution along the Mediterrannean coast; the locals have also created hotels which offer peaceful and restful surroundings.
Alla Poste dei Donini is one of these.
We chanced upon it during a brief spell that our wi fi was working properly in France- and at a very competitive rate.
We stayed a week and our air conditioned room (overlooking the pool on the 2nd floor) couldn't be faulted.
The restaurant food and service was very good. I say that as a traveller who prefers local dishes simply cooked.
A heatwave had struck and the attractive pool area and surrounding trees were well used by the residents.
Plenty of choice for breakfast.
All round good service from staff.
very handy to the Milan-Rome motorway, but no noise from that.
About 30 mins to Perugia/Assisi/Deruta
About an hour to Spoleto.
Lovely, restored, historic building.with some impressive public areas. Reminiscent of the country house hotels of 50 years ago, but not pretentious.
Most of the customers were Italian, and you could see they were enjoying their holiday in peace and quiet.!
Relaxed so much that I didn't organise myself to try the treatments in the spa.

Room Tip: From the photos, there appears to be a variety of rooms, so it would pay to check exactly what you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8horses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

The stand was very friendly and helpfull in beling to solve a reservatoon misunderstanding, with sucess. The hotel and the room were perfect as well as the restaurant. If there was an WiFi connection in the room ..

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cidio_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, during a recent tour of Italy.
All of the staff are exceedingly helpful and friendly.
The rooms are spacious with good amenities.
The grounds are immaculate.
The restaurant is a must.
The village has nothing to offer. You will need a car but the local towns noted above are a 15 minute drive.
Free wifi was a nice touch.
It is very quiet in the evening so if you need nightlife you want to stay in perugia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave1NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Direttore vendite at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Dave 1NL,
thanks a lot for your review! we hope to meet you again during your next holiday in Italy!
have a nice day
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here two days while holidaying in Italy.
The first impression was - well, impressive! And everything remained impressive about this hotel. Superbly furnished and spacious reception and lounge area, with an interesting library. Spacious and quietly rustic room with double aspect. Very quiet at all times, with beautiful gardens. Easy parking. A gourmet restaurant with very reasonable prices and superb service.
We could have happily stayed a week and would totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want fast internet, better to be closer to the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We spent lovely 2 days in this mansion hotel. Beautiful property in a quiet village 15 min from Perugia.We loved the peace and quietness. You need a car to stay here.Rooms are beautful and authentic and have nice beds.Good amenities,bath
room small but functional.Wifi not working but cable internet good. Breakfast was well prepared and good choice. Price is acceptable. Great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Direttore vendite at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Dtjan,
Thanks for your stay in our hotel. It would be nice, next time, to show you the other room types, and during the summer, the beauty of our flower garden.
Best Regards
Gianpiero Scivetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My Wife have stayed here twice and found it to be one of the most beautiful places imaginable. The site, food, rooms and service were outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martino in Campo
6.0 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#4 of 65 in Perugia
728 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
853 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
494 reviews
8.5 mi away
Relais San Clemente
3.5 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Posta dei Donini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Posta dei Donini

Address: Via Deruta 43, 06132 San Martino in Campo, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > San Martino in Campo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Martino in Campo
Price Range: £80 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Posta dei Donini 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alla Posta dei Donini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing