We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alla Posta dei Donini
Certificate of Excellence
Herzliya, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week.
The place is beautiful. A very large, well equipped and clean room. Beautiful gardens and a lovely swimming pool. Good breakfast and excellent service.
A very good place to stay in Umbria.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank achav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
dear Achav,
thanks a lot for your review, it's always a pleasure read that our guest are happy and satisfied of their stay Alla Posta dei Donini.
we hope to have other opportunity to meet you again in our place.
Kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    236
    55
    19
    7
See reviews for
120
477
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is an oasis of calm, with beautiful grounds and with ample amenities to make one's stay relaxing and comfortable. The rooms are well appointed and the air- conditioning excellent! The spa is basic, but offers relaxation and a tranquil space to fully unwind in. The breakfast was also excellent with a lot of choice and good service. The reception desk and all the staff spoke English (not always the case in Italy), and were friendly and professional. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
dear Kaschi,
thanks a lot for your review,
it's a pleasure for us reading your words and understand you've loved your stay in Umbria Alla Posta dei Donin!
we hope to meet you again during your next trip in Italy!
have a nice day
Kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We recently stayed at Alla Posta dei Donini and the end of a 3 week stay in Italy. The hotel is a lovely old villa, with beautifully landscaped grounds, a pool and spa. Unfortunately the large, gorgeous pool was closed for cleaning (in July, really??!!!) so we had to swim in the smaller pool next to the hotel. It was nice, but swimming and lying by the larger pool would have been so much better. The smaller pool location was close to the breakfast room which was nice. Many patrons smoking poolside, which was kind of yucky. I guess that's just Italy...

Our first approach to the hotel was through an industrial back road, and the town is very plain, not much going on. We had second thoughts...until we saw the hotel and grounds. Our room (we were in Villa Laura) was a wee tired looking, but comfortable and clean and spacious. We quickly relaxed and enjoyed the hotel's amenities. Staff were very helpful.

The restaurant Pantagruel is a revelation! Amongst the best meals we had during our entire visit in Italy. Food was delicious, inventive, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! The service was impeccable! We had 2 dinners there, as there was nowhere else to go in town, and we are glad we did!

Our other dinners out were in Deruta and further on, so if you are planning to drive, best to watch your liquor consumption. Perugia is a 10 minute drive away and up steep hills, so you need to take driving into consideration after a relaxing dinner out!

We have to say that there is NOTHING else to do in San Martino in Campo, which was a bit of a disappointment. However, after dinner one night we crossed the street to the local community centre and watched a riveting game of bouls (spelling?)! Seriously, it was a beautiful night, people of all ages out, and a lovely way to pass an hour! The next night we walked the town. So we know there is nothing else to do there. Surrounding hills and coutryside have much more to offer.

Otherwise, we enjoyed day trips to a local winery where we got to drive through beautiful Umbrian countryside, that was a lot of fun! One morning in lake Trasimeno on a boat tour to an island. It would be helpful if staff knew more about local beaches and activities there as its lovely and only 45 minutes away.

The hotel is close to Perugia which we visited, Assisi and other lovely towns for day trips. Otherwise, go and relax and enjoy the hotel's amenities. All in, it was a really nice restful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in Villa Laura need some refreshing, but clean. Quiet though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
dear Cindy b,
we would like to thank you for your review, we are really proud reading your words and happy that you've enjoyed your stay in Umbria. Thanks for your suggestion, your opinion it's really important for us to improve services!!
we're also happy that you've loved food at Pantagruel restaurant!!!
we hope to meet you again in Umbria!
kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Close to the autostrada, very central for excursions in Umbria.
Big garden, nice pool, good breakfast buffet.
Rooms are, ... okay. WiFi only in the lounge of the hotel, not in the rooms.
Good value for money.
Nothing to do in the evening. No bar. If you're not ready to sleep, you wil have to drive to Perugio 10 km further.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
dear Ivan VL,
thanks a lot for your review ! we are happy to read your comment and understand you appreciate our hotel and services. About the wi fi connection on this days we'are adding more antennas to improve wi fi signal, so next time you'll have a good wi fi connection also in your room.

we hope to meet you again
thanks again
Kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Back in february I was in Perugia for business and was suggested this hotel by a customer of mine.
Despite arriving quite late (almost midnight) the receptionist was very prompt and kind.
My room (nr 204) was large, spacious and clean, the bathroom extremely large and clean (I loved it), the view from the window was great...the big four poster bed screamed romantic holiday....and I was gutted it had to be a business trip!
Breakfast was nice, and staff polite and pleasant. Again, I would have loved to be there on a holiday and not only for business.
The whole Villa oozes charme and romance...If you like big busy impersonal hotels...find somewhere else....this is a lovely, secluded and romantic retreat...to prove it I just booked a 8 nights holiday in September with my fiancee and I'm looking very much forward to it!
Flora

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
DEAR FLORA M,
we really appreciate your review and hope that your next time Alla Posta dei Donini will be more relaxing and you'll ejoy our place not just for business time!
see you soon and thanks again!
kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baie-Comeau, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great location. Sandro is so helpful. Great renovated rooms with a state of the art bathroom... I was there with my 15 year old daughter and this was her favorite hotel room in Italy. The view overlooking the marina and the sea was awesome !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Lots of good stuff about this place - clean, well designed rooms, nice garden/pool and helpful staff. But location poor in a suburb of Perugia. Also, modern annex a bit soulless - felt like a business hotel. They run a very successful wedding venue from the hotel too - does not impact much on your stay, but does split the hotel and grounds very much in two. Finally, no views from the property and outside dining in the restaurant in a slightly depressing internal courtyard. Can see why it is popular with reviewers, and is good value for the money, but would not return/recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maximilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Maximilion
we regret reading your review, because we can't understand which kind of problem you've had with our venue. San Martino in Campo is a little country 8km far from Perugia, it's sorrounding by nature and very easy to find and it's in a good position near the most important Umbrian city and Village. The hotel is used also for business but is an Historic villa and in our opinion is this the main trait that give to everything a particular charme.
We hope, you can have a good remember of your stay in Umbria and we really hope you'll come back!
kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martino in Campo
6.0 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
695 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
821 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Relais San Clemente
4.7 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,421 reviews
9.2 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Posta dei Donini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Posta dei Donini

Property: Alla Posta dei Donini
Address: Via Deruta 43, 06132 San Martino in Campo, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > San Martino in Campo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Martino in Campo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Posta dei Donini 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Alla Posta dei Donini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing