We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel and a good base for exploring Umbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alla Posta dei Donini
Certificate of Excellence
Old Coulsdon, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel and a good base for exploring Umbria”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Donini for two weeks at the latter half of September 2013. The hotel is situated in a small town 20 mins drive from Perugia and close to the dual carriageway E45 - it was an excellent base for exploring the hill towns of Umbria, Lake Trasimeno etc. The hotel, a former country seat of a nobleman, is in a splendid setting in its own wooded grounds which we enjoyed walking in (though beware midges at dusk). The town itself has very few facilities though it does have a self service laundrette.

The lounge and reception area in the main part of the hotel are impressive and comfortable with a small library and seating areas. The staff were very friendly and polite and most of them spoke quite good English.

Our room in the main part of the hotel on the second floor was delightful with a view out onto the garden and the pool. The bathroom was lovely and very well equipped. Unfortunately, on the second night, the air conditioning decided to malfunction and, although it wasn't switched on, made a disturbingly loud noise which woke us up and kept us awake. The next morning we reported this and asked for it to be fixed. On returning in the evening, this request had apparently been forgotten and nothing had happened but the technical guy happened to be around and came and looked at it. Although I don't speak Italian, I worked out he thought it couldn't be fixed. Nothing further happened until I went and asked what was going on. The receptionist then found us another, higher grade room which we were very happy with and were in the process of moving to when she came and said there had been a mistake and would we move again. This was a bit trying but the room was again a very good one on the third floor. I'm reporting this at some length just to note that although we were very pleased with the end result, the staff weren't proactive in sorting this issue out which is one reason for witholding a star.

The breakfast selection was excellent and the staff pleasant and helpful. Full marks.

The pool was very pleasant but too cold for more than a brisk few lengths. It was a shame it wasn't heated even a little as it would have been much better used - I was the only person we saw swim in it though the air temperature was in the mid to high 20s most days. We also used the hotel spa pool a couple of times which was very warm indeed! There wasn't a gym.

Both our rooms were well equipped with mini-bar and TV and nice furniture to relax on. The beds were great. The CRT TV (remember those?) claimed to have satellite but there were only about 10 channels in total and none in English so we had two weeks without TV. Fortunately the wi-fi worked well in the hotel and in our room so we could get the news on our portable devices. Although not far from a busy road, there was no noise and we were only disturbed by the dawn chorus of thousands of sparrows roosting in the trees (very pleasant) and the bell from the level crossing in the town (not bad).

As we were staying for a relatively long time and because the alternatives meant driving we quite often ate dinner in the hotel restaurant Pantagruel. This was quite high end food and pricey but on the whole, very good quality and it had a pleasant ambience and friendly staff. The menu remained the same while we were there and we did run out of things to choose by the end. We would also have liked to have had more choice of types of secondi (pieces of meat without gravy or sauce predominated), non-meat dishes generally and side orders of vegetables. For the money, we did have more enjoyable food elsewhere.

We were surprised that in a hotel of this quality there was no regular bar. It was possible to ask at reception for some drinks to be brought onto the terrace but this seemed to be by special request and there was no menu. Ditto for snacks for lunch or at other times. Some groups that were staying did have a bar organised during their visit but this was only available to them. We made our own arrangements by buying drinks and snacks to have in our room before dinner.

These slightly negative remarks are for completeness and people staying for a shorter time would probably not find any of these issues a problem. Overall, we had a very enjoyable and restful stay in a wonderful part of Italy.

Room Tip: Go for executive rooms or junior suites in the main hotel. Rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    236
    55
    19
    7
See reviews for
120
477
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

this hotel is situated a few kms from Perugia and a few kms fromperugia airport.
Nice park. Big, comfortable, old-fashioned rooms. The bathroom is small.
Excellent breakfast and service at breakfast. Very helpful at reception. Good , sophisticated restaurant , that is also open for non-residents of the hotel.
Very cold and badly kept swimming-pool outside.
There's a spa , which i didn't visit (also small pool inside)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
dear Marie g,
we would like to thank you for your review and for the time spent Alla Posta Dei Donini.
we're happy to read you've enjoyed your stay in Umbria in our venue. We need to underline that we clean up the pool everyday and more than once per day, but as you have noted the pool is surrounding by a lot of beautiful trees so if it's a windy day some leaves can fall down, moreover, if the pool it's quite cold at the end of September is because of the weather and temperature.
About the spa we invite you to try it and enter next time, in that way you can also judge if the size of indoor pool is too small or not.
we really hope to meet you again during your next stay in Umbria.
Kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week.
The place is beautiful. A very large, well equipped and clean room. Beautiful gardens and a lovely swimming pool. Good breakfast and excellent service.
A very good place to stay in Umbria.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank achav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
dear Achav,
thanks a lot for your review, it's always a pleasure read that our guest are happy and satisfied of their stay Alla Posta dei Donini.
we hope to have other opportunity to meet you again in our place.
Kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is an oasis of calm, with beautiful grounds and with ample amenities to make one's stay relaxing and comfortable. The rooms are well appointed and the air- conditioning excellent! The spa is basic, but offers relaxation and a tranquil space to fully unwind in. The breakfast was also excellent with a lot of choice and good service. The reception desk and all the staff spoke English (not always the case in Italy), and were friendly and professional. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
dear Kaschi,
thanks a lot for your review,
it's a pleasure for us reading your words and understand you've loved your stay in Umbria Alla Posta dei Donin!
we hope to meet you again during your next trip in Italy!
have a nice day
Kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We recently stayed at Alla Posta dei Donini and the end of a 3 week stay in Italy. The hotel is a lovely old villa, with beautifully landscaped grounds, a pool and spa. Unfortunately the large, gorgeous pool was closed for cleaning (in July, really??!!!) so we had to swim in the smaller pool next to the hotel. It was nice, but swimming and lying by the larger pool would have been so much better. The smaller pool location was close to the breakfast room which was nice. Many patrons smoking poolside, which was kind of yucky. I guess that's just Italy...

Our first approach to the hotel was through an industrial back road, and the town is very plain, not much going on. We had second thoughts...until we saw the hotel and grounds. Our room (we were in Villa Laura) was a wee tired looking, but comfortable and clean and spacious. We quickly relaxed and enjoyed the hotel's amenities. Staff were very helpful.

The restaurant Pantagruel is a revelation! Amongst the best meals we had during our entire visit in Italy. Food was delicious, inventive, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! The service was impeccable! We had 2 dinners there, as there was nowhere else to go in town, and we are glad we did!

Our other dinners out were in Deruta and further on, so if you are planning to drive, best to watch your liquor consumption. Perugia is a 10 minute drive away and up steep hills, so you need to take driving into consideration after a relaxing dinner out!

We have to say that there is NOTHING else to do in San Martino in Campo, which was a bit of a disappointment. However, after dinner one night we crossed the street to the local community centre and watched a riveting game of bouls (spelling?)! Seriously, it was a beautiful night, people of all ages out, and a lovely way to pass an hour! The next night we walked the town. So we know there is nothing else to do there. Surrounding hills and coutryside have much more to offer.

Otherwise, we enjoyed day trips to a local winery where we got to drive through beautiful Umbrian countryside, that was a lot of fun! One morning in lake Trasimeno on a boat tour to an island. It would be helpful if staff knew more about local beaches and activities there as its lovely and only 45 minutes away.

The hotel is close to Perugia which we visited, Assisi and other lovely towns for day trips. Otherwise, go and relax and enjoy the hotel's amenities. All in, it was a really nice restful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in Villa Laura need some refreshing, but clean. Quiet though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
dear Cindy b,
we would like to thank you for your review, we are really proud reading your words and happy that you've enjoyed your stay in Umbria. Thanks for your suggestion, your opinion it's really important for us to improve services!!
we're also happy that you've loved food at Pantagruel restaurant!!!
we hope to meet you again in Umbria!
kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Close to the autostrada, very central for excursions in Umbria.
Big garden, nice pool, good breakfast buffet.
Rooms are, ... okay. WiFi only in the lounge of the hotel, not in the rooms.
Good value for money.
Nothing to do in the evening. No bar. If you're not ready to sleep, you wil have to drive to Perugio 10 km further.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
dear Ivan VL,
thanks a lot for your review ! we are happy to read your comment and understand you appreciate our hotel and services. About the wi fi connection on this days we'are adding more antennas to improve wi fi signal, so next time you'll have a good wi fi connection also in your room.

we hope to meet you again
thanks again
Kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Back in february I was in Perugia for business and was suggested this hotel by a customer of mine.
Despite arriving quite late (almost midnight) the receptionist was very prompt and kind.
My room (nr 204) was large, spacious and clean, the bathroom extremely large and clean (I loved it), the view from the window was great...the big four poster bed screamed romantic holiday....and I was gutted it had to be a business trip!
Breakfast was nice, and staff polite and pleasant. Again, I would have loved to be there on a holiday and not only for business.
The whole Villa oozes charme and romance...If you like big busy impersonal hotels...find somewhere else....this is a lovely, secluded and romantic retreat...to prove it I just booked a 8 nights holiday in September with my fiancee and I'm looking very much forward to it!
Flora

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
DEAR FLORA M,
we really appreciate your review and hope that your next time Alla Posta dei Donini will be more relaxing and you'll ejoy our place not just for business time!
see you soon and thanks again!
kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martino in Campo
6.0 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
695 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
820 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Relais San Clemente
4.7 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,421 reviews
9.2 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Posta dei Donini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Posta dei Donini

Property: Alla Posta dei Donini
Address: Via Deruta 43, 06132 San Martino in Campo, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > San Martino in Campo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Martino in Campo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Posta dei Donini 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Alla Posta dei Donini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing