We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad decision”

Rock Creek Trading Post & Cafe
Price range: US$1 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Organic coffee roasted right on site. Large outdoor deck, small inside seating. Delightful fresh selection of real food - no deep frying here! Fresh made soups, sandwiches, all day breakfast and specials offered through the spring and summer. Home made sweet treats. Gluten Free selections always available. Great gift shop Many beautiful items for sale from Guatemala and Mexico, all hand selected by the owners who spend their winters in Guatemala. Open all summer, and open limited days in the winter?
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad decision”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Food was awful, restaurant smelled of mold! Do not eat here! Pretty sure we are going to be sick. ..:s

Helpful?
Thank marciewhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Eclectic gem in the Kettle Valley”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The food was extremely good and nicely presented. A large variety of Guatemalan wares the owners Denise & Kent bring back from their annual winter migration are for sale displayed throughout a turn of the century building.
A spot we always enjoy a stop at, A pound or two of the coffee my husband (the coffee drinker) always refers to as 'the best' always finds it way home with us as we'll.
Overall a pleasant experience along the scenic Highway 3.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank civil86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dirty place too old”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The food took forever and it was cold, The service is slow but friendly. The kitchen is filthy. Makes me wonder what am I actually eating..I don't like this place, Its convenient right off the junction,, But that's it..This poor place need a serious face lift.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dec20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockhollow, Owner at Rock Creek Trading Post & Cafe, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our cafe. We have a small menu of soup and sandwiches, and they are usually quick to make.
It's true ,that our cafe is situated in a turn of the century log building, but our kitchen and bathrooms are a fairly new addition that we built 9 years ago.
Our kitchen is very clean, and inspected annually by the Health Department, with never any problem.
Are you sure you are reviewing the right cafe in Rock Creek.
Please stop by and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Discover this gem - food & coffee to savour”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Coffee is fresh ground, each cup brewed individually. Surprising, remarkable food. Locally-made breads, excellent prices, even a $6 dish comes with extra touches, a small bowl of luscious mouth-watering marinated local vegetables or a fruit skewer. Best humus ever. Brie & cranberries. Seafood bisque with cornmeal muffin. We order 2 dishes to share, because who can decide? Great spicing - owners make & sell their blends. Owners are travelers & sell Guatemalan handmade goods. We enjoyed sitting outside, no smokers when we were there. Oh, and if it is open (when the laundry is on the line), wander across the road to Rags, Relics & Rutabagas - a fun & charming collectables shop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Wow we had an amazing lunch and the coffee is great as well. Very surprised this little gem exists in this town in the middle of nowhere. Very laid back atmosphere but friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 894murman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock Creek Trading Post & Cafe also viewed

Rock Creek, British Columbia
 
Rock Creek, British Columbia
Midway, British Columbia
 

Been to Rock Creek Trading Post & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing