We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing stay”
Review of The Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in The Villages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 December 2013

we loved the inn while staying 3 nights. the staff was wonderful, we biked between the family household and the hotel, and they told us we could lock out bikes to the pool fence. the view, the clean rooms, the decor, and large room made us feel homey. they gave us free toothbrushes and a newspaper every morning. the one cup coffee in the room, (since we get up so early), was excellent. the inn is very quiet. everyone is helpful and friendly. the pier and waterfront have many venues to eat, and the scenery is fabulous. thx so much...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have stayed at the hotel many times and have always been fortunate enough to have Neil's excellent service. My children love him... He always makes them laugh! He is super attentive, pleasant and anticipates our needs before we ask.

I definitely recommend staying here!

Sophie

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for the great recommendation on our hotel! Neal is an employee we value and we appreciate his passion to do well. Thank you for taking the time to recognize someone that takes pride in what they are doing! I look forward to seeing your family stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Obviously, the hotel is beautiful. It is located on the Lake, so that in itself is something to see. It is also located in Lake Sumter Town Square which gives you countless entertainment options. We LOVED staying here BUT.... In the 3 times that we stayed, we had continuous issues with the staff. It all boiled down to a lack of communication between staff members. For example, we visited the front desk Saturday evening and asked for a late checkout Sunday morning... The woman said that's fine and made a note on a post-it. The following morning, our room was called at checkout time, asking why we hadn’t checked out. Then within minutes, the house keeper unlocked our door without knocking or anything, thinking we had checked out. I just thank God everyone was dressed at the time. There was another time that my boyfriend (who’s name was on our reservation) was going to be arriving later than I. The woman he called said that was ok and they would allow me to get my room and collect his information when he came later. When I showed up, (must have been a different woman than he spoke to) she gave me the hardest time, to the point where I asked her if she preferred I “sit in my car for the next 3 hours until he gets here” and then she finally let me check in. Those are just a few of the issues we encountered. Again, was it the end of the world? No. But it definitely was frustrating that something like this would happen each time we stayed there... Anyway. It's pretty!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDNNDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you so much for staying at The Waterfront Inn! I'm so glad that you enjoyed the stay and thought our hotel was beautiful. I understand how frustrated you must have felt about not being able to get checked in right away and about the housekeeping walking in without a knock. We have been diligently training our staff and pressing the importance of good communication. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Waterfront many times, and it has always been excellent. The rooms are very clean, cozy, and the beds are very comfortable. The restaurant in the lobby serves very good food, and don't miss their great breakfast. The hotel is decorated in a very tasteful, and warm tropical decor, which goes perfect with the laid back Florida lifestyle. The staff are always very friendly, professional, and really seem to care about your stay with them. Over the years we have become very good friends with the doorman Neal. He is very friendly, and he always makes our stay at The Waterfront a memorable one.

Room Tip: We like a room with a pool and lake view......a few dollars more, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hi Gary W, Thank you so much for your kind words and favorable impression of The Waterfront Inn. We are very fortunate to have Neal and all of our team members who are always so happy to see our loyal guests return. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Florida's Friendliest Hometown! Yours in hospitality, Jamie Ross - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

we had an overnight stay at The Waterfront recently and were delighted with the hotel.
It is well worth paying for a lake view and even for a balcony. We had chosen not to book a balcony room but when we arrived we changed our minds, the staff were very accommodating and quickly changed our room for us with no fuss or bother and when we watched the sunrise over the lake the next morning it was well worth the small charge.
We ate on the terrace that evening and then had breakfast the next morning. Both meals were excellent and the staff both professional and friendly.

Room Tip: balcony rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Karena B,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your overnight stay experience at The Waterfront Inn. Watching the sunrise over Lake Sumter is such a great way to start the day. I am so happy that you enjoyed your room and your meals in Amelia's restaurant. Hope to see you on your next visit to The Villages.
Kind Regards,
Jamie Ross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have always had excellent service here to say the least. Our recent business stay impressed us the most. When we arrived we were greeted by Bellman Neal who by far is the best in all my years of travel. Neal made it an easy check in to our hotel rooms and meeting room with all of our luggage and equipment. He is truly a gentleman who really knows how to treat a guest with a friendly smile, remembers your name, asking genuinely how you are when he sees you again and if you need anything to let him know. He is a great compliment to an already fine hotel establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoccoM720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear RoccoM720 - Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the service that you received from Neal. We are very pleased and fortunate to have him working with us at The Waterfront Inn. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to The Villages.
Kind Regards,
Jamie Ross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Normally I’d think the décor was old and outdated but, it was so old school and Floridian that it was kind of fun. Your property was very clean and it was pleasant to be there. The only exception was one big dead bug in our room. Overall we were disappointed by the way we were treated by the staff, with the exception of one person, no one spoke to us, in-fact several times we were made to feel like a bother or interference with their day. The exception is Neal, from the moment we pulled up at the door after a long day of travel; he was open friendly and made us feel glad to be there and overall welcome. From the moment we met he remembered all of our names and every time we saw him thereafter, not only greeted us but carried on conversations. His service needs to be recognized, the rest of the staff could take lessons from him on customer service and congeniality.

Room Tip: Choose the lake view for a better experiance and at least the third floor to avoid the nightly enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Talon J - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Waterfront Inn. I'm so sorry that you were disappointed in some of our team members. That is not at all how we planned for your visit. Thanks very much for your acknowledgment of Neal, I am happy to pass along your appreciation. I will review with our team your comments in hopes that we make every guest feel welcome and special. We hope to see you again in the future so that we ALL may show you our true southern hospitality. Thanks again for your feedback. Sincerely, Jamie Ross - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Villages
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites The Villages
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites The Villages
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lady Lake/The Villages
6.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Wildwood - The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Inn

Address: 1105 Lakeshore Dr, The Villages, FL 32162-1698
Region: United States > Florida > The Villages
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in The Villages
Price Range: £104 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Lady Lake
Waterfront Hotel Lady Lake
The Waterfront Inn The Villages, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing