We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Wildwood)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
235
111
58
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
235
111
58
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake sumterretirement communitybreakfast buffetnightly entertainmentbalcony overlooking the lakesales managerrent a golf cartwithin walking distancebalcony roombeautiful hotelwater viewnice place to staynice sizebeds were very comfortableconvenient locationhotel restaurantcoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Loved our stay here, made a family get together that much more fun. Easy and convenient location. The bellman, Neal, was awesome. Full of knowledge, friendly, and fun; wanted to bring him home to hang out. I'd definitely stay here again. Looking forward to it. I realized id forgotten to write a review, but it was so good, I had to do it now.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Waterfront Inn. It is in the best location which is right in the middle of The Villages. Lake Sumter Market Square is just minutes away from the hotel and we are golf cart accessible. We have a very friendly staff here many of which have been with us for seven years! Neal is such a great asset to The hotel the way that he takes tremendous pride in his job and wants to go above and beyond as a bellman. He recently won company recognition with JHM Hotels as "The Best of the Best."
We hope to see you back here soon and thank you for your feedback!
Sincerely,
Christy Kitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room was fine but the desk lamp did not work. Later moved to room overlooking waterfront. It was great. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast.
The location is excellent and the views are great. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ignatrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Waterfront Inn! We have a staff that takes pride in what they do and it reflects in great customer service. I love this hotel as well as the team that works here. We all like to think as though we are inviting guests into our home. I hope to see you here again and appreciate the feedback.
Sincerely,
Christy Kitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had lunch for three of us on a Sunday. It was a good buffet not the best I ever had but good. Our table was a little distance from the main buffet which was not a problem for us but something to be considered if making a reservation. The setting is gorgeous and the hotel is elegant and sumptuous. It was a little pricey for the quality but would not write it off. All in all had a good time

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our Floribbean Buffet that we have been featuring in our Amelia's restaurant on Sundays at 4:00PM. It's an incredible deal that is priced at only $10.95 per person. You can choose jerk chicken, a Cuban style Pork Loin, Blackened Tilapia with Mango Salsa, Coconut ginger rice, Key lime pie and other tropical favorites on this buffet.
We want to reflect the feel of our hotel's interior design in the menu of this buffet which is what I would describe as tropical, breezy, and relaxing. It's all about getting in the Key West state of mind when you visit our area of The Villages. Whether you are standing on Canal Street at Lake Sumter Square or in our beautiful Waterfront Lobby Bar, you'll be sure to start leaving worries behind.
We hope to see you back hear soon and thank you for stopping by!
Sincerely,
Christy Kitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as we were experiencing the Villages Lifestyle. We couldn't have been happier. From the girls at check in, to Neil who took care of our luggage the day of check in, it was a wonderful experience all around. Neil was there any time we needed him.
He really gave us the welcome feeling. We are really looking forward to our next trip down and purchasing a Villa. It will be great to visit the Waterfront Hotel again and to say hello to all of our new friends. Our room had a great view too, we were able to look out over the pool and lake.

Room Tip: Upon check in we asked for a better view, and received it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

It's great to hear that you enjoyed staying with us! I'm glad to see you got to experience our friendly staff and beautiful views. Lake Sumter has a relaxing atmosphere yet plenty of fun as well. Whether you want to relax by our pool or take a stroll along the boardwalk, you can find it all at our hotel. We offer free nightly entertainment in our lobby and great meals in our Amelia's restaurant.
Come in and enjoy the hotel anytime. Whether you stay again or come in eat dinner only, we welcome everyone anytime!
-Christy Kitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here one night when we visited THe VIllages and were delighted. We had stayed elsewhere in the Villages our first night at a nice hotel but this hotel was clearly a more upscale choice and worth the extra money. The room was comfortable, very nicely decorated, granite counters, lovely tv, coffee maker, frig, microwave and a balcony overlooking Lake Sumter. Our room was very quiet and the mattress was perfect. The room temperature controls worked perfectly! That is important to us. I did read in some reviews that special events in the hotel created a problem, but there were no weddings or banquets on our night so we had total peace and quiet overlooking the beautiful views of the lake.

Check in was easy. Elevator was quick. (One minor observation: although rugs in the lobby and hallways was clean, the elevator rug needed some attention.) Location was ideal as it is a block or two from all the towns and the village square of Lake Sumter Villages. Note: the hotel provides coffee in the lobby but there is no complimentary continental breakfast. The hotel restaurant does serve breakfast although we did not eat there.

We would definitely consider going back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves in being the most upscale hotel in the area. I strive to do daily checks of the hotel rooms with the executive housekeeper to make sure they are clean and maintained. My apologies for the condition of the elevator floors, however, we are in the process of getting bids to have the floors redone. (no carpet this time!)
We have great things down the pike, such as, new lobby furniture and a restaurant menu refresh! It will be well worth checking out again!
Thank you so much for staying with us and I look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Christy Kitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews