We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daughters wedding day ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comlongon Castle Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Comlongon Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Daughters wedding day ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

There isn't words to describe.

Absolutely perfect.
Welcome.
Efficient staff.
Very clean.
Full of character.
Stunning rooms.
Stunning location.
Stunning grounds.
Stunning views.

Gorgeous food.
Excellent service at the bar. At the main meal and at breakfast.

Staff very knowledgable. Very accommodating. Very helpful. Very pleasant.

Brilliant stay. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cherrylho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    37
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
136
237
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our wedding was perfect as it was just immediate family and our closest circle of friends, which was just the way we wanted it. Me and my Husband were married 29th August 1996, the day was wonderful, the sun shone brilliantly all day. Everything about the location is wonderful, even now 18 years later I describe my wedding day as "magical". The staff are wonderful, the food was amazing and the grounds are spectacular. We had bagpipes, champagne and summer fruit punch served whilst the photographs were taken, which were stunning and so informal, as already stated the meal was amazing and was all local produce and in the evening we had a local Ceilidh band which was so much fun, with the men trying to do a traditional dance over swords. I couldn't recommend this location highly enough and cant wait t go back !.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevwilkin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Sooo ... what a weekend we have just had at Comlongon Castle. We took over the Castle for the whole weekend to celebrate my 50th Brithday and our Wedding - what a double celebration. The Castle, Hotel, Grounds and Staff are all amazing, I think if you have read any of the other reviews, you already get the gist !!

I can't thank Ashley, Alex and the rest of the staff enough for making it all feel like Magic - things just happened, although perhaps that was also to do with the two years planning :-)

The food was absolutely lovely, it was great that everyone could choose from a menu, very impressive.

Everyroom was great, every sip of Champagne to be savoured. I didn't think I could love my family and friends anymore but this venue is so romantic it just gets better.

Thanks again, if you are thinking about using this venue ... just do it. Look at the feedback, you really won't be disappointed.

Many thanks. Sandy & Mike Maher - 15th/16th and 17th August 2014.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Gardens. The Lodge is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our friends got married at the castle in the keep. The castle was lovely with fab gardens. The honeymoon suite, the lodge was fantastic. The guest rooms were all different and, comfortable. Would have been nice if they offered different pillows which we found quite hard. The food was great especially on the wedding day. The 2 piece band was great they played a mix of Scottish and modern music. They made the night with their great personalities and joined in with the dancing while they sang and played. The wedding service was held in the keep which had a fab room and a falcon which was supposed to deliver the rings to the groom but decided not to perform on the day, we all took it in good humour. Breakfast was also very good. Pow foot golf course nearby.

Room Tip: The Lodge is the best if you get a chance to book it and not much more money then the large suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDigibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I have just attended my son's wedding at this fabulous establishment. The castle & grounds are outstanding. The staff are very professional & helpful. The food? Fantastic!
I would recommend this venue to anybody wanting luxury in a historic setting.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LynL429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

A fabulous venue for your wedding steeped in history. Beautiful grounds for photographs and celebrating. Plenty of advice on local photographer's and hair/makeup artist's, falconry displays, owl ring delivery, ceremonial releasing of white doves, champagne on the lawns, bagpipers, engraved flagstone with your names and wedding date laid into garden path, plus more. Plus, four poster beds, adjoining castle with 13 feet thick walls, suits of armour and spears mounted on the walls. A truly Scottish feel.
The staff are very helpful and friendly. The food is excellent and the cost is very reasonable and very worth it.
Also, many local attractions near - ish worth seeing and some superb, reasonably priced restaurants in the nearby town of Annan.
Put simply, a stunning venue in a stunning area of Scotland. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently went to a wonderful wedding at Comlonglon Castle. An amazing venue beautiful Gardens and great staff. Our room was huge and had great views of the garden and beyond.
Coming from New Zealand this was something we dont get to stay in. It was a highlight of our trip.
Very romantic setting for a wedding and we enjoyed the scottish tradition. Thank you to the staff
every thing ran very smoothly throughout our stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy8277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarencefield
19.2 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comlongon Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comlongon Castle Hotel

Property: Comlongon Castle Hotel
Address: Clarencefield DG1 4NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Clarencefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Clarencefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Comlongon Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 15th-century castle and adjoining 15 roomed Baronial hotel set in over 120 acres of private grounds. Comlongon specialises in weddings, receptions, celebrations and private functions on a daily basis. The Hotel offers a unique blend of luxury, history and privacy with displays of armour and oak paneling. Award winning chefs specialise in fresh local produce. Comlongon is a privately owned and run family business where service and value for money are paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comlongon Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comlongon Castle Dumfries
Comlongon Castle Hotel Dumfries
Comlongon Castle Hotel Clarencefield, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing