We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,319)
Filter reviews
2,319 results
Traveller rating
726
777
467
212
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
777
467
212
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattenborough nature reserveleisure facilitiesclub roomretail parkpublic housesky tvthe pubcoffee machineswimming poolgreat facilitiessteam roomlovely hotelchanging roomscomfy bedgood nights sleepthe upper deckthe verve
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,987 - 1,992 of 2,319 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Lots of things to say about this and unfortunately, for the most part it's not good.

This booking began with a small party, my family eating on Boxing Day. We got told that if extra people wanted to come along then all they had to do was phone up and pay via phone up secure their extra place. I booked on via this method with little issue (although I was on hold for a long while, whilst the 'lady that does the bookings' was just becoming available) unclear why all staff who answer the phone can't take bookings. Anyway after little fuss the place was secured. However when my sister and partner then tried to book on, they had a right nightmare. The first issues with my sister were around calling back to speak to the right person and that person never being there at the specified time. My partner had similar issues and this time they concluded "the original booker needs to call us as people are booking onto parties when they weren't invited".... well that was new news! So lots of frustration and things not running smoothly even before we got there.

The weeks then passed and time for the meal.

We were shown to our table, drinks orders taken but it was an extremely long time before they arrived. I'm talking 20 minutes to half an hour. No water on the table we had to ask twice for that. Arrived for the Christmas menu to be told "it's the buffet in the corner" which was actually the corner for starters and puddings. We did think it was strange filling up on prawn cocktail and lettuce leaves.... it was only as we finished those, chatted and waited (and waited) for drinks to arrive that we were told we could head up to the carvery when we wanted to.

I asked for Turkey and was cut 2 slices and they had veg you could help yourself to. It was all just average tasting. The sauces were in dessert bowls and that area was a mess - sauces spilt all over it hadn't been cleaned down at all you could tell.

There was also a strange clown/performer walking around which I don't know.... I understand wanting to entertain kids at large parties but it just felt odd and a bit out of place. Also spotted him interrupting people's dinner so he could interact with them and do tricks which I thought was a bit rude

All in all, ok for the price but I wouldn't go back.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Suparuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Booked for a family Christmas stay. The experience was, as per my rating, ordinary on all fronts. Nothing was unsatisfactory , but equally little was notable or memorable to leave a smile in your memory. The staff were all very pleasant and attentive, but there was a sense that no lateral thought had gone into finding ways to add a little polish. Very much that corporate management feel of monoculture mediocrity. In conclusion nothing wrong but where's the sense of pride?

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Booked the Vibe in the Basement of the Hotel for a special birthday party for my wife. The hotel were great. Lou-Ann was the party co-ordinator and Tom did a brilliant job in ensuring the room was perfectly set up and the event went smoothly. We had nearly 60 guests and a live group (The Crew). I heard only compliments all evening. This is the place to come if you want that special occasion to be really special.
We stayed in the Upperdeck, the TV was poor, but who cared, the bed was big and comfortable, the shower hot and the towels big.
Breakfast was very enjoyable. We didn't use the gym or swimming pool
We had a great time at the Village

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJandJBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Booked directly on the hotel website as better deal than through Expedia ETC.
Quite a long wait at check in. We asked for a quiet room. The room we were given, 245, looked OK so we unpacked. It was only after I lay down for a rest that I noticed the hum from the heating/aircon outside. Fortunately it was a constant hum so just about bearable.
Four of us ate at the restaurant. We had to eat early as they had various Christmas parties planned that evening. They gave us a few days notice for this and it suited us so not really an issue. The food was Ok but nothing special, slight notch up on what you'd get from Wetherspoons. Credit to the girl who served us all night, very pleasant and attentive.
Despite the hum outside, had 2 reasonable nights sleep.
Breakfast is average although sausages and eggs were very well cooked. Staff again were really friendly and helpful.
The room cleaning left a lot to be desired. No hand towels, bath and sink uncleaned and worst poorly washed cups with tissue still stuck around one of the spoons. Yuk.
Pool was busy. Viewing area smelled strongly of sick presumably from the previous nights party.
Only giving 3 stars due to pleasant staff in the restaurant/breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel caters for party nights - if you are not part of one of these groups it is grim.

Before we booked we specifically checked to see if there were any parties scheduled for the weekend we stayed and there were none listed on the website so we booked. We were therefore dismayed to get an email before staying advising that there were 3 parties taking place and that the restaurant would only be available from 18.00 to 19.00 on the evening of our stay, who wants to eat at that time and spend the rest of the evening in their rooms??

We tried to cancel the booking - and whilst the central reservation team were sympathetic the hotel was having none of it and refused to allow us to cancel (Poor customer service apparently the central booking line is managed by Serco and they cannot authorise refunds ) but to be fair they did offer to pay for a taxi to take us to another local restaurant.

So we went - the pool and leisure facilities were good, but when the three parties started to fill up they took over the bar, the coffee shop as well as the function rooms. This hotel really should not accept bookings from guests who are not attending their functions which take the place over in its entirety leaving no comfortable public spaces for other guests, we could use the bar but it was 5 deep to order a drink - not at all what you want when you go away for a quiet weekend.

We did get a surprisingly good nights sleep the room was quiet and well away from the noise - and we found an ok restaurant (The Corn Mill) within walking distance.

The room was comfortable but the bathroom was awful - mold all round the shower, the bath plug did not fit and the shower screen leaked water all over the bathroom floor.

So to conclude a poor experience - might be fun if you attend the parties and are a fan of dirty bathrooms - over wise avoid.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a quiet room well away from the bar and function areas
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outtheoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews