We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have used village hotels a lot, even using Birmingham 3 days a week for 7 months and many other locations, we were in Sheffield for 2 weeks and decided to go to Nottingham for a weekend break with our 2 sons, the village standard was good, not the best one we have stayed at as it's not a new build like many of them, but food as good as ever and service good, the only fault was not of the hotel but some idiot company behind that was working all night with high pressure water cutting material, go to this hotel but don't get a room facing the rear car park, otherwise will go back.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Harvoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VUR_Nottingham, General Manager at Village Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Harvoz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedbck following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you had a good experience and the staff and food were the highlight for you.

I can only apologise that you experienced noise issues from an external source, thank you for bringing this to my attention to look into.

We hope that you will continue to be a valuable guest at the Village brand and hope to welcome you back to Nottingham in the future.

Kind regards
Sarah McNally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,680 - 1,686 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here with my daughter while visiting friends. Was in Upper Deck Room which was very nice, very nice bed but why no sockets by the bed!!Bose unit was good and nice range of tea and coffee and some Starbucks things.
We used the swimming pool and that was very clean and had good facilities.
We eat in the bar which I would recommend very good prices for chain hotel and we had drinks on the terrace.Drink prices also good for hotel,
Breakfast we had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated but it was not full but very good self service breakfast but good choose of cooked breakfast and cereals fruits and pastries.
This hotel is in the middle of retail park so no nice grounds.
Good value

Room Tip: Upgrade to Upper Deck room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JENATK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VUR_Nottingham, General Manager at Village Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear JENATK,

Thank you for submitting your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you had such a positive experience and we hope to welcome you back to Village Urban Resort Nottingham in the near future.

Kind regards
Sarah McNally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed previously and really enjoyed have booked again for august. Previous stay really pleasant stated with other half and three of our four kids. Food good love the choice at breakfast and pub grub. Love the pool and spa and gym facilities. Rooms spacious enough and nicely equipped have had yo book two rooms for next visit as all six of us are going will review how we get on

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busymultimum4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VUR_Nottingham, General Manager at Village Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear busymultimum4,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Village Urban Resort Nottingham.

We are pleased you had such a great experience and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, please contact me personally at the hotel if I can assist with anything for your next stay.

Kind regards,
Sarah McNally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked an overnight b&b break here to visit our son. The room was very comfortable and the toiletries in the bathroom were in nice big pump bottles instead on the usual silly little sample bottles we usually get in hotels.
Breakfast did not dissapoint either with plenty of choice, delicious coffee and staff who were very pleasant & happy to help.
On getting back home we realised we had left our phone charger behind. On ringing the hotel, the charger had been found, they even posted it out to us saving a return trip!
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly return again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jogjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VUR_Nottingham, General Manager at Village Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear jogjill,

Thank you for submitting such great feedback following your stay with us recently. I am glad that you had such a good experience, I will be sure to pass your comments to the team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Sarah McNally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had our wedding at the Village Nottingham and had an amazing day. The venue room was lovely and intimate and a bar within the room. Perfect for our small wedding of up to 70 guests in the evening. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made our day run smoothly. The food was excellent all guests commented on how lovely their 3 course meal was. Rooms were very clean and tidy. Excellent value for money!!! I would definitely recommend having your wedding here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VUR_Nottingham, General Manager at Village Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Gemma b,

Thanks you for submitting your feedback following your wedding with us. We are thrilled you had the perfect day and that we could be part of it.

Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Sarah McNally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

On first of two-night stay. Room and leisure facilities are clean and comfortable enough, although, as others have mentioned, the room does not have air-con and the window is next to useless. I'm sure in winter it would be very cosy!
Our room has a fabulous view of a brick wall, which does make it feel a little claustrophobic, but we aim to be out most of the day so shouldn't be too much of a problem.
The grill restaurant was closed tonight so dinner was in the pub. A suggestion for management: perhaps better to have more than one chef trying to cater for everyone on his own when you know there are no other options. We had to wait 40+ minutes for our mains (which weren't then cleared from the table when finished) and 55 minutes for dessert. Would have given up on the dessert but we'd already paid for it.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VUR_Nottingham, General Manager at Village Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear SSD_13,

Thank you for submitting your feedback following your recent stay with us at Village Urban Resort Nottingham.

I am sorry that you had some issues during your stay. Please be assured that we take feedback very seriously and the comments will be shared with the team here at the hotel, in order for us to continually develop our standards and service.

If you do wish to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sarah McNally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Myself, my partner and two friends stayed here after attending a wedding in Breedon on the Hill. Plenty of parking, despite the hotel hosting two weddings on the same day. Booking in was very straightforward; Wendy was the consummate professional! Our room was on the second floor (233); the room was clean and well appointed and everything worked, although I couldn't work out how to switch the telly on, so handed the task over to my husband, who made short work of the task, whilst rolling his eyes at me! As with previous reviewers, I have to say the room was very hot and stuffy, and whilst I understand that the window retainers are a 'health and safety' requirement, it would help if they were a little longer, allowing the windows to open a bit wider. Air con would be fab, but I realise this would very likely add to the cost to the customer. Bed was very comfortable.

Our party ate a late lunch in the Victory bar; the service was slow, but my husband said he saw several staff attending to guests at one of the private wedding functions, leaving only one member of staff to serve food and take orders at the bar. This lady was very apologetic, and under the circumstances, she did do a good job. Our meals were good; I had a jacket potato with a very good chilli topping,my partner had scampi and chips, which he enjoyed. Our friends had burgers and Blazin' Beans; both cleared their plates! The atmosphere in the bar was very relaxed and it was a nice place to chill out before attending the evening reception we had been invited to. We finished off our afternoon on the extensive terrace outside the Victory bar; very clean and tidy with nice patio furniture, and a good place to catch the late afternoon sun, although there is a water treatment works nearby, and if the wind is in the wrong direction....

Reception staff organised a taxi for us, and following our night out, we returned to the hotel and decided on a nightcap. The night porter/barman was very helpful and friendly. We then retired for the night, where we found that although it was cooler outside, the room was still very hot. There was the usual nocturnal chaos involving other guests returning late and inebriated, but that is to be expected at any hotel on a Saturday night, I suppose.

Breakfast was superb; fruit, yoghurt, pastries, cereals, cooked breakfast; all to a very high standard and plenty of it. Tea and coffee was 'bottomless' and fruit juice was good. The waiting staff were excellent; very cheerful and efficient, and the whole breakfast experience went a long way to soothing our 'fragile' post-party state!

All in all, a good experience. We didn't use the leisure facilities, although the pool looked great! We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VUR_Nottingham, General Manager at Village Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Sam G,

Thank you for submitting feedback following your recent stay at Village Urban Resort Nottingham.

I am delighted you had such a great stay, thank you for your comments which I have shared with the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sarah McNally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilwell
3.0 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
1,565 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#17 of 41 in Nottingham
713 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,470 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Nottingham

Address: Hotel Nottingham Brailsford Way | Chilwell, Chilwell NG9 6DL, England (Formerly De Vere Village Nottingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Chilwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
Price Range: £29 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Nottingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Nottingham is minutes away from junction 25 of the M1 and just outside the City Centre. The hotel is ideally located for many major attractions including Nottingham Castle, Sherwood Forest, Newstead Abbey, American Adventure and Alton Towers Theme Parks. Nottingham is a vibrant city renowned for its fantastic shops and nightlife. Village Hotel Nottingham has 135 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Nottingham
Village Hotel Leisure Nottingham
Hotel Nottingham Village
Village Hotel Nottingham Chilwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing