We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Revamped rooms but no bar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Revamped rooms but no bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

So i recently stayed here for an event. The rooms in the centre had advanced from the original 80's decor and the beds were much better. The showers were much better as well. The room i stayed in had no desk but that wasn't a massive issue. The wifi strength barely reached the room i was staying in.

Then there was the canteen. They had taken away the salad bar. boooo and also you couldn't get any on tap beer or beer of any kind. Whilst the new catering facilities may look nicer they certainly aren't an improvement and if not improved they will lose out business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goose5878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWSC_Nottingham, Marketing Executive at National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - we're glad you think the rooms have improved following on from our refurbishment. We are in the process of still finishing our catering and bar facilities so at the minute we are unfortunately unable to offer our full catering service. Apologies for any inconvenience this caused. Our salad bar will be back though, as will the bar - we hope to have this all up and running shortly.

Many thanks, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    19
    13
    15
    24
See reviews for
22
17
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Firstly I'd like to commend the campsite staff, who were very efficient and friendly when we arrived. Our camping pitch itself was perfect, even surface and clean of rubbish.

The toilet and shower block were dirty, dated and worn although functional cannot be scored highly. The toilet/shower block was the hang out for the 'feral' holidaying kids which was unpleasant and noisy - which was a shame, as there was a playground and grassy area adjacent to the block which could have been used.

All of the rubbish bins were overflowing with rubbish spilling out. On the whole the campsite itself is okay - it's just the facilities which need attention - if not a total refurbishment - then a blooming good clean!!

Wouldn't rush back to this site!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrssjc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Holme Pierrepont hotels

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Where to start. The food. It is awful DO NOT EAT HERE, GO TO THE LOCAL SUPERMARKET. The rooms. The rooms are falling apart. The back panel off the wardrobe is lying loose in the middle of theWhere to start. The food. It is awful DO NOT EAT HERE, GO TO THE LOCAL SUPERMARKET. The rooms. Some are ok at the best the rest are tiny and for two people there is one wardrobe one bunk bed and a sink! Leaving you barely any space to stand.The rooms are falling apart. The back panel off the wardrobe is lying loose in the middle of the room the cables that power all of the rooms are loose in the rooms. The rooms are filthy. Some rooms have on-suits but if you don't have an on-suit you have to use the community loos in the corridor and cannot wash your hands until back in your own room. My friends room has a leak and nobody can come and see it until tomorrow as there is no maintenance. If you are near the stairs every time somebody goes up or down you hear them. There is no sound proofing between rooms so you hear everything the people in the next room say.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalR93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I have stayed here on many occasions when attending canoeing regattas. I always seem to get the same room, in April this year I reported that the toilet seat was broken, it was still the same in May, June & July. The paintwork in the room is disgusting and badly needs an update. The bed was so uncomfortable that I was unable to get a full nights sleep (mattress too thin) The only saving grace was the breakfast which was wholesome.

Room Tip: I dont think they have any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I went White Water Rafting as part of a group of 14 last July and we all had a great time. The staff were excellent, friendly, fun and profesional throughout the day. We were split into two rafts and had loads of laughs, you WILL get wet!
One of the groups had a couple of poor swimmers in it and they spent as much time in the water as they did in the raft, but they absolutley loved it!
We all felt that the day was outstanding value and can't wait to go again.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gavd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

I went to the Nottingham Cable last week for a day out with my friends, trying out somewhere different to the cables in Bedford and Milton Keynes we had been to a couple of times previously. I had seen the other review saying how disappointing it was which did make me feel somewhat worried. However after my day there i saw how wrong they were.

When we got there we booked in at the reception, the receptionist was very helpful, and wegot changed into the kit provided. The wetsuits kept us warm and the buoyancy aids were the real deal.

Then we were taking down to the cable to get wet ! I was abit apprehensive due to the fact it was full (21 people including us) and was hoping not to take part in the "longest wait in the country" ! For starters when i went to bedford there must have been 40 riders in one session, that is a long wait. The queue was never more than 10 minutes and we got loads of goes.

The staff were all great and very helpful. Some of them were fairly young, however they were extremely knowledgeable and very advanced riders. They briefed us all on how to get round on a kneeboard and all the safety issues involved. Then we did it for real. After we got to grips with kneeboarding the staff taught us how to all how to wakeboard. I was surprised how easy they made it for us and the cable was great.

We had an amazing day out and i would recommend it to anyone :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank extremesporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

The staff were frendly and very helpful - beyond the call of duty actually, but.........,

The rooms are tired and dated, very much in need of refurbishment and vastly overpriced at £59 per night.

It was like staying in a University Hall of Residence - in 1975........,

Food was dire. Seemed to be made with the cheapest of ingredients. It is difficult to make pasta inedible - but somehow they managed it!

Need to reduce prices or invest in the place!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pentlandfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Pierrepont
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
2.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#20 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hylands Hotel
Hylands Hotel
#32 of 54 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite

Property: National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite
Address: National Water Sports Centre Adbolton Lane | National Water Sports Centre, Holme Pierrepont, Nottingham NG12 2LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Holme Pierrepont
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Pierrepont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you choose to stay at Holme Pierrepont Country Park, you are choosing to stay at one of the UK's most unique and inspiring venues. No matter what your reason is for visiting Nottingham, we have a range of accommodation to suit everyone's needs: Lakeside accommodation - located in our main Lakeside building, our 54 en-suite bedroom accommodation offers the perfect comfortable night away from home. The Elms - A self-contained cottage which sleeps 11, The Elms enjoys views of the lake and country park and is perfect for groups looking to stay with us. Campsite - our 18 acre campsite welcomes vans, tents and campers and is a fantastic destination from which to explore Nottinghamshire. Camping Arches - want the camping experience without the hassle of putting a tent up? Then our camping arches will be perfect for you! The arches are unique insulated wooden huts that provide warm and cosy accommodation, perfect for a weekend away. Tipis - NEW for 2016! For anyone wanting a more 'glamping' camping experience, each tipi four people and contains four beds and electricity; all you need to bring with you is bedding (sleeping bag/ duvet/ pillows) and your other camping essentials such as a torch/ light, warm clothes and camping chairs to name a few! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Water Sports Centre Hotel Holme Pierrepont
National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite Nottingham/Holme Pierrepont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing