We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campsite poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We came for the triathlon weekend with friends. The pitch layout to this campsite is very good from there it goes down hill the toilet block is filthy even after they have been shut for one hour while cleaning, water pressure very low so showers rubbish the gravel between pitches is a mixture of grit and glass and to top the weekend of our friends had two bikes stolen.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank cari b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWSC_Nottingham, Marketing Executive at National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi Cari,

We're really sorry to hear you didn't have a very good experience at our campsite, we have passed your comments on to the relevant people on site and will work hard to ensure similar problems don't occur again. The Police are working hard across Nottingham at the moment to clamp down on bike theft and we are working closely with them to ensure we are doing everything we can to prevent this from happenning.

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, and once again our apologies.

Holme Pierrepont Country Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

So i recently stayed here for an event. The rooms in the centre had advanced from the original 80's decor and the beds were much better. The showers were much better as well. The room i stayed in had no desk but that wasn't a massive issue. The wifi strength barely reached the room i was staying in.

Then there was the canteen. They had taken away the salad bar. boooo and also you couldn't get any on tap beer or beer of any kind. Whilst the new catering facilities may look nicer they certainly aren't an improvement and if not improved they will lose out business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goose5878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWSC_Nottingham, Marketing Executive at National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - we're glad you think the rooms have improved following on from our refurbishment. We are in the process of still finishing our catering and bar facilities so at the minute we are unfortunately unable to offer our full catering service. Apologies for any inconvenience this caused. Our salad bar will be back though, as will the bar - we hope to have this all up and running shortly.

Many thanks, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Firstly I'd like to commend the campsite staff, who were very efficient and friendly when we arrived. Our camping pitch itself was perfect, even surface and clean of rubbish.

The toilet and shower block were dirty, dated and worn although functional cannot be scored highly. The toilet/shower block was the hang out for the 'feral' holidaying kids which was unpleasant and noisy - which was a shame, as there was a playground and grassy area adjacent to the block which could have been used.

All of the rubbish bins were overflowing with rubbish spilling out. On the whole the campsite itself is okay - it's just the facilities which need attention - if not a total refurbishment - then a blooming good clean!!

Wouldn't rush back to this site!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrssjc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Where to start. The food. It is awful DO NOT EAT HERE, GO TO THE LOCAL SUPERMARKET. The rooms. The rooms are falling apart. The back panel off the wardrobe is lying loose in the middle of theWhere to start. The food. It is awful DO NOT EAT HERE, GO TO THE LOCAL SUPERMARKET. The rooms. Some are ok at the best the rest are tiny and for two people there is one wardrobe one bunk bed and a sink! Leaving you barely any space to stand.The rooms are falling apart. The back panel off the wardrobe is lying loose in the middle of the room the cables that power all of the rooms are loose in the rooms. The rooms are filthy. Some rooms have on-suits but if you don't have an on-suit you have to use the community loos in the corridor and cannot wash your hands until back in your own room. My friends room has a leak and nobody can come and see it until tomorrow as there is no maintenance. If you are near the stairs every time somebody goes up or down you hear them. There is no sound proofing between rooms so you hear everything the people in the next room say.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalR93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I have stayed here on many occasions when attending canoeing regattas. I always seem to get the same room, in April this year I reported that the toilet seat was broken, it was still the same in May, June & July. The paintwork in the room is disgusting and badly needs an update. The bed was so uncomfortable that I was unable to get a full nights sleep (mattress too thin) The only saving grace was the breakfast which was wholesome.

Room Tip: I dont think they have any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I went White Water Rafting as part of a group of 14 last July and we all had a great time. The staff were excellent, friendly, fun and profesional throughout the day. We were split into two rafts and had loads of laughs, you WILL get wet!
One of the groups had a couple of poor swimmers in it and they spent as much time in the water as they did in the raft, but they absolutley loved it!
We all felt that the day was outstanding value and can't wait to go again.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank gavd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I went to the Nottingham Cable last week for a day out with my friends, trying out somewhere different to the cables in Bedford and Milton Keynes we had been to a couple of times previously. I had seen the other review saying how disappointing it was which did make me feel somewhat worried. However after my day there i saw how wrong they were.

When we got there we booked in at the reception, the receptionist was very helpful, and wegot changed into the kit provided. The wetsuits kept us warm and the buoyancy aids were the real deal.

Then we were taking down to the cable to get wet ! I was abit apprehensive due to the fact it was full (21 people including us) and was hoping not to take part in the "longest wait in the country" ! For starters when i went to bedford there must have been 40 riders in one session, that is a long wait. The queue was never more than 10 minutes and we got loads of goes.

The staff were all great and very helpful. Some of them were fairly young, however they were extremely knowledgeable and very advanced riders. They briefed us all on how to get round on a kneeboard and all the safety issues involved. Then we did it for real. After we got to grips with kneeboarding the staff taught us how to all how to wakeboard. I was surprised how easy they made it for us and the cable was great.

We had an amazing day out and i would recommend it to anyone :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank extremesporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Pierrepont
0.7 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#9 of 41 in Nottingham
732 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beeches Hotel & Leisure Club
Beeches Hotel & Leisure Club
#1 of 2 in West Bridgford
348 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,609 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
#1 of 1 in North Muskham
156 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Bingham Townhouse
The Bingham Townhouse
#1 of 1 in Bingham
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite

Address: Adbolton Lane, Holme Pierrepont NG12 2LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Holme Pierrepont
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Pierrepont
Price Range: £40 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you choose to stay at Holme Pierrepont Country Park, you are choosing to stay at one of the UK's most unique and inspiring venues. No matter what your reason is for visiting Nottingham, we have a range of accommodation to suit everyone's needs: Lakeside accommodation - located in our main Lakeside building, our 54 en-suite bedroom accommodation offers the perfect comfortable night away from home. The Elms - A self-contained cottage which sleeps 11, The Elms enjoys views of the lake and country park and is perfect for groups looking to stay with us. Campsite - our 18 acre campsite welcomes vans, tents and campers and is a fantastic destination from which to explore Nottinghamshire. Camping Arches - want the camping experience without the hassle of putting a tent up? Then our camping arches will be perfect for you! The arches are unique insulated wooden huts that provide warm and cosy accommodation, perfect for a weekend away. Tipis - NEW for 2016! For anyone wanting a more 'glamping' camping experience, each tipi four people and contains four beds and electricity; all you need to bring with you is bedding (sleeping bag/ duvet/ pillows) and your other camping essentials such as a torch/ light, warm clothes and camping chairs to name a few! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Water Sports Centre Hotel Holme Pierrepont
National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite Nottingham/Holme Pierrepont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing