We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great relaxed place”

The Sail Loft Suite
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Landrake
Restaurant details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a great relaxed place”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Moored at Dandy Hole and arrived by dinghy, route well marked in the river Lynher to Boating World where you will find the Sail Loft.
Great relaxed atmosphere and drinks moderately priced. As a group we sampled the Teignmouth mussels and garlic mushrooms, which were delicious. Bread and butter pudding was homemade and ample portions which really hit the spot.
We would say that there was something for everyone, bar area, restaurant, nice comfy sofas to chill out, duke box, pool table and great outside area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank pepe0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at The Sail Loft Suite, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Hi pepe,

Thanks for your great review, and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Sail Loft.

We're working very hard at the moment to not only maintain the standard already set, but to make the Sail Loft even better for our customers to enjoy, so I look forward to your feedback in the future!

All the best,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,279 helpful votes
“In a state of benign flux.”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Lots of mixed messages here. It is quite a place to get to. Take the St Erny turning off the square in Landrake. Look out carefully for any little signs confirming the right route to the boat yard. A long winding mostly single track road down about a mile to a ramshackle run down entrance to the yard. Park in a space near a quarry on the right and stroll without aid of notices into the unregimented yard, past the friendly little Cuddy Shack snack hut, until about 50 yards further in you see the office building with some steel stairs. Best approached at the far end where there is a part covered part open drinking enclosure, slightly reminiscent of a surfer beach. Upstairs in the main building is a smallish room with a kind of bar with a few tables and chairs and popular beers and lagers. Beyond that inside is a darkish room set up for eating and possibly parties. It all looks as if if the builders and decorators are in big time, tweaking and hacking about, changing the office or conference space to double as a bar cafe. There is a strong air of 'do it whenever we have a bit of cash'. Perhaps the best place for an evening drink would be on the landing at the top of the outside stair from which you can see across the upper boat storage yard to the river Lynher and the railway viaduct. The Sail Loft is only open weekends but from lunch till late and there seems to be a fair range of food throughout.

Not really sure who comes down here. You feel as though you are slightly intruding, almost trespassing in the boat yard. Can't pick up any passing trade. Very little promotion except through the boatyard wen site and now on here, but this would be more effective if it were listed under Saltash rather than Landrake. Any night or lunch spent here, at least for the time being, will not yet be like a conventional restaurant or cafe/bar. It is not like a country pub or a yacht or sailing club. But, the people we met, particularly the chef/cook were very welcoming and upbeat. We actually liked it, even in it's messy evolution. We will definitely come down again while the weather is still warm and give the food and setting a proper go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank PlongeurV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at The Sail Loft Suite, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Hi PlongeurV,

Thank you for visiting our bar, and for your positive review.

You're quite right about us undergoing changes at the moment, as we were originally set up as a conference and training centre, with the facility for clients to enjoy a few drinks and a bite to eat after training sessions. However, pretty soon after opening, we realised that our customers wanted a comfortable place to relax and over a pint, along with some really good food rather than just typical bar food.

As a result we began offering steaks and local seafood, particularly our fabulous Teignmouth mussels, which seemed to fill a gap in the market.

So we're working very hard at the moment to make the place more comfortable for an evening's meal, whilst still allowing us to go into "bar mode" later in the night if our customers fancy it.

At the same time we're starting to promote more widely, now we are more settled about who and what we are!

So, yes, we're certainly in a state of benign flux, and we'll do our best to make sure that we finish our transition quickly and smoothly so that you'll be able to enjoy a great place to eat next time you visit!

Best regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Started off promising....................”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Visiting friends back in July, they told us about the new restaurant, so all 4 of us decided to give it a try. All I can say was amazing quality food, although the presentation left a lot to be desired, but the taste was excellent, and the produce tasted lovely and fresh. The meat melted in your mouth. The following week, we decided to visit again, this time they had changed it to a carvery, which in our view made it thousands times better as it meant we could fill up on the fresh veg, and enjoy a bit of every meat, which was so tender and juicy, and at £5 a head, we felt we couldn't go wrong. However, we went back down a couple of weeks ago, and to our shock, they had increased the prices to £7.50 a head. Now, while we did not mind too much paying this, as our experience of the food prior had been amazing, we were displeased to find that the veg tasted like pre prepared/ boil in the bag/frozen food, and the meat was no longer tender and a bit chewy, as if it was prepared days in advance and reheated. We were very disappointed, and would not be returning for a meal again. The drinks are very reasonably priced, beating most pubs prices that we visited. The atmosphere was uncomfortable. Had a 'local bar for local people' feel to it, and felt awkward walking in, as it was almost like the room stopped to look at us. Most of the staff are friendly. The young lad behind the bar was very attentive and friendly, which did put us at ease a little, and made sure he acknowledged us if he was busy with something else. All in all, for a drink, I would return, for a meal.............not again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Geraldine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at The Sail Loft Suite, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
"Hi Geraldine,

Thank you for visiting the Sail Loft, and for taking the time to post a review about us.

We're very disappointed that you had a bad experience the last time you visited, and
wish you had mentioned it to a member of staff on the day. We would have taken
your concerns very seriously and done what we could to remedy them and improve
your visit.

We welcome feedback and take the quality of our food and service very seriously
and believe that we act upon valid points and suggestions from customers in order to
continually improve their experience when visiting us.

We had to increase the price of the carvery from £5 to £7.50 for economic reasons
believing that a price increase was preferable to lowering the standards of our
ingredients. We believe that £7.50 for a carvery is still one of the best value Sunday
lunches in the area.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your early experiences of our plated roast dinner
and we thank you for your honest feedback. Our ingredients are all fresh from local
suppliers with the exception of using frozen peas and sweetcorn. Our potatoes are also
fresh but we do receive them pre-peeled from our supplier.

Our meats are cooked that morning, and lifted from the oven to rest twenty minutes
prior to service. Our veg is cooked and seasoned prior to the first customers arriving.
We spend a lot of time, effort and money ensuring the quality of our food, and we test
each element prior to service, ensuring that our meat is tender and perfectly cooked,
that the veg have a bit of crunch left, and that the seasoning is spot on.

It does appear that on your last visit that this standard seems
to have slipped and I can only apologise for your disappointing experience.

Unfortunately food safety regulations require that carvery meats are maintained at above 63 degrees centigrade for the duration of a carvery service, and towards the end of this time the quality can suffer as a result of this continued low level cooking process.

This is, however, a reason and not an excuse, and we will implement a new system to ensure that customers arriving at any point during the carvery service receive juicy, fresh from the oven, meats by the weekend.

I'm very pleased that you were impressed with our barman, and I'll pass on your
positive feedback tomorrow. Thank you for that.

It's a shame that you won't return for a meal after one bad experience, particularly
since we weren't alerted on the day and given an opportunity to make things right.
If you do return and feel able to give us a fourth chance - as it was just the third visit
which disappointed you - I would recommend the evening restaurant menu, packed
with superb fresh seafood and great steaks...

In any case, thank you for the feedback, and best wishes in the future. We shall take action to improve our service in light of your comments, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
385 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,323 helpful votes
“Newish, hidden and finding it's feet.”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We came down at the weekend. Some friends use the yard and were suggesting we brought the boat round. Historically we have had tidal problems with our keel when trying to come alongside at out the way food and booze places and thought we'd try to see if the venue looked as if it would be fun if we brought a crew of family and boisterous crew. Came in as a couple and felt a bit like we didn't fit in. Obviously there are some changes being made to what looks to have been built as a conference centre. The beer was OK, average prices, the food fairly predictable but well presented. Not cheap but not over the top prices. We thought the place could be more relaxed and fun. Our friends told us that some weekends or on busy summer days there can be a fair number of boat users. I think it needs more people to bring it too life. Our favourite round here is the Rod and Line at Tideford but its becoming a bit of a cult place and despite their laid back flexibility we have twice failed to get a table space. We would probably come to the Sail Loft as a fall back option. It is certainly a prettier setting for a drink outside. The bar staff told us that the Sail Loft is working on making itself more like a bar restaurant and getting the punters in. We will be back, weather and tides permitting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DougalM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at The Sail Loft Suite, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Hi Dougal,

Thanks for your kind review of the Sail Loft, and especially for coming to visit us at the weekend.

You're spot on about originally being a training and conference centre, but once opened people began to use it as a bar... then we introduced food and people wanted more variety and more seafood, so that side started to grow as well. As you say, we are finding our feet, but each weekend is a little better than the preceding one.

It's a shame that you felt a little out of place, as we pride ourselves on being a friendly and welcoming bunch. If you'd been there after the carvery on Sunday there was a spontaneous pool competition involving most of the guests, and most evenings usually degenerate into slightly tipsy Jenga grudge matches.

Bit by bit we're cementing our identity, and making all aspects of our service a little better each weekend. Try us in a month or so to see how you feel after we've finished "de-conferencing" the place, and finalised an exciting and tasty Autumn menu!

All the best,

Brian. (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
2,531 reviews
1,571 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6,622 helpful votes
“Difficult to pitch it. Not a bad place.”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have a lot of local friends so come over this way quite often. Came down here once. It's a bit off the A38 but not too far south of Landrake. See the restaurant web site to get a fairly food feel for the earnestness and ambitions of the place. It was clean, tidy, not very busy or convivial but they were making an effort. Didn't warm to the boat yard site. OK views. The food is more expensive than we would routinely expect to pay but the meals were well turned out. We thought it was a bit better than the food at the pub in Landrake and certainly more relaxed and easy going than the fraught place at Notter Bridge but not yet on a par with the fish cooking at the pub in Tideford. If we are down here again soon we shall come in a group to try the Sail Loft Suite one weekend lunchtime. If it was my business, I would change the name, which has a tinge of suburban marina maisonette about it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at The Sail Loft Suite, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Hi Jannerbloke,

Thanks for your encouraging review of the Sail Loft, and I've taken on board many of the points you've made.

We did have an initial identity crisis as it was originally a multi-purpose venue, suitable for training sessions as well as an evening bar. However, we've gradually walked further down the bar restaurant route, and we're redressing the place appropriately. We should look like a different beast in a few weeks time, and it would be great if you'd come again to see the changes.

In terms of our food, we try to keep prices as low as possible, but we don't use preprocessed or frozen foods - everything's fresh and cooked to order. Unfortunately this costs a little more, but the results are much better and every meal has a more character as a result. If you like seafood, I'd recommend our scallops on Stornoway black pudding - it's a hugely popular dish. Beyond that, our Teignmouth estuary mussels are fat and juicy, and considerably bigger than any of the rope grown ones we've tried, so they're great value for money as well as being super-tasty!

I hope you come again, and bear in mind that we're available any day of the week for private parties - if you have a group of 8 or more wanting to come, we'll open up for you. Just call us in advance to discuss your needs, and we'll sort something out for you.

All the best,

Brian (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Sail Loft Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing