We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday Carvery Lunch - Special Treat - No Washing-up!”

The Sail Loft Suite
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Landrake
Restaurant details
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Carvery Lunch - Special Treat - No Washing-up!”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We treated ourselves twice in November to Sunday Lunch at the Sail Loft Suite and enjoyed both visits immensely. A lovely roast meal, fresh homestyle cooking without the work! One of the Sundays, the usual chef was off sick and one of her assistants took over and produced a super meal, so compliments to the whole team! It is great to have a day off cooking and still have a home cooked meal, with fresh meat and vegetables in a friendly place. We are having a birthday meal for our son one Sunday in December, so we look forward to that too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food in unique location”
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Sunday carvery choice of 3 meats all delicious! Vegetables all fresh and very nice. lovely friendly staf, would definately recommend. The only negative is it does lack a bit of atmosphere as was once a conference suite but dont let it stop you the food and staff are really nice. we all enjoyed it and will return soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen100170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Venue for a Special Occasion!”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I booked the Sail Loft Suite for my Mother's 90th Birthday Meal on the 13th October, for 16 adults and 1 child and it was a huge success!
For various reasons it was arranged only a week before the event, but everyone at Boating World, from the owners, to the chef, her assistant & all the staff were so helpful, it just could not have been arranged better. The menu was agreed with the new chef, Mandy, the week before; a Roast Beef Carvery with fresh vegetables and at my request, especially for my Dad of 91, Apple Crumble and Custard for Dessert, with Profiteroles as an alternative. The chef was so cooperative and nothing was too much trouble for her; even a day or two before, when I asked specifically for Roast Parsnips to be added.
We were given a room to ourselves and on the morning of the event, it was a hive of activity, with all hands on deck to arrange and lay tables and decorate the room, everyone was so helpful, with even the chef and her assistant arranging fresh flowers and blowing up balloons, then working hard preparing the vegetables and cooking the meat in the kitchen.
All we had to do then, was to arrive at the arranged time of 4.30pm, there was nothing else for me to do...Wonderful! It was a surprise for my Mum, with family members coming from as far away as Kent. They were all pleased with the venue and some interested in the boatyard too.
The meal was really good, delicious! Everyone enjoyed it and my Mum was overwhelmed by it all. She has remarked several times on how friendly everyone was and said "They were all so kind and I didn't even know them"! She was even given a bouquet of flowers and a card from all the staff of the Sail Loft Suite.
It was a quiet occasion, as at 90, you dont get too excited, but just perfect in every way, for an enjoyable time, no worries, a perfect choice!!
I would not hesitate to recommend it for any occasion. It seems they can accommodate any type of party, from buffets to special meals; for young people, more lively, and for old folk, a quieter event, they totally cooperate and comply with all your needs, it's a great place, excellent choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a great relaxed place”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Moored at Dandy Hole and arrived by dinghy, route well marked in the river Lynher to Boating World where you will find the Sail Loft.
Great relaxed atmosphere and drinks moderately priced. As a group we sampled the Teignmouth mussels and garlic mushrooms, which were delicious. Bread and butter pudding was homemade and ample portions which really hit the spot.
We would say that there was something for everyone, bar area, restaurant, nice comfy sofas to chill out, duke box, pool table and great outside area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank pepe0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at The Sail Loft Suite, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Hi pepe,

Thanks for your great review, and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Sail Loft.

We're working very hard at the moment to not only maintain the standard already set, but to make the Sail Loft even better for our customers to enjoy, so I look forward to your feedback in the future!

All the best,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,279 helpful votes
“In a state of benign flux.”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Lots of mixed messages here. It is quite a place to get to. Take the St Erny turning off the square in Landrake. Look out carefully for any little signs confirming the right route to the boat yard. A long winding mostly single track road down about a mile to a ramshackle run down entrance to the yard. Park in a space near a quarry on the right and stroll without aid of notices into the unregimented yard, past the friendly little Cuddy Shack snack hut, until about 50 yards further in you see the office building with some steel stairs. Best approached at the far end where there is a part covered part open drinking enclosure, slightly reminiscent of a surfer beach. Upstairs in the main building is a smallish room with a kind of bar with a few tables and chairs and popular beers and lagers. Beyond that inside is a darkish room set up for eating and possibly parties. It all looks as if if the builders and decorators are in big time, tweaking and hacking about, changing the office or conference space to double as a bar cafe. There is a strong air of 'do it whenever we have a bit of cash'. Perhaps the best place for an evening drink would be on the landing at the top of the outside stair from which you can see across the upper boat storage yard to the river Lynher and the railway viaduct. The Sail Loft is only open weekends but from lunch till late and there seems to be a fair range of food throughout.

Not really sure who comes down here. You feel as though you are slightly intruding, almost trespassing in the boat yard. Can't pick up any passing trade. Very little promotion except through the boatyard wen site and now on here, but this would be more effective if it were listed under Saltash rather than Landrake. Any night or lunch spent here, at least for the time being, will not yet be like a conventional restaurant or cafe/bar. It is not like a country pub or a yacht or sailing club. But, the people we met, particularly the chef/cook were very welcoming and upbeat. We actually liked it, even in it's messy evolution. We will definitely come down again while the weather is still warm and give the food and setting a proper go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank PlongeurV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at The Sail Loft Suite, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Hi PlongeurV,

Thank you for visiting our bar, and for your positive review.

You're quite right about us undergoing changes at the moment, as we were originally set up as a conference and training centre, with the facility for clients to enjoy a few drinks and a bite to eat after training sessions. However, pretty soon after opening, we realised that our customers wanted a comfortable place to relax and over a pint, along with some really good food rather than just typical bar food.

As a result we began offering steaks and local seafood, particularly our fabulous Teignmouth mussels, which seemed to fill a gap in the market.

So we're working very hard at the moment to make the place more comfortable for an evening's meal, whilst still allowing us to go into "bar mode" later in the night if our customers fancy it.

At the same time we're starting to promote more widely, now we are more settled about who and what we are!

So, yes, we're certainly in a state of benign flux, and we'll do our best to make sure that we finish our transition quickly and smoothly so that you'll be able to enjoy a great place to eat next time you visit!

Best regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Sail Loft Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing