We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Kudat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kudat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kudat
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in Kudat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We are here after we visit Tip Of Borneo .For me this is the best hotel in Kudat near to all the shop and store .Easy to find foods by walking distance .The room is clean .We took one family room with two room and all the facility .They don't accept any email booking .We called and book and need to re confirm on the same day to make sure we are arriving .

Nothing much in Kudat but people here is friendly and helpful

Have a nice rest here for one night

Thanks

Yin Yin

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank teeyinyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here over the weekend. The staff were more than helpful in making sure our stay is all well. We booked a suite which sleeps 4. It was clean and spacious. Coffee making facilities are available (no tea bags though!). There are two rooms (twin beds and a king sized bed) which are very comfortable. There is a TV in the living room which airs several channels in the local language and English. WiFi is available although reception is strongest in the living room (Poor reception in the bedrooms). Air conditioning units worked well however the one in the living room does not seem to cool the room well enough.

There are two bathrooms in the suite. Both hot and cold water are available. We were surprised that there is a Jacuzzi tub and a shower massage panel in the bathrooms! I enjoyed using the Jacuzzi tub especially after spending the entire day sight-seeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahajanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for several months while in Kudat on business. The staff were excellent and became like family. The hotel was very well managed and responsive to our needs, cleaning was always prompt and well done. As noted the desk staff were great and Mr. Soon the owner engaging. The cafe was convenient and inexpensive with a good " western breakfast combo" Nice views and balconies and just a hotel not part of a commercial block - elevator too. Rooms fine if not luxurious. WiFi free and usually good with occasional glitches.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zamboanguita, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a wonderful hotel, great rooms, good location and most importantly 5 star service! We choose to stay at RIAHOTEL several times over HOLIDAYS and the friendly nature of the staff is the reason why I will always come back.we stayed at DELUXE room with king size bed,very comfortable,.Great breakfast,just step closer to the nextdoor,good wiater & with smiling faces and also to the receptionist very friendly & easy to communicate,a big thank you to MARIA,TIKA & who was a perfect host. Can't wait to come back see you soon KUDAT place..

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haikal_Bench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Comfortable stay. Stayed with my 2 aunts so we had a corner room with a fold out bed. Nice views from the windows and balcony. Had to ask for a bed sheet as the spare bed was being made up upon arrival and the staff rushed out to let us relax in the room.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank PL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a weekend trip up to kudat from kk. It was a last minute trip and the other hotel was fully booked. There were 3 of us, so we took the family suite.

The good:
It was better than expected. They may have updated the room a bit as the air conditioning units looked new-ish. Rooms and toilet felt clean. We had a good night's rest on comfortable beds.
After checking out, we had breakfast at the cafe next door and the food was not bad. LOVED the egg tarts.
Location was good for our purpose as we wanted to have dinner in town. If we had stayed near the tip of borneo, it would have been a long way out to town for dinner.

The not-so-good:
I think we may have been on the smoking floor as there was a bad smoky smell in the corridor. The rooms were ok though. There's also not much of a view, but as we were just there for a night, it was alright.

Will be staying here again if we ever come up for the weekend. We've stayed at the other kudat hotel before but think this is more comfortable. Will definitely come back for the egg tarts!!!! Hope they'll still be as good the next time!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RL_YL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

If you find yourself staying in Kudat overnight I can only say this is the best option its a bit basic but rooms are clean with air con if wanted the staff if chatted to can be quite helpful it is near to the night market for food but the language barrier up here can be a problem but is overcome with a bit of perserverance the coffee shop next door does your breakfast and has picture boards to help out but going to the small hot servery can bring some hidden delights.
The Harbour hotel down by the port looks like it may rent rooms by the hour

Room Tip: ask to see the room some have a balcolny to have a ciggy plus good views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timberaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kudat hotels
0.8 mi away
Kudat Golf and Marina Resort
12.4 mi away
Tommy's Place, Tip of Borneo
5.8 mi away
North Borneo Biostation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morning Glory
Hotel Morning Glory
#6 of 11 in Kudat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
11.0 mi away
Serendipity Villa
Serendipity Villa
#6 of 7 in Kudat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Hotel

Property: Ria Hotel
Address: Jalan Marudu lot.n 3, Kudat, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kudat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kudat
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Ria Hotel Kudat, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing