We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Stopover Experience”
Review of Rungus Longhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kudat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rungus Longhouse
Ranked #3 of 11 Kudat B&B and Inns
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A Stopover Experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

As it was part of the whole package in visiting Tip of Borneo in Kudat, we didn't manage to put up for a night or two over at the Rungus Longhouse. While on the way back from Kudat, we had our traditionally cooked local cuisine for lunch here which is surprisingly not only good, but healthy! Now you know why the Sabahans are so fit.

We only had the opportunity to view the interior portions of the Rungus Longhouse which was constructed with bamboos all over. An interesting feel to be inside one as I've never been in one prior to this. There were ten rooms attached side by side with a large common area just outside of the rooms and a communal bathroom leading out from the longhouse. After having some photos taken, we decided to get some souvenirs from a makeshift booth inside the house itself. These are all made from beads and chained together to make a fascinating beautiful decor.

One thing's for sure, with that little time given to you, you would certainly be able to still experience the cooling breeze flowing through the strategically built longhouse, the common area shared by the villagers in resting and as well as the common grounds surrounding the longhouse.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Syme0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and enjoyed it - definitely an experience! Your stay is in a traditional longhouse - very basic facilities as explained by other reviewers - communal shower and toilet facilities and small rooms with two matresses and mosquito nets. One electric light in the room so a torch is a good idea for night trips to the loo. We were the only guests staying but were still presented with some cultural evening entertainment and good local food.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveBadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Other reviewers have commented on the structure of the longhouse, so I won't repeat it. I enjoyed staying in it for one night, because of the experience and the ability to learn about the Rungus people and their customs. The rooms with the mattresses and mosquito nets were very basic indeed, with lots of natural ventilation, but I expected that. It did get a bit cool in the night, and I had to get my towel to use as a blanket, as there were no top sheets or blankets provided . If you have an issue with insects, you might think twice about staying here, but it didn't bother me. I actually had a good night's sleep here. My two friends, however, did not and were more than happy to leave.

The shower and toilet block is separate, which means a walk outside if you need to use the facilities in the night, which I did. Make sure you have insect repellent on if you do. The showers were cold while we were there. I found it quite refreshing in the humidity. My friends were less impressed.

The cultural show in the evening was interesting, but we did not have any real interaction with the performers, as others have mentioned they did. We felt that it was as if they were just going through the motions for us, and weren't particularly enthusiastic. Mind you, there were only the three of us and a family of four staying there that night.

The food we ate was all locally grown or sourced and simply prepared. We didn't go hungry. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all pretty much the same fare.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnInquiringMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We took a tour by Borneo Footprints to the Rungus Longhouse and Tip of Borneo in August. It was all very intersting and the Rungus people are very good hosts and can't do enough for you. The Longhouse itself is of the original type on high stilts and slatted bamboo flooring. This works very well to keep it cool. They put on a culteral show in the evening for entertainment and the performers all came to talk about it at the end. The lady that played the nose -flute was particularly intersting as she was old enough to remember the old ways. The kids who put on an excellent performance were doing what they had been trained to do by their grandparents rather than doing something that was still occuring regulary but were nevertheless very good. The food was traditional though and very different from anything we had elsewhere in Borneo. If you can get to go with Walter from Borneo Footprint tours you should. He is extremely informative and makes evrything come alive.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same. They have thin bark walls was occational gaps so don't expect isolat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed one night at the Bavanggazo guest house, which is built in the traditional style using bamboo. Access is very easy and although popular with tour groups, that night we were the only visitors and had the 15 door longhouse to ourselves. The room was charming with a sleeping platform, mattresses, mosquito nets. Shared bathrooms were basic but did have flush toilets and hot water showers. We were welcomed with fresh coconuts and dinner was a selection of many tasty local dishes with rice. The evening entertainment was a demonstration of singing, dancing and games which we were encouraged to join in. Followed by conversation with the village host and guide and lots of rice wine. After a good night's sleep, there was a hearty breakfast, time to explore the surroundings and the opportunity to buy bead necklaces and other handicrafts produced in the village.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmsc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Stayed one night at the Rungus Longhouse as part of our tour of Sabah, Borneo. This was a cultural experience of life as the locals live, or rather used to live (modern longhouses are made of more substantial materials and were seen with satellite TV dishes). The Rungus Longhouse we stayed was made entirely of Bamboo and all the bedrooms are along a long corridor, with just a bamboo curtain ( with holes) between the rooms (see pictures). Of course every noise of your neighbours can be heard. I guess this Longhouse exists purely for tourists. There is a communal washing area with cold showers, outside wash basins with cold taps only and flush toilets. The beds comprised two mattresses, about 3 inches / 7 cm thick on the bamboo floor, with a base sheet only, a thin pillow and 2 mosquito nets, which were needed. The was and electric light bulb. The bedroom door could not be locked. One had to be careful not to drop anything because if you did, and it was small, it would no doubt go through the gaps in the floor to the space under the Longhouse which traditionally is for the animals.
The food was chinese style comprising rice, fish, chicken and vegatbles and very tasty. Beer and rice wine were available but indulging too much would have no doubt meant getting up too often in the night and disburbing one's neighbours. After dinner we were entertained to local music and dancing. The publicity said you wake up in the morning to the early sounds of the jungle but for me, my wife had to wake me up at 9 o'clock to continue the tour, so the experience couldn't have been too bad.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaseyGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kudat
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#35 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
North Borneo Biostation
0.0 mi away
Bilit Adventure Lodge
Bilit Adventure Lodge
#10 of 29 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kudat Golf and Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rungus Longhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rungus Longhouse

Property: Rungus Longhouse
Address: Kudat, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kudat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kudat
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Rungus Longhouse Kudat, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing