We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beach Life”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kudat, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Randomhab...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach Life”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic accommodation and location. We were really taken care of for our stay at this remote hideaway. We appreciated the eco-friendly approach to tiffin take away boxes (delivered from local restaurants) and a large water dispensers than single use plastic bottles. The local staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

The accommodation was great with beautiful sunsets, an idyllic sandy beach with great snorkelling.

Highly recommended! We enjoyed it so much we returned at the end of our holiday for another few nights.

The clifftop beach retreat is located right on the edge of the beach, beautiful sunsets and really well set up. We only could stay here for one night as it was booked up and I can see why.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks for your review and what a shame you were only able to stay with us for 1 night. Hopefully you can return in the future for longer. We continue to look at new ways to help reduce our environmental footprint and it's great that you appreciate our efforts so far! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVid H
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private clifftop chalet for ramantic getaway”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Awesome clifftop chalet with beautiful beach right at your doorstep. Perfect off-grid stay for romantic getaway. We had the entire beach for ourselves. Amazing sunset. The caretakers are super thoughtful and friendly. My wife and I had a wonderful time there and will definitely recommend friends to come.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Hi David, many thanks for your review and thanks in advance for your recommendations to friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzll
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise indeed!”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Everything that was said here is true. It is indeed a paradise on earth. We fell in love with the place the very moment we arrived. The seclusion, the quietness, the sound of the wave, the starry sky, the white sandy beach ... The chalet is not exactly luxurious but who needs it when you have the best of the nature? Anyway, we were well taken care of too. We'll be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte...
Chur, Graubunden, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Little paradise found!”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were staying 7 nights in the clifftop and three nights in the treetops chalet, and we had a wonderful time! The secluded beach, clear water, riff just a couple of meters away from shore and the splendid view on the sea and sunset are unique! We have seen many nice places all aroun the world but this was something special. We also liked the chalets: rustic but comfy, we found everything we needed there. Jetol, the general manager, went out of his way to make us feel at home. He is a very gentle and kind guy and beside a top service, he gave us some quite interesting information about the area, culture, Rungus tribe, etc.
When returning to Borneo, we will definitively consider a trip to Hibiscus in the future and can highly recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
I'm really pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and most certainly hope you will visit us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashalina
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Romantic Hideaway at the Tip of Borneo”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a one night stay in Treetops as a family of four. It was the most beautiful jungle setting with sea views and sounds. No wifi is a blessing and meant we could really relax. Board games, books and plenty of films are provided. Treetops is not designed to be child friendly but we managed with our four and two year old for one night. The accommodation comes with a small bathroom (shower only) and a small kitchen. A breakfast of cereal, fruit, toast and jams is provided which was delicious and such a treat to be able to eat it on the balcony amongst the trees and the roar of the sea as our background music. This is a very special place and we would love to explore this area more and make the most of the kayaks, paddleboards and mountain bikes that are available to hire - next time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate in Luxury Relaxation”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perched directly above the beach with some 100m of jungle between it and the nearest road, staying at the Hibiscus Beach Retreat feels like you're on your own private island. In this part of Sabah the sea is pristine and warm, and we spent the days alternating between the water and the deck chairs at the cabin, allowing relaxation to take precedence over the more energetic kayaking and longboarding that the Beach Retreat offers.

"Luxury" is a term used generously in Malaysia, but the Hibiscus Beach Retreat definitely deserves this adjective. The comfort and cleanliness of the bed and bathroom is better than any 5* hotel in Borneo, and the only neighbours are the retreat's discreet security guards.

Take meat for a sunset BBQ or order take out from the staff, and you never need to leave the oasis that is the Hibiscus Beach Retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVESydney...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply gorgeous ”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

With a breathtaking 180 degree view over the beach and ocean, it is impossible not to feel relaxed here. Not a single other building to be seen, and a perfect mix of comfort and rustic charm. Staff are very helpful and attentive. Great to walk along the beach to Secret Place Cafe. Less than 10 min drive to Tip of Borneo. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing