We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the map in north west Sabah”
Review of Lupa Masa Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kudat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lupa Masa Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Kudat B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent two nights at Roland's longhouse two weeks ago. It was a real pleasure to be his guest. Roland has a lovely longhouse available only a very small walk away from an stunning and pretty much private beach (as there was no one else). His family gave us a warm welcome and it was really nice to have breakfast, lunch and dinner with all of them. We were really off the map with no internet or cell phone access. If you want to relax, visit this place.

Roland, good luck with your building your sunrise/sunset camp on the hill and your bridge. We have lots of nice pictures to remember the good times.

Mark.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

My family and I had a great time at this homestay in Kudat. It was very comfortable to stay in the longhouse. We had our own partitioned area with mosquito nets and a mattress. We enjoyed visiting the beach and saw many critters- snakes and crabs and a giant clam! If you can, bring a snorkel and check out the reefs nearby. Amazing!

The food was incredible and the company lovely. Really enjoyed talking to Roland about the wildlife he sees around his place and how he set up the turtle sanctuary. No turtles when we were there, sadly. Hoping some come soon!

If you have the chance, ask the kids to take you to the island. You walk down the road a bit, go to a beautiful (albeit trash-filled...) beach where you can walk to an island. There are monkeys living there and coral reefs to explore. You can walk into the jungle on the island, although the path is not well developed.

Great experience! I recommend it to anyone who loves beaches, wlldlife, and learning about culture.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank emilicious56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The best experience in our 3 weeks in borneo was in this village- you stay in a traditional longhouse in the village and pretty much have the beach to yourself. Beautiful white sands, turquoise water, stunning sunsets- we couldn't believe we'd found such a gem! Roland who runs the longhouse is so welcoming and can tell you all abut their turtle hatchery program (money from guests staying here funds the project too). Would recommend this wonderful project to anyone visiting Borneo for a relaxing and culture-rich experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank orangeblossom87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shajtanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kudat
8.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
12.0 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
84.4 mi away
North Borneo Biostation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.9 mi away
Tommy's Place, Tip of Borneo
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
81.6 mi away
Kudat Golf and Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupa Masa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupa Masa Beach

Address: Jalan Pantai Jamal, Kudat 89050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kudat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kudat
Price Range: £12 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lupa Masa Beach is the natural compliment to Lupa Masa Jungle Camp. Working in a joint venture with a local village and community, Lupa Masa Beach offers a choice of home stay, traditional longhouse or camping experiences 5 mins from a deserted beach that turtles sometimes nest on. Income goes to the community and helps fund beach and coral clean ups and patrols and visitor infrastructure improvements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lupa Masa Beach Kudat, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing