We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CinCin bang Average”
Review of Cin Cin by the Sea

Cin Cin by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Prospect
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$80
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: cin cin [chin-chin] 1. a cheers or toast to good health. 2. a refreshingly contemporary, elegant new restaurant that offers 'alfresco dining' with sweeping views of the west coast of Barbados. A trendy new hot spot that features an air-conditioned lounge bar with an expansive glass wall allowing uninterrupted views across the water, serving quintessentially Mediterranean-style cuisine with a Caribbean twist.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CinCin bang Average”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Manicured, soulless and bland sum up the surroundings. Upon arrival we sat at the bar and had a cocktail, that was easily the highlight of the evening. Even though I booked well in advance we were presented with the worst table in the venue. We bit our lip but after a while it became aparent most people there were complaing about something. The menu was vanilla, the restaurant was understaffed and service was erratic, for example our mains and starters arrived withing 35 minutes of us being seated but dessert was a 40 minute wait, our wine also arrived with our mains and not before starter as i would expect. Dreadful value for money considering the choice on the island and its only surviving due to its "you have to go" reputation amoung tourists, you dont, there is a lot better around.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jvorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,122
    424
    209
    64
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not leave Barbados without having a meal here...”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My fiance and I spent the last night of our engagement trip to Barbados here and it was definitely our favorite restaurant on the island. We ate at the cliff as well, but the service, atmosphere and food were all better at Cin Cin. The view is breathtaking and the overall dining experience is amazing. You must make a reservation here if you are planning to visit Barbados anytime soon,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leigh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent, cool, contemporary”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This place is very cool. The live band were playing sleek modern tunes in the lounge area where we waited to be seated. Great cocktail menu. We had a lovely table out on the terrace. The waves lap on the beach below and while the setting is not quite as stunning as the Cliff, it is still lovely. The food was delicious. As good if not better than any of the restaurants we dined at during our stay on the island. Service was exemplary. While we had a lovely dinner, I'd probably recommend this place more for group dining as it has a very cool/chilled party feel to it. As others have noted it feels a little like a cool Manhattan bar/restaurant. A definite "must do" when in Barbados. Excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All areas disappointing!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

we visited as a group of 6 in November, we had heard cin cin was good and hoping to be top spot on the island, we arrived 40 minuets early to have a drink in the bar, the restaurant was half full and bar empty, we sat at the bar and waited 20 minuets for a drink - one mixed wrong twice! after our time we had booked had passed by 25 minuets i asked if our table was ready, the one we were shown to had been empty since we had been there, service slow, starters came at 10pm ( our table was booked for 845pm) starters ok, mains came at 1030pm ish , 2 meals stone cold were sent back and when came out again were just a little warmer , one meal - Bouillabaisse, was uneatable - the fish was so overdone it was tough and rubbery, asked to speak to manager who when came to the table was so arrogant it was unreal, as if no one should dare complain at cin cin. the manager should have been over and spoken to us earlier when the food was sent back first time, we were all very disappointed and would suggest avoiding, setting good, service poor, food average, price sky high

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellerogers2010, Owner at Cin Cin by the Sea, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
It sounds like you had a night you want to forget and that perhaps goes both ways. You came in for pre dinner drinks, albeit that we mixed your drink incorrectly we are sorry that happened but your table was actually ready and you CHOSE to remain and have drinks in the bar. Did it not occur to you to ask your server that you would like to go to the table??? If it is at all possible we allow our guests to take the evening at there own pace and if there is no urgency in seating you at exactly the time you booked we are quite happy for you to linger and enjoy your cocktails a little longer. We dealt with you as professionally as possible because it just seemed that you were determined to not "want to enjoy" yourself and that is something we have no control over. Your emotions are your own, we have the freedom to make choices and that is no better described than by William Ernest Henley who Nelson Mandela often quoted " I am the master of my fate and the captain of my soul" and once you have decided what path you are taking there is little we can do to stop you apart from apologize and try to make up for whatever it is that has bothered you. We behaved as cordially to you as anyone would have expected and I might add very patiently but there was apparently nothing we could do to put things right and you appeared unwilling to allow that to happen. So we wish you happy dining in your future and you might want to remember in the restaurant industry "we are here to serve you we are not your servants".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than the Cliff”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

While on holiday in Barbados went to Cin Cin for a wedding party and dinner for 50 guests and the following evening, to the Cliff for dinner for two It was close but food at Cin Cin was definitely superior, particularly when you bear in mind that they were serving 50 people at once. The setting may not be so spectacular as the Cliff, but neither are the prices. Staff friendly, while the setting is very cool and contemporary. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cin Cin by the Sea also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Cin Cin by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing