We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
35
18
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
18
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus stop top floor main bedroom security guard mullins bay bedroom apartment minutes walk away hire car the kitchen large balcony great place to stay free wifi worked well large supermarket bi folding doors rear block the property manager short distance
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2014

We stayed in apartment number 44 in the block away from road. The apartment was on the top floor so we had a side sea view and overlooked swimming pool which most of the time was very quiet and you could have the pool to yourself. These apartments are really modern with all the latest appliances and aircon in all the rooms, i think normally this is a 3 bedroomed apartment but one was locked and two open for our use. The massive balcony is a brilliant asset for relaxing with comfortable seating and also a six seater dining table and chairs for eating al fresco. As mentioned before the staff who work here are really friendly and like to have a chat. The beach is across the road about 5 minute walk and it is a long stretch of beach nice calm waters and quite good for snorkelling. We had a hire car for our visit but the bus stop is right outside the property for getting around the island. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor room and rear block away from road
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Manager at Lantana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for your feedback and helpful review of Apartment 44 which is managed and rented by Island Villas. We are happy you enjoyed your vacation at Lantana and in Barbados and hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed at 38 Lantana the last week of July and first week of August. It was a lovely clean and spacious 3 bedroom apartment. The staff were all really friendly and they cant do enough for you, we had a chat every night to the lovely man on the security gate, he gave us lots of help getting a taxi on our first night when we arrived tired and hungry wiith our 2 children. We were in the back block which is quieter than the front block which is very cose the the busy road. For our first week we virtually had the pool to ourselves which was great. Our second week fell on Crop Over which was a great experience, all the Bajan people have a long weekend off and there is a lot of activites and entertainment, our apartment block was filled to the brim with the apartments filled to the brim with many families. The local busses were filled to capacity with no space, on our last day we waited for over an hour at the bus stop for a bus that had any room, finally we gave up and flagged down the one and only empty taxi! The busses were coming around the bend on 2 wheels and how they managed to stay upright was a miracle due to the amount of people crammed on them, the old lady waiting with us cussed them all as they stopped to tell us they had room for us to get on! Crop over was interesting but I would not visit at this time again as it made everything much more time consuming and difficult to do. There is no where to have a drink or eat near to the apartments, there are 2 bars in walking distance but they are definately not recommended after dark with children! We would return to Lantana as its a great value place to stay but would recommend having a car to get around, cars are expensive though - we had a mini moke for 3 days the first week (never again) and a car for 3 days the following week but we were limited as all the cars had been booked out for crop over

Room Tip: If you want some peace and quiet ask for the back block away from the road
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Manager at Lantana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for your feedback and helpful review of Apartment 38 which is managed and rented by Island Villas. We are happy you enjoyed your vacation at Lantana and in Barbados and hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned from three weeks staying at Lantana (no.20), a four bedroomed apartment despite the fact that there were two of us. It is beautifully furnished, modern, clean and top quality. The large lounge has a huge sense of space especially because, being on the upper floor, it has the higher ceilings that follow the roofline.

Air conditioned in every room which allows for full control of the temperature throughout the day and the fantastically large balcony that looks out to the sea and over the pool ensures that the outdoor living that Barbados offers is readily available. Seating for 8 at the dining table and on the casual seating meant that we were spoilt for space.

All the bedrooms are well fitted out and smartly presented. The beds are comfortable and the rooms offer ample space with two having en suite facilities. Our bedroom led onto the long balcony which meant we could open the doors in the morning to see the view.

Kitchen and laundry facilities were top notch (even had a tumble dryer!) and all equipment, cutlery, crockery, etc supplied.

We expected noise from reading other reviews but they have been exaggerated. Of course the buses are noisy - it is part of the Bajan culture - but during the day and at night it is quiet and we had absolutely no problem sleeping with the doors shut.

Buses are available to take you to Holetown, Bridgetown or north to Speightstown and are cheap and frequent but a car does make everything that bit easier. Huge onsite parking with night security and daytime maintenance staff to make sure nothing untoward happens. We felt very safe and everyone is so helpful.

We tended to use the beach at Mullins or by Lonestar (a great place for a special evening) but used Ju Ju's beach bar (fantastic and cheap flying fish and chips) but could have just crossed the road to the local beach. There is a bar at the end of the beach but ii is otherwise very quiet and ideal for a morning dip. A fish market and vegetable stall are also open most days and, if you are lucky, you can swim with the turtles that live around that area.

What can we say other than it was a fantastic apartment with great facilities in a superb location. Oh, and it's very reasonably priced whether you are only a couple, or have up to eight people (there are four bedrooms).

A dream and we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank BobJ903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Everything is new and we were pleased about our comfortable much too short stay. (only 3 nights) Free Wi-Fi worked well, luxury equipped kitchen and gorgeous balcony were 'oversupply' for our short stay. We saw the photos and read the reviews, but never expected so much.
A nearby small fish market and fruits/veggie stand, a local rum shack were good and very convenient.
Big supermarket, mall/shops and restaurants are in Holetown; only a short bus ride.
Mullins Beach, Gibbs Bay are walking distance; however, bus is recommended due to the partly missing sidewalks. Narrow, busy main road is much too dangerous; bus is frequent and inexpensive. (every ride US$1 yellow or white mini bus--destination sign is visible)
We had a very good sleep, for the road noise couldn't be heard with closed windows.
Next time .... a longer stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gataki46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have just spent three weeks in apartment No 21 which is on the top floor of twenty one units in the front block (ie nearest to the sea) of the Lantana Apartments on the west coast of Barbados. The apartment is lovely, clean and comfortable and had everything we needed in the way of equipment. There is a large open veranda, with comfortable seating, looking down on the swimming pool. There are views to the beach which can be accessed through a cut almost opposite the apartment.
Lantana is situated half way between Holetown and Speightstown both of which are easily reached by local buses ( Bds $2 anywhere on the island). These two towns have wonderful restaurants, some eye wateringly expensive and others very reasonable, but all very good.
Because of proximity to the road the apartment gets some traffic noise but this is limited to day time and early evening and certainly has no effect on a good night's sleep.
An excellent apartment and good value. Would recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews