We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre night”

The Miller Centre Theatre
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Caterham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Miller Centre is home to a non-professional Theatre Company which stages nine or so productions each year, most of which run for ten performances. The 200-seat theatre is fully air conditioned, has surround sound, raked seating, a licensed bar, induction loop and wheelchair access. Our website has full details of upcoming productions and performance times
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Four of us including my 84 year old mother went to see Nell Gwynne. It was excellent, well acted by all and very funny

Thank SueH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Miller Centre Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thanks for your kind review. This is modern writing at it's best and was enjoyed not just in Caterham - we took the production to The Minack Theatre in Cornwall, where open-air audiences also rated it highly.

I hope you come to see another play soon - our next season opens with Frank & Rosy on 21 September (details on our website). Like Nell Gwynn, this too is a play with music ... and will be Directed by Nell Gwynn's director, Mike Millsted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"west end"
in 3 reviews
"film"
in 2 reviews
"key"
in 2 reviews
"standard"
in 4 reviews
"nell"
in 3 reviews
"seats"
in 3 reviews
"play"
in 3 reviews
"stage"
in 2 reviews
"sets"
in 2 reviews
"actors"
in 2 reviews
"venue"
in 3 reviews
"staff"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Local Amateur Dramatics production of The hound of The Baskervilles thoroughly enjoyed by us and all that attended professional and well acted ,new productions every few months ,great venue

Thank ralphtspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Miller Centre Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thanks for your positive comments. Our final production this season is on 21/22 July - the Young Players present Wind in the Willows. We start again in September with a new production at approximately monthly intervals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We saw a performance of Nell Gwynne, which was excellent. The star was brilliant, but the supporting cast and musicians (and I guess the technical crew too) were all good. We have been to some productions here where the casting was a little lame (pensioners masquerading as 40 year old swingers), but this cast was mainly young and really good. Fantastic value for money.

Thank Phillip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Miller Centre Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thanks for your comments about Nell Gwynn - and especially for mentioning the hard working backstage boys and girls too! Since you saw it, the cast have been wowing audiences at the open air Minack Theatre in Cornwall.

Sorry you found some previous productions were miscast - we operate an open auditions policy (i.e. anyone can come along); we try hard to get the best person for each role, but occasionally that may be someone who has the ability but is not necessarily the correct age profile. However, in the main I hope we get the casting right most of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Have seen several productions here, all of a high standard but sometimes the content of the play is not to my taste, however when they do it well, they do it really well. Nell Gwnne recently performed was absolutely wonderful, very funny, and I left humming the last saucy ditty under my breath. The stage sets are ALWAYS a masterpiece as are the costumes, Good Luck when they perform at the Minnack Theatre in Cornwall in July.

Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Miller Centre Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Glad you enjoyed it - and it is going down really well at the Minack. There's still time to book for the Young Players production of Wind in the Willows, which is on for just 3 performances on 21/22 July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017

A small theatre [converted school] run as though it is the West End - by more Amateur's [unfriendly and aloof}
I have seen three productions - one OK the other two a joke.
You will really have to be both forgiving and just love live AMATEUR theatre.

Thank cinemajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Miller Centre Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Sorry to hear you have had bad experiences - our ticket cost reflects our non-professional status. However, I'm rather perturbed that you found the front of house staff unfriendly and aloof - whilst they are all volunteers, there is no need for them to be rude. If you want to contact me, I'd like to find out more so we can start rebuilding our reputation for polite, friendly service. I can be contacted via the Box Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Miller Centre Theatre also viewed

 
Caterham, Surrey
 

Been to The Miller Centre Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing