We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swan
Nearby Hotels
Meare Manor(Glastonbury)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millbatch Farm(Glastonbury)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5(Cheddar)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wookey Hole Hotel(Wookey Hole)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penscot Inn(Shipham)
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rookery Manor(Edingworth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
114
54
24
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
54
24
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top baththe publoft roomporkgreat foodbeautiful roomstayed for one nightnever disappointsbreakfast was includedwet roompretty gardenthe staff were friendly and helpfulcomfy beda real treatboth dinner and breakfastlovely atmospherevillage shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here on Thursday and Friday night. This is a great pub with lovely rooms. However, we have given it a low score because it is on an extremely noisy road (the room is basically right on the main road through this area). This woke us up at 7am on the first morning and 6.20am on the second. After the first night we asked to switch rooms. The staff were very helpful but explained that the three rooms not on the main road did not have showers (they only had baths) and there was a noisy extractor fan which they thought would also disrupt our sleep. Unfortunately due to the lack of sleep this left us generally feeling a bit grumpy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMG22001144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Swan is one of those pleasant tricks chance plays on one every now and then. We were visiting Cheddar and stayed in a B&B in Wedmore. As it was Easter and we hadn't booked in advance we had problems finding a place to dine. We strolled around, inquiring hopelessly at the places that caught our eyes, to no luck. We passed by the Swan's unassuming facade but it seemed like 'just another pub' so we didn't even bother asking.

At our nth try we were recommended to try there as they 'might have a table still'. Tired and hungry we said 'whatever' and headed towards it. Boy, we were wrong - not only the food was excellent and the service friendly and quick, the inside is full of witty décor which adds to the dining experience, particularly for a couple.

Lesson learned, we should get back soon :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sandrodcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have just moved to the area and decided to try the swan for an evening meal. When entering the pub the guy behind the bar was stocking the shelves and although turned to see my partner didn't say I won't be a minute but continued to stack the fridge until my partner asked if he was serving.
For our meal we ordered pork and was asked if we would like anything with it and when we said apple sauce was very rudely told that there was apple in the mash. My partner asked again for apple sauce on the side and was told again in a not friendly manner that the chef had none made up so no. Due to the attitude alone we would not return. It's overpriced and staff are rude. We don't mind waiting if acknowledged and told that someone will be with you but to be blatantly ignored is not acceptable. As to the apple sauce, we can't be the only people that like apple with pork and to be fair why ask us what we wanted and then be rude!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Somerset_lady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

It wasn't the best time to appreciate it ( worst storm of a very stormy winter ) but one can imagine between say April and October there would be few nicer places to spend a weekend. The village is full of character with several lovely independent shops. Wedmore is convenient both for the Mendips ( Cheddar, Wookey Hole et al ) and the Somerset Levels ( which hopefully will once again soon be explorable with anything other than a semi submersible ! ).

The Swan has a nice feel to it and my bedroom was comfortable, characterful with most mod cons provided, eg fast and free wifi.

The ( slight ) downside was the food. This was a business trip so I ventured to choose the most expensive offerings ; Dorset crab and Mackerel fishcakes to start - undoubtedly excellent ingredients but cancelling each other out and ending up somewhat bland and poorly defined in flavours . Next was a rib eye steak in garlic butter ; excellent chips + salad but I'm afraid the steak was flavourless, chewy and grisly. I'm all for locally sourced ingredients as long as they taste good - on this showing the proprietors would have been better off going down to Bridgewater Morrisons Warehouse with their begging bowl ! To finish a simple but scrummy real home made ice cream - just fine !

All in all I would probably return if they would have me but it would be a toss up between this offering and a room with a view at the Avon Gorge with several more imaginative restaurants on the doorstep and still only 40 mins from Bridgwater !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebbsderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our second stay at The Swan..

Comfy room. Big bath. Good beer. Tasty food.. It would have been nice to have a little more choice at breakfast, such as fresh fruit etc.

Shame that Wilkins cider is only used for cooking. It deserves to be sold across the bar alongside the good beers available.

What (Wed)more can we say, other than, we will be back..

Room Tip: Suggest you ask before booking as, apparently there is one room that has noise from bar chiller and another with noise from kitchen.. I think others have commented on these rooms before, so best check.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallaseyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews