We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
24
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here comfortable rooms warm welcome on arrival maureen ruby host mile sleep farm pubs glastonbury wells village
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Converted longhouse dating back to early 18thC with timber beams, stone flags, inglenook and period features and the owners have complemented this with collections of old bottles, flagons etc. Very quaint.

About a mile out of Wedmore where there's plenty places to eat it's an easy drive to Wells, Glastonbury or Cheddar / Wookey.

Small working farm with friendly dogs and lovely garden and welcoming hostess Maureen.

We stayed in the family room 3 which was pretty large with 2 rooms and a separate loo and shower room. All very clean. Wifi available free but signal somewhat patchy at times. Flat screen TV.

Breakfast cooked to order and invariably good. Definitely one to stay at again.

Minor quibbles - no decaf coffee in rooms and poor wifi signal.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed at Poplar for four nights for a family wedding event and it was very welcoming and had all the features of an old working farmhouse. Maureen and staff were very nice and provided for our needs with full English each morning. The rooms were large and comfortable and clean and her very friendly dog Ruby kept little Henry our grandson busy. Its was a little our of town for our needs in terms of linguistics for our wedding venue but that was our fault in accessing our distances. All in all this was a very pleasant stay and for persons wanting a relaxing and stress free holiday I would igive thumbs up to Maureen and her team. William Ireland

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thenewellgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Thankyou to Maureen and family for a lovely 1 night stay on the 25'10'2015 family room was cosy,we had tea and cakes on arriving,a freshly cooked evening meal and a freshly cooked English breakfast,at great value,thankyou for a great stay regards Daren and family from Norwich

Room tip: Great location to visit chedder gorge and surrounding places
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank daren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

A very rural and peaceful setting which was very relaxing. We received a warm and friendly welcome, greeted with a cup of tea! Bedroom was comfortable with an ensuite almost as big as the bedroom! Breakfast was more than adequate. Very good value for money.

Room tip: Rooms are in the roof, generally quite, very little traffic noise, room 2 has a big bathroom.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NigLod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

I stayed here my with 2 young sons for 1 night. When we arrived we were greeted by Ruby who is their very friendly dog and who wanted to play. The room itself was lovely, it was actually two rooms but linked by a doorway with a double bed in one room and a sofa bed in the other. This worked very well for us. The area was nice a quiet, it was easy to find. The owners were very friendly and the breakfast was nice in the morning. The shower was massive and the beds were comfy! We would stay here again. The only downside, it was a bit dusty in places but it was clean.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews