We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sexeys Arms Inn

The Sexeys Arms Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Wedmore
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Trowbridge
1 review
“Lovely Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had a wait of about 30 minutes for the meal, but it was worth waiting for. I had the minted lamb chops with fresh vegetables and my husband had the steak and Guinness pie. Both meals were piping hot, which made a refreshing change. Excellent variety of vegetables for me, as in addition to the new potatoes I had broccoli, cauliflower, carrots and peas, with delicious gravy. My husband's pie was packed. with tender pieces of steak. The landlord was friendly and attentive and my husband's beer and my cider were both excellent. My only comment is that if you want instant food you are probably better off going to KFC or MacDonalds!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bit slow but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Had a really great meal but was slow coming which with 2 hungry kids wasn't great. Staff were apologetic and quality was good so nothing to concerning. Overall very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedmore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really good food and pleasing country pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Ate here last October, with friends. We couldn't sit in the restaurant as it was full, but never the less a table for us was available in the bar, which was fine. I had the fish pie which was really very good indeed. I look forward to eating here again to experience other dishes, and hope to try the restaurant next time.

Service was good and friendly, with a really great country pub atmosphere.

We recommend Sexey's Arms to our B & B guests, as just two miles from us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melvyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet laid back country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excellent food at reasonable prices served by very friendly staff.
We have eaten here a few times now and will hopefully return again soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“im still waiting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stopped for a bar meal ordered soup and a sandwich after a 40 minute wait asked the bar man would the food be arriving soon to be told it wouldnt be long after a further ten minutes we gave up, the barman offered no apology seemed as though he couldnt be bothered seemed surprised we werent waiting any longer paid for our drinks and left.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthSarjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sexeys Arms Inn also viewed

 
Wedmore, Somerset
Wedmore, Somerset
 

Been to The Sexeys Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing