We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Excellent"”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Kitchen.
Christmas at Pear Tree Cottages.
6ft zip and link bed.
Zip and link bed split into 2 singles.
Cot available on request.
Bathroom with shower over.
En-suite shower room.
Cattle on the farm.
Sheep moving to their winter grazing.
Roses at the entrance to Pear Tree Cottages
Wells cathedral
Wells market square
Somerset Levels
Glastonbury Tor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wedmore, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Weekender...
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Excellent"”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My husband and I spent a week in Cider Barn at Pear Tree Cottages and would have no hesitation in recommending this property. We felt at home from the moment we arrived. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We have stayed in numerous self catering properties and this one is very near the top of our all time favourite list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, very peaceful
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMRowland
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful, comfortable highly recommended holiday cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Cherry Plum cottage for a weekend escape and were very impressed. The property was clean, comfortable and has been finished to a very high standard. We enjoyed sitting out in our own private courtyard at the back in the sunshine. The attention to small details was very impressive, for example there was complimentary fresh bread, butter and milk for our arrival and even two bottles of local cider. The owners were friendly and very helpful. We would love to go back and stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a good stay at Cherry Plum Cottage. The patios are indeed very private and, being south-facing, catch the sun. An ideal spot to have a barbecue or relax with a drink after a day exploring the local area. We will certainly try cycling The Strawberry Line after your recommendation at the weekend. I look forward to meeting you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjude2016
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The fact that we have stayed here 5 times speaks for itself - excellent”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The smaller cottage, Cherry Plum is perfect for 2, the setting lends itself to providing a peaceful getaway. Perfectly situated to explore the Somerset Villages, lovely shops to browse and seaside places to visit. We are always greeted with a warm welcome and look forward to visiting next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from Home, all comforts offered
Liked least: Leaving to go home !!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to see you both again. As you said, we are ideally placed to visit the different aspects of Somerset from the villages, towns and shops to the seaside, hills and Levels. There is lots to see and do here. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay L
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well appointed cottage in lovely area”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

It was a very well appointed cottage, nice and comfy with a lovely sheltered garden you could have BBQ in if you wished. Close to lots of amenities, Cheddar, Wooky Hole, Wells, Weston super Mare etc. A good base and nice to come back to. Nice touches included small amounts of tea, coffee, sugar etc to get you started. Also a bottle of local cider each which was very nice.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you found it convenient for visiting lots of places. We are also easily accessible for Bath, Bristol, Taunton and even Exmoor which makes a great day trip.
The south facing patio has a table, chairs, sun umbrella and barbecue and is very private and enclosed. Thank you for visiting and I hope we see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris1863...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Break Away To See Cheddar Gorge was made fantastic by staying here”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My Wife mum has wanted to see Cheddar Gorge for many years but has never made it. So as a birthday treat my wife and I wanted to make her birthday special this year. Upon arrival we were greeted by Penny the owner and shown around this superb property. The rooms where immaculte with lots of little touches. We had full use of the Barbacue which we bought coals for but when opening it up it had coals already in it. Everywhere you looked there where little touches from the loaf of bread and tea/coffee and milk that it felt like a home you could just move into.

Location wise it was perfect for visiting Cheddar, Bath and Wells and I'm sure many other places as well.

Will we visit again I really do hope so

Thank you

Chris, Maggie and Christine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you needed for a nice holiday
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you for staying at Pear Tree Cottages and for your great review. It was lovely to meet you all and I'm glad that you had a good time. There are some lovely places to visit whilst you are staying with us. You certainly packed a lot in to your few days. I hope we see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie h
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have had a brilliant Christmas in Cider Apple cottage. The cottage was 5 star accommodation, it didn't disappoint in any way. Everything was of a high standard and well catered for. We were with our three young children aged 7, 5 and 1. There was even cutlery and plates for the one year old which is really rare. Penny was so lovely and even donated a Christmas tree for us as we had no room nor time to get one. The children thoroughly enjoyed the cottage and I would highly recommend this cottage. It was just perfect. Thank you for a truly wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed linen, fire.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
I'm so glad you all had a good Christmas. It is difficult when travelling with a family, particularly at Christmas, so we were happy to help with the tree. Happy New Year to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MellyAnn
Derbyshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could not fault this beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Excellent cottage in a peaceful location but near to many great attractions. It was a perfect place to come back to each evening after a full day exploring the area. The cottage was very well equipped with everything we needed. It was very clean and comfortable and beautifully furnished. Owner Penny has thought of everything. A lovely conversion in a rural setting. Would definitely recommend as a great place to stay for a few days or longer break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Quality of the cottage
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had everything you needed. Thank you for your kind words. Wedmore is an attractive village to visit and it is very central to the whole of Somerset whether for short trips or day trips. We also have a lot of National Trust properties in the vicinity.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing