We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a birthday to remember!”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Wedmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I live locally to the George and have eaten here on several ocassions, the Swan is newcomer and having been to both this is where i decided i wanted my birthday as i have always had good food here, excellent service and in what is a quirky but very friendly pub/hotel. It was without doubt the right decision, the food, a pig roast, was absolutey fantastic, with roasts,stuffing, salads, coleslaw etc and everyone had a fantastic time. There were 30 of us and the quality and service remained impeccable and comparable to regular dining here. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Somerset

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Hi. A belated thank you for your super review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

We hired a cottage in Wedmore to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. I contacted the Hotel and booked a table online for our evening meal on the Saturday and again for Sunday lunch. Having never visited Wedmore before we were not sure what to expect, but, The George Hotel was DEFINATELY the right choice! The atmosphere was really warm, quirky, friendly and welcoming from the moment we stepped through the door. From the mirrors and picture frames on the walls to the smokey smell from the open fires.The staff were all very friendly and willing to make you as happy as possible. The food was absolutely heavenly, brusting with flavour,beautiful presentation and just the right sized portions! Our meal on the Sunday left us wishing the kitchen was open that night, but, sadly no. So we ate at The Swan as they were having a special pizza night and it was very nice,but, sadly lacking in atmosphere! We would VERY HIGHLY recommend The George Hotel for a night you'll never forget and your taste buds will love you forever! The next time (and there WILL BE!) we would like to stay at The George Hotel so that we can try their breakfast as well!! They made our Anniversary just PERFECT!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thank you very much for such excellent comments.
We look forward to seeing you again and wish you many many more happy anniversaries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We were going to a wedding in the village in the afternoon and asked if we might arrive early to change into wedding gear there. The chap I spoke to (I think the owner?) was very helpful but said he couldn't promise our rooms would be done by 12. Fair enough. But he did volunteer that we could change in a room not used as a bedroom. In the event, there was a bedroom ready and both would have been but for the previous occupant spilling red wine in the bed!
We didn't eat there in the evening (wedding feast) but the breakfast was excellent.
Everyone was very friendly and all the staff (and 3/4 of the village) knew about the 2 weddings going on that day.
One small oddity, plenty of teabags and sugar in the room but no coffee or milk!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks for the review, sorry about the missing milk and coffee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is the 'local' hotel and pub, as opposed to the Swan which is, according to villagers, the 'newcomer' and there is strong loyalty towards this place. Terrific atmosphere and service - very Somerset, very friendly, very relaxed. Our room was large and odd, by which I mean a strange combination of shabby old suitcase on top of the wardrobe, and an ironing board with a cow cover, behind it. The bed was comfortable, the shower powerful (though you have to remember to switch on the cord in the bedroom in order to make it work) and the breakfast very good. I thought £90 for a double room on the steep side though - and it's £100 at weekends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side can be very noisy, but it does quieten down at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celloconcert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thank you for your review. We are aware the front rooms can be a little noisy during the day but as a Grade 2 Listed Building we are not able to use double glazed windows. As you very fairly say it does tend to be much quieter at night.
We are hoping to soon have 3 further rooms open at right angles to the road that should be quieter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have eaten here several times. We went there for lunch one Saturday when they were catering for a wedding that was being held at the same time. This did not impact on the service or quality of the lunch we ordered. We were restricted to where we could eat because the large dining room was ready for the wedding breakfast, but that was not a problem, and it was lovely to see the bridal party pass through onward to their ceremony.

Food always well presented, top quality products, always served with courtesy and not over the top for price for such a good meal.

Can recommend their sea food platter. In fact can recommend all of their menu!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacinSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Many thanks for your excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Just had Sunday lunch here and couldn't fault the food or service.
Shame about all the missing artwork!! Some people will pinch fresh air if they
get the chance.
Seriously though myself and my wife would certainly reccomend the George and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

A late thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at The George Hotel the week after Easter and had a wonderful experience. Our family of seven (grandparents, parents, three children) thoroughly enjoyed our stay, from the friendly bar staff to the delicious dinner and breakfast. We would recommend The George as the perfect place to stay and daytrip to Bath, Cheddar, Glastonbury and others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for such a kind (and accurate!) review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and have you here. Best wishes for the remainder of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wedmore
0.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 6 in Wedmore
202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Poplar Farm
Poplar Farm
#5 of 6 in Wedmore
24 reviews
205.9 mi away
No photo provided
The Wheatsheaf
#19 of 28 in Holt
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Church Street, Wedmore BS28 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wedmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wedmore
Price Range: £89 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beautiful ' George Inn Wedmore', is a stunning 16Th-century coaching Inn, sitting in the heart of the historic village of Wedmore. The interior is a fusion of both old and new but with an overall contemporary feel.Drive into the car park though our historic archway. As you enter the bars you will be greeted with open fires,local ales straight from the cask and an amazing selection of continental lagers and wines.Our Chef sources local and sustainable products and offers a culinary delight fit for any pallet. Our rooms offer affordable luxury and are all en suite.Our ethos is to make every trip to the George a relaxing experience, Drink,Eat,Sleep,Enjoy ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Cheddar
The George Hotel Wedmore, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing