We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wrong...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Wedmore B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Second review for the George from me, and this time a really lovely evening. 4 of us went, all had mains and a few drinks. Food was great, service better this time (previous trips suffered with disorganised staff) and all in all, a good night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portishead1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are trying very hard to continually evolve and improve things and it's super to hear when we get it right as well of course as being told when we don't!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    15
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Not only is Wedmore a beautiful place to stay, with a fantastic independent vibe with its shops, restaurants and pubs. We chose the George and most certainly made the right choice! We stayed here for 3 nights in what we were told was one of their newly finished rooms. It was beautiful, with original features, exposed brickwork and the most comfortable bed we have been in. A lot of reviews state the quirkiness of the place and it was just that and more (they even had a caravan cocktail bar in the garden...random!).
The food was fantastic, we also ate at The Swan which was also really good, but returned for another meal on our last night because we could not decide what to eat the first time. We could not fault the quality or service(the homemade chips were out of this world) and real ale from the barrel was a winner with my other half.

The only down point was that we wished that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank York_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
All we can say is thank you and very glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Visited for a meal while on holiday nearby, having previously dined at the Swan at which we had a fantastic meal. Was expecting great things based upon previous previews. Upon arrival, could not find anyone to take us to our (booked) table - finally had to go into the bar to get the sole member of the bar staff to take us to our table. We then sat there for ages waiting for someone to take our order until finally had to get up and find a member of the waiting staff - we saw only one server seving all the diners the entire evening!

Having finally ordered, things went from bad to worse when the food actuallly arrived. Whole lemon sole was served skin side up and floating in a sea of what looked and tasted like melted butter (no attempt at actually making a sauce!). When I mentioned this to the waitress, it barely seemed to register and there was no apology or attempt to rectify the problem. The other food served was also dire.

I have never before written a bad review of a restaurant but felt moved to do so by this experience. How we wished we'd returned to the Swan instead!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gussiefink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Very sorry that you had such a poor experience.
The service aspect was simply unacceptable though I believe this has now been rectified.
The lemon sole was shown on the menu as being in a crayfish butter and not a sauce.
Please contact us directly if you would like to re visit and we will arrange for your meal to be provided free of charge.
The majority of feedback we receive both via this site and in general is very positive so we are very disappointed you did not enjoy your visit and hope to be able to provide a great experience for you in a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our family party stayed at the George in Wedmore, we ranged from 10 yrs old to mid eighties. The grown ups enjoyed an early evening drink at the bar before dinner and the late teenagers were just as welcome in the bar later on! We loved the unique decor, a mix of country living and slightly quirky. Individually styled bedrooms, good beds and very accommodating with extra beds for little ones.

Room Tip: The room with a bay window over looking the church was spacious and had a lovely whirlpool bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximoomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for such a great review.
Hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice place to spend an evening in rural Somerset. We needed a bed for the night with good facilities, good food and good beer. This place has all three.

The vibe here is very modern British although there's a nice little gothic twist that serves to remind you that you're not far away from Glastonbury. The standard of decor, styling and finish are all excellent.

We were very pleased with the food. It was well cooked, well presented and hot. The service is a bit quirky. The waiter looked out of place and there were a number of times when we tried to attract his attention with difficulty. But nothing that spoiled our meal though.

I don't know what the opposition is like but if I needed a good bed in the area again then I would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spjwstaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
Sorry the service was a little hap hazard but we hopefully have now sorted that.
Glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the George in Wedmore and in particular thought the food was outstanding. The evening meal we had was faultless and the breakfasts some of the best we have had. The hotel/b&b side could do with a bit more finesse though. Our room was a good size but could have had more furniture/storage and could have had a more thorough dusting before we arrived. In addition the hot water was a bit temperamental. We were surprised though that the room wasn't serviced in any way during our 3 night stay, so no collection of used mugs/glasses, no replacement milk for tea/coffee or option to change towels - staff were pleased to help with this when this became apparent though. Our only other comment is that the church bells ring throughout the night which may keep light sleepers awake at night. The hotel is currently being refurbished and it would have been nice to have been advised of this on booking. All this aside, a mostly comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyWombat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi.
Thanks for your comments.
Sorry there was an issue regarding the servicing of your room. We have now put structures in place to ensure this is now dealt with properly.
The hot water has been inspected by a plumber who pronounced all well so I'm not too sure what happened there.
The church bells can as you say affect a very light sleeper. As a listed building we can not change the windows but they of course ring very little after 12. As we are in Church Street we hadn't thought of mentioning it specifically but will consider this.
Thanks again for your comments regarding the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

My mother, daughter and I all spent a wonderful night at The George Inn. The room was comfortable, clean and unique. We had a lovely meal sat by a real fire, and surrounded by interesting looking locals and diners. The service was very good and the waitress was informative about the local area, Glastonbury, Cheddar and Wells.
On arrival I was struck by the beautiful building and gardens. It was nice to be able to park our car in the car park easily. As a special treat my daughter and I had our hair done at the Jonathon Weller Sanctuary in the courtyard. My mother had a massage which she said was fantastic. We will all be making it a regular event. We left refreshed and our hair was fantastic. Thankyou

Room Tip: We had room 2 and 3..Both totally different and equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindifree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Belatedly many thanks for such a super review.
Very glad you enjoyed yourself.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wedmore
4.0 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 6 in Wedmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 11 in Cheddar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Church Street, Wedmore BS28 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wedmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wedmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beautiful ' George Inn Wedmore', is a stunning 16Th-century coaching Inn, sitting in the heart of the historic village of Wedmore. The interior is a fusion of both old and new but with an overall contemporary feel.Drive into the car park though our historic archway. As you enter the bars you will be greeted with open fires,local ales straight from the cask and an amazing selection of continental lagers and wines.Our Chef sources local and sustainable products and offers a culinary delight fit for any pallet. Our rooms offer affordable luxury and are all en suite.Our ethos is to make every trip to the George a relaxing experience, Drink,Eat,Sleep,Enjoy ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Cheddar
The George Hotel Wedmore, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing