We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not exceptional”
Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just back from 8 nights at Cap, our first "boutique" hotel (rather than a Four Seasons standard) and realise it's pro's and cons. Our ocean view suite (room 18) inside was fine with plenty of space and a more rustic than modern bathroom (no bath tho!!). Our balcony had a side on view of the ocean, some 50 metres from the cliff edge, which was well below my expectations. Could do with better anti-mosquito measures, we and other guests had numerous bites.
The swimming pools are more for a dip than a swim, but the beach is great, small but classy with plenty of room and superb location. The beach bar serves evening food thrice weekly which we used once. Friendly service with a limited menu and above average prices for the quantity you get, although the quality is fine and the view ace. Full review in restaurant section.
We found housekeeping to be typically Caribbean and had to ask daily for the renewal of milk and tbags. Room service was prompt but a tad inefficient (brought the wrong order but quickly remedied).
The Spa massage was most enjoyable, and reception very helpful (although the final bill was wrong on 2 accounts but comfortably amended, and I'd keep a note of what you sign for during your stay for "insurance").
The location is great although slightly remote, you'll need to avail yourself of regular taxi's which are prompt, clean,reliable, and easily ordered by reception (expect $15 minimum for the nearest trip each way).
The other occupants were of mixed nationalities but more British than any other, and the atmosphere relaxed. We were all invited to a most agreeable cocktail hour which "broke the ice"
nicely, and was a great touch.
The grounds are pleasant with plenty of seating choice (hammock, loungers,seating) and space. The shop is small, with nibbles very keenly priced for a quality hotel, and they have a small "honesty" bar in a large quiet room with a computer, books, games, and a tv.

Room Tip: Try for one in the first row from the cliff edge with a front on view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Crap maison or from surprise to surprise. As a 5 star boutique hotel you will find yourself in an time sharing establishment. ( see picture ) Weight-watchers no dangers of anoye overeating by lack op choice ( tiny portions) high prices insure that nobody overeats . Obviously you are in a 5 star location , 4 star design, 3 star interior design and 2 star service, not to omit the 1 star ambiance . Appartment 49 gives you a commanding view of the services, including horn at 5am for deliveries, also leaking roof, but is handy (close to reception) for any complaints. Breakfast lovers will be delighted by the extensive choice of fruit. Some days is included not just 2 types of melon or pineapple but grapefruit too .Those with lumber problems will be delighted by the abcence of matrasses on the beach loungers. Junior staff all pleasant and polite whilst operating in a management vacuum. No room service. This hotel does not ..." What it says on the tin". Art lovers will recognize the quality of the paintings in the rooms. Make sure to hire a car ( Rodney bay 30 dollars return) you might fancy a KFC as for restaurant closed after 9 if not enough guests...

Room Tip: You should ask precisely room with DIRECT view over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank styleandclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We are always disappointed if any of our guests do not entirely enjoy their stay with us

I would however provide the following brief points.

Due to a period of unseasonably high rain in December these guests unfortunately experienced a leak in their room. They were promptly provided with another villa – 4 categories above which they had reserved.
Rather than operating in a management vacuum as claimed, when management tried to speak with them on other matters raised – they refused to enter into a conversation. This came at a time when we also received complaints about these guests’ behavior and attitude from fellow guests.
We get a lot of positive feedback generally at Cap Maison so we are disappointed with this review and have investigated the issues referred to. But sometimes it is perhaps a case of wrong people wrong hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the Cap Maison over New Year 2013/14. Overall we thought it was great. The accommodation is excellent and most of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We would particularly recommend the restaurant at the beach, The Naked Fisherman, which offered great food and excellent service. We ate there every day.
We think people should be a little wary of the restaurant at night. Whilst the breakfasts we took there were uniformly excellent, we had one dinner experience on our second night and didn't go back.
We, a party of 10, asked to eat at 8pm and were told that we couldn't eat until 9pm. When we got there the restaurant was half-empty and we were put in a specially-created table in the middle of the main walk-way and next to the kitchen. We asked to be moved and, very slowly, a new table overlooking the sea was created for us. I am sure the staff meant well putting us at this table but it didn't feel especially welcoming.
The food took some time to be served, was pretty ordinary, small in portion and lukewarm. For a single course each (in one case a bowl of soup!) and a bottle of wine, the cost was $650. The staff didn't seem particularly interested in serving us and spilt food and wine over the table when they did. It felt like we had hit a night when the manager was absent. As I said, we didn't go back and, instead, found some excellent places to eat in nearby Rodney Bay.
There are many great things about Cap Maison but I think we would need to know the restaurant had improved a little before we come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Giles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you very much for posting your review following your New Years stay with us at Cap Maison

I was disappointed to read your comments following your dinner with us at The Cliff at Cap and it just goes to demonstrate how important first impressions are as we would have dearly loved to have you dine with us on more than that one occasion. I have taken both yours and the previous reviewers comment to demonstrate that fact to our restaurant team

It was great that you had fun at The Naked Fisherman and all that this new venue has to offer

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and rest assured we will work on those first impressions

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We traveled to Cap Maison over New Year's with two small children (1 and 4 years old). Cap Maison is phenomenal. The setting and grounds are stunningly beautiful with views overlooking the cliff to the ocean, rooms are spacious with great views, the service was both warm and efficient, and it feels intimate and about as far away from an in-personal mega-resort as you can get. The food was also great (we ate every meal for seven days at the resort).

We highly recommend it, one of the best beach resorts we have stayed at anywhere in the world. Because there aren't as many reviews of travelers with small children, I'll give a bit more color on the pros and cons for young families.

Pros
- Two pools, private beach, lots of fun stuff for kids to do
- While it's not primarily a kids-oriented resort (although over the holidays there are a fair number of children), the staff is incredibly accommodating and clearly just loves children (I suspect this is partially just the culture of the island which is great).
- Feels like a vacation for the parents too
- Food is great, they do a good job of rotating specials to provide variety so you can eat most meals there without having to schlepp elsewhere.
- They do have cribs, high chairs (although not enough of the latter), and the basics you need.

Cons
- Beach is a bit tough to get to (those 92 steps) and the water when we were there was pretty rough for small children
- Pool is a bit cold (I'd recommend they think about heating one of the pools, despite the tropical climate, tough for kids to spend hours in it the way they like to)
- Restaurant opens at 6:30PM (note, given daylight savings this is 5:30PM EST during the winter months so could be perfect depending on your schedule)
- Mosquitos - they were pretty bad our trip, not sure if there's anything the hotel can do about that (provide nets?). Interestingly the kids were oblivious to this, but was annoying for us.
- More activities are in the south, which is a bit far away for small kids, there's not as much to do in the north that's conducive to half-day trips that work for small children.

If you prefer big resorts that are designed around children this may not be the place for you, but if you want a more sophisticated/intimate place you would have gone to as a couple but also that your kids will now love, this place is amazing. Again, we had one of the best beach vacations we had ever had, our oldest said he wanted to move to Cap Maison permanently.

Room Tip: We got a big two-bedroom with a huge pool, in hindsight we did not need the pool as our four-year-ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sherief M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you very much for posting your review following your stay with us and I was delighted to read that this was your best beach vacation ever - praise indeed

It was also great to read that your entire family enjoyed it and I think your summarization of the particular families it would suit is spot on - thanks for mentioning it

Mosquitoes can be pesky and we take preventative measures every ten days and we do provide nets upon request - my apologies if this was made an option to you

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us - we very much appreciate it

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a relaxing week in the Cap Maison. Staff was extrem helpful, food was every single evening delicous and the view from our room just breathtaking. A nice change to the usual Resorts you can find. We enjoyed not having a large hotel complex . All was more privat and the wonderful designed hotel in Spanish style.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Cap Maison was truly a beautiful resort. We travelled here on the second leg of our honeymoon. Our first room, which was an ocean view suite, had AC trouble so they moved us to a beautiful upgraded room with a pool. We truly appreciated that service.

However, a few things to know, the beach is in the shade, small and not really what you would expect from St. Lucia. The restaurant's menu does not change much, so there isnt much variety. The "rock" maison wasn't available when we were there due to high tides, and we were there for 6 days.

But, I am being picky, it truly was beautiful, well kept and had an amazing wine selection!

Room Tip: If you can splurge for a private pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us in November

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you thought that our resort was beautiful and that you enjoyed the service you received - although the three star review was disappointing – given your very positive comments

Our beach is small but is a very pretty natural cove with excellent clear waters for snorkeling and is much liked – especially with the addition of our new "Naked Fisherman Beach Restaurant"

The Cliff at Cap Restaurant has a daily changing menu as well as an a la carte menu in order to provide variety to our guests – I am sorry that due to the unusual high swells during your stay with us you were unable to dine on Rock Maison which was unfortunate

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We got married here and we can't recommend it highly enough. Their wedding package was comprehensive and affordable. Our villa was amazing. Two stories with a roof top terrace, unbelievable. The staff was excellent, the food divine. If you want a secluded boutique property in St. Lucia, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodandwifelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
971 reviews
10.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
20.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,203 reviews
3.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
13.9 mi away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range: £257 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cap Maison 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a lovingly created, family owned and managed five star boutique resort combining great attention to detail with a highly personalized style of service. Set in a stunning location above a beautiful secluded sandy beach on the north west coast of St Lucia, it offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools, as well as Junior Suites and rooms. Facilities include the much sought after Cliff at Cap panoramic fine dining restaurant as well as the equally famous Naked Fisherman Beach Bar & Grill, a spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, West Indies, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing