We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day 2.5 of 5 and WOW!!”
Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Day 2.5 of 5 and WOW!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The reviews don't lie and this property truly distinguishes itself from the rest. From the moment you step foot on the property, prepare for beauty, quiet, refinement and the best dining experiences i have ever experienced at a hotel. The car transfer from the airport, arranged by the hotel, was superb. Check-in was seamless and effortless. The rooms are spacious and have everything you need. The rooms are rustic spanish in design and if you are disappointed, you should just leave now and don't bother staying here. With all the beauty that surrounds this property, you won't want to stay in your room anyway. The pools are quiet, the staff attentive, and the food is truly amazing and a work or art - more on the food in my other posting. One small issue with our room was taken care of immediately and even the Food and Beverage Manager was made aware of our issue. Not every place is perfect, but its the way in which you deal with an issue that counts and the mgmt team at cap maison were professional, courteous, and delivered on their promise. Way to turn a very small negative into a positive! The hotel is quiet, calm and a surprise lurks behind every corner. The beach is secluded, private and calming. Exactly what i needed after my work week of hell and a tremendous wedding. I'll post final thoughts at the end of the honeymoon. So far a 10+ or 5+star

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    116
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
84
523
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The setting is beautiful, lovely view from the restaurants and from the pool. The beach restaurant was excellent, great food and service however the main restaurant had incredibly slow service. We once had to wait for 30 mins for a table! The rooms were always clean and the hotel was always quiet at night.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We went with three children ages 9, 11, and 14. The staff was phenomenal and treated our children well. The beach was small and shaded most of the day, with limited watersports but a great restaurant/bar and attentive staff. Our kids loved it, though there were not many children and not a lot of kid activities. Our kids enjoy just being in the water and appreciated the food. As far as food goes, both the Cliff and The Naked Fisherman are about as good as it gets in the Caribbean. In general the restaurants on St. Lucia are better than most other islands, and we've been to many.

We had two connecting rooms, one just a basic room and bath, and another a suite with a master bed and bath, second bathroom, and a very large kitchen, two dining areas, and a den. We also had a private balcony and pool, and the views were terrific.

Transfer service as timely and professional in a newer Escalade, and offered water and Piton, the local beer which is light bodied and appropriate for the climate.

This part of the island is definitely the best area to stay in, as Gros Inlet, Rodney Bay and Pigeon Island are close and offer shopping, hiking, alternate beaches with more water sports (e.g. water skiing, jet skis, banana boats, snorkel trips, parasailing, etc.) The most affluent area of the island is right there, and many of the homes are gorgeous.

The concierge can arrange taxis, and their "go to" drivers, especially Charlie, know the area, are extremely polite, and will get you where you're going and pick you up in timely fashion, without trying to rip you off.

Rock Maison is worth a romantic night and the premium charge. You will dine in private on a platform below the resort mounted on a large rock formation. You actually have to walk along the sand and stone to get to it.

There are other parts of the island to see, but make this your base. A much better choice than staying down in the Pitons, where Soufriere is nearby and there isn't a lot going on.

Take a boat trip down the west coast. Captain Bebe of St. Lucia Fishing Charters has two nice boats, a 31' Grady White perfect for five, or a nice Bertram if you're going with two families or you want more space. You can fish just three miles offshore for Blue Marlin, Sailfish, Dorado, Wahoo and Barracuda. You can fish the whole way down to Soufriere, with magnificent views the whole way. From there take a taxi to Dasheen restaurant at Ladera resort, with a stunning view of the Pitons from high above the valley, and pretty good food too (try Roti if you haven't had it yet). Then your taxi can take you to the volcano, with active steam and boiling water, and the sulfur baths below, where you can bath in geothermal warm water and apply refreshing mud to your skin. It's great for bug bites. You will have many of those.

On the way back you will have great light from the west as you get to view the coat again. Make sure your boat takes you into Marigot Bay, where Dr. Doolittle was filmed and many wealthy celebs have houses, including Sir Mick Jagger.

If you dive, go with Scuba Steve, and book in advance as he can get busy. The dives by the base of the Pitons combine reefs and walls with max depth of only 60' necessary (it goes deeper), where you still have a lot of great light and color, and nice long dive times.

If you're there on a Friday go to the Gros Inlet Jump Up party. Lots of fun, great music, and a mix of locals and tourists. At eat Flavors of the Grill beforehand, which is right on the edge of the action.

If you like to cook, get a private lesson in your kitchen with Scott, who runs the Naked Fisherman. We learned to make curry pumpkin and the local Mahi Mahi dish. He's fantastic and very talented.

I can't say enough about this island, this resort, the people, the beauty, and the food.

We have traveled all over the world and tend to keep going to new places, but this definitely has us considering a return trip next year.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the premium for a room with a view. We stayed in 19 and 20 which were perfect for a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek_Correia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We booked a six day visit on short notice at Cap Maison. We had never been to St. Lucia, but were looking for a warm beach to hideout on as a winter escape. We found it at Cap Maison. We booked a suite with jacuzzi on the porch, but for unknown reasons (no complaints here!) we were upgraded to a suite with roof top porch and plunge pool It was sublime. We could have stayed in our room and not come out and been perfectly happy all week. If you can afford it, the roof top pool suites are the way to go.

We purchased the CapItAll plan on a whim, and were not disappointed. We usually like variety in dining when we travel, but again, we were happy just staying "home" for meals. The food at the Cliff, as well as the Naked Fisherman on the beach was excellent. We were surprised that by the end of our stay, we weren't casting about looking for something different! We also saved substantial money by choosing this plan. Please note that higher end liquor and wine, as well as certain menu items come with a surcharge. My only criticism is that although the menu items are well marked with asterisks, its less clear what liquor and wine are excluded. At checkout, I disputed a charge for some glasses of wine that we were told were included, and the charge was deleted without further discussion.

The resort is great, but you have to be willing to climb some stairs for the beach (92 to be exact). Neither of us minded it, but for unfit guests, the climb back up could be a chore. My wife ran the stairs daily, so for her, it was a big plus. Also, much of the beach is in full or partial shade, variably through the day because it lies at the bottom of a cliff. For those who love to soak up rays, like my wife, this could be a bit frustrating, but for those who burn easily (like me), it was perfect. The resort is a bit isolated, but for us, that was a plus. Taxis can be hired easily, should one wish.

The staff at the resort are very friendly, but not intrusive. In fact, all those we met on St. Lucia seemed genuinely friendly and happy to have us there, without the tourist-weary behavior we sometimes find at such tourism dependent locales.

We kayaked, sailed, took a scuba trip, did some hikes (Signal Hill on Pigeon Island), basked in the sun and read some good books. What a wonderful trip. Would love to return to Cap Maison, should the chance again arise.

Room Tip: The suites with roof top pool are the way to go, if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rchaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at Cap Maison for 7 nights for our honeymoon and we had the most amazing time in this luxurious resort.
There is not one member of staff who does not smile and greet you every time you see them…and the word ‘no’ is non existent at Cap Maison – everything is possible and not necessarily at a price, it’s more their positivity and way of thinking.

The location of the hotel is within an estate with an incredibly relaxed and tranquil atmosphere. The resort itself has several small pools, two fantastic restaurants – one by the pool overlooking the ocean (Cliff) and The Naked Fisherman which is a more laid back and easy restaurant right on the beach which is open every day at lunch and Thursday – Sunday for dinner also depending on the weather. The food is very European and elegantly served – the only thing I would say is that if you are a man, you might think the portions are small but for girls it’s spot on! The only evening I didn’t enjoy was the tapas evening as I think it was a little over priced for what was served but this is me really trying to dig deep to find a criticism just to try and make this review useful!

The nearest town is Rodney bay which is a short drive away (£10 in a taxi) but it’s not all that – it’s really bland and full of chains and the beach is dominated by ugly plastic sun loungers and coloured umbrellas. However if you are not all inclusive then there are plenty of restaurants and a supermarket.

The room we got (room 30) was amazing. it wasn’t a room but a 3 storey home! We had living area and a balcony on the ground floor, a bedroom, bathroom and balcony with Jacuzzi on the 1st floor and a roof top terrace with stunning views of the ocean especially at sunset!

The beach at the resort was perfect! there are about 100 steps to get down to the beach which means that you do that little bit of exercise each day ;)! The guys on the beach are wonderful – especially Prenel who is always to hand, always has a smile on his face and absolutely charming. There are plenty of kayaks and body boards and hobbie cats to go round and snorkels/flippers. They also provide you with new towels each day so don’t bother bringing your own.

Overall an incredibly stay where everyone rallies around you and their main priority is to make your trip the most comfortable ever.
I would recommend this immensely to anyone who is thinking of visiting St Lucia or who wants a luxury holiday in very natural surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricaLoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at Cap Maison from 2/8 through 2/15, and would recommend it to anyone looking for pure relaxation, a great beach, pool, and restaurant with excellent all around service.
We had checked into a garden view room and the next day we had asked that we be moved to a room which was not ground floor and more centrally located to the center of the property. They advised us that they had nothing available that day due to being fully booked but would get back to us the next day. As we were sitting on the beach we received a call at the beach bar advising us that they had another room available for us that afternoon. They helped us move all of our stuff and put us into an absolutely gorgeous room in the main building without further issue. Please note that most people may have enjoyed the first room, however we preferred something else. They couldn’t have been more helpful in accommodating our request. Thank you to Crystal, Dey, and Francilla for the help, it made our vacation.
The overall layout of this property is beautiful. The views from everywhere are amazing. The beach is a walk down a stairway from the main property, but a great reward when you get to the bottom. A small cove beach with gentle waves and complete seclusion. There are activities such as kayaking, sailing, stand up paddle or snorkeling if you wish, and the beach staff is willing to help you with any of these at a moment’s notice with an excellent attitude. On this secluded beach is The Naked Fisherman beach bar and grill. Open every day for lunch and drinks and Thursday through Sunday for dinner. We ate here for lunch every day except one and enjoyed every meal. The tables fill up quick and sometimes there is a slight wait for lunch, but then again we were there during the busiest time of year. The staff at the Naked Fisherman is great and everyone working there is willing to help you with anything. We found the food there to be great and even had dinner there one night. It is extremely casual and comfortable.
We used the main pool almost every afternoon. It is one of the most relaxing places and the loungers at the pool are extremely comfortable. The view is amazing. They provide cold bottled water at the pool which to us was an extremely nice touch. In addition they have waiter/waitress service at the pool as well.
The Cliff at Cap restaurant was excellent. We had breakfast there every morning and the staff there was willing to accommodate any special requests with a smile. They were personable and gave good recommendations. The breakfast was one of our favorite things every day. Needless to say, the view is amazing here as it is completely unobstructed.
The dinner at the Cliff at Cap was also a treat on the 3 nights we ate there. The service is top notch and the food is amazing. No detail is missed in any part of our experience at this restaurant. We ate at a few other places during our stay and it was quickly realized that we had the best restaurant on the island just a few short steps from our room. We decided to eat lunch there as well and it didn’t disappoint. We even asked them to make us a sandwich to go on the day we left, and as anything else, they were more than happy to accommodate.
It is evident that the staff here truly cares about their guests. We found that Ross and his management team were extremely visible throughout our entire stay. They could be found in the restaurants, in the lobby and elsewhere on the property making sure everything was running smoothly and all guests were being taken care of to the highest level.
The resort sits approx. 1.5 hours from the airport, and about 5 minutes north of Rodney Bay, and only a few minutes from the golf course. It is located in a very secluded but affluent area, but I would say that this is what we enjoyed about it. Far away from it all, but only a few minutes if you desire to be in the main town (Rodney bay). We would strongly recommend Cap Maison to anyone looking to get away from it all and be pampered with great accommodations, food and service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
693 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Wow we loved Cap Maison!! Fantastic property.....friendly staff.......great pools and beach......gorgeous views.....convenient location.......delicious food. The highlights of our stay were the Naked Fisherman beach, bar and restaurant and the Rock Maison. We had champagne zip-lined down to us for my wife's birthday---what a treat. Only sad the Naked Fisherman was not open every night. Compared to the Soufiere area the driving in Cap Estate is sooo much more pleasant and the nightlife in Rodney Bay is nice to be near too. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms with rooftop terraces are so nice for the privacy and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.6 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
18.4 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
3.5 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 12 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Property: Cap Maison
Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing