We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquitos!!!”
Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Pros:
SPECTACULAR views!
Delicious food (gourmet)
Spacious rooms
Friendly staff

Cons:
Mosquitos!!!
Rooms could use some repairs/renovations

This would have been the perfect vacation...

Food & Drink: We paid the extra $ for all-inclusive. Highly recommended if you don't have plans to eat a lot off site. The food is amazing, and most everything is included. If you go this route make sure to specifically ask what's included because they don't explain very well otherwise. I know we saved a lot of money with the package. If you stick with local liquor (rum punch is delicious), local beer, and wines by the glass (ask for the "by the glass" menu... There are a lot more than they let you think) you will most definitely save money. They'll even fill your fridge with whatever you want to drink, all included if you stay within the fairly generous restrictions. The food at the beach bar was the best, but the cliff restaurant was also very good.

Room: The room was VERY spacious. We had room 19, a ground floor villa suite with a private pool. One of the best rooms of the property in our opinion. The room was incredibly spacious; full living room, dining room, kitchen, bedroom. We were right next to the cliff and had a beautiful panoramic view of the ocean. The room definitely needed some maintenance. There were huge cracks in the bathroom ceiling, which sprung leaks when it rained. We spoke with couples that had the rooftop suites, and although they loved their rooms, there's not quite as much privacy because all the rooftops can see each other.

Staff: Everyone is super friendly and helpful. Don't hesitate to ask questions. They're not necessarily trained to anticipate needs in advance, but if you ask questions and make requests they will do everything they can to take care of you. My only criticism would be that it was a little off-putting that a few of the staff kept trying to get us to do tours with them on their off days. It seems to be common in St. Lucia that the locals want to make money from you in some way (tours, trinkets, even drugs), but it was uncomfortable when the staff was doing the same. When you have the same wait staff at dinner every night it becomes uncomfortable to keep making daily excuses as to why you don't want them to give you a tour.

Mosquitos!!!: Okay, here's the worst part. We were relentlessly attacked by mosquitos, in our room, at the restaurant, everywhere! I looked like I had a bad case of chicken pox from all the bites (that took more than a week to go away). Many of the other women we met had the same red speckled arms and legs. They give you some spray, but it is not very effective. We also couldn't sleep at night because the little buggers would constantly buzz by our ears. My husband would stay up all night trying to kill them. After many complaints they finally gave us some bed netting on our last night. Another couple told us they requested one and were told there weren't any left. We did stay during the rainy season (I'm sure it's better in the dry season), but they really should give every room netting. We talked with people from other hotels that were given netting standard.

Tips:
Do the yacht tour through the hotel... Amazing!
Ask what is included if you purchase the all-inclusive package
Ask them to fill your fridge with your preferences
Get mosquito netting
Eat at the beach bar

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for posting your review following your stay with us at Cap Maison

It was good to hear that you found the all inclusive package good value and I will look at making the inclusions within the package clearer to all guests - thanks for that feedback - great that you also enjoyed the kitchens efforts

I am also delighted that you had positive feedback on our staff

With regards to the problems you encountered with mosquitoes the simple answer is that we did not react quickly enough to the increase in mosquito’s numbers due to the recent rains for which I apologize - what we have done is to increase frequency of our preventative spraying and we have now gotten the situation under control

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked this as part of the Peak to Beach package that include 3 nights at Ladera and 3 nights at Cap Maison. Ladera was fantastic and Cap was nice as well, but not as exceptional. Most of the menu at Cap required a supplement - which seemed a bit cheap to charge me $15 to order most of the entrees (in light of the total package cost this seemed pound wise/penny foolish). The room was fantastic and included a private rooftop plunge pool (with chaise lounger and mini fridge and bar). The bedroom was air conditioned which was great - but beware the rest of the villa can get stiflingly hot since there isn't good air flow. The beach is small, secluded, intimate and has stairs which might trigger a heart attack unless you are in good shape. Very nice snorkeling at the beach. We had some service issues, which I raised to the General Manager who thanked me for the feedback, and went out of his way to ensure things improved (and they did!). For the price this was nice, but just missed on service and weird things like the menu supplements.

Room Tip: The rooftop plunge pool made the trip. Also the beach stair access can be a walk from some of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank poolpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and also for taking the trouble in speaking to me during your stay.

It’s always great when guests take the time in providing feedback as it allows us to feed this information back into the operation and make the necessary changes to improve consistency

With kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Cap Maison is a beautiful hotel hidden away in the extreme north of the island.

Our room was a two story villa with a hot tub on the balcony and incredible views of Smugglers Bay and the most beautiful sunset you could ever imagine. Other rooms had the option of private and even rooftop pools.

The restaurant serves superb food, morning, noon and night, and is situated on a cliff, overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The two pools are perfect for couples looking to unwind and relax again overlooking the vast sea. Smugglers Bay is a secluded beach area with free activities as well as a small restaurant and bar, which serves amazing cocktails all day.

The staff were beyond polite and helpful every minute of our stay there, and my wife and I would return in a heartbeat if we had a chance to.

It truly is a paradise on a stunningly beautiful island.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank martynbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Cap Maison

I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for mentioning how you were looked after by our staff

We do hope to see you again in the future

With Kind Regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I's honeymoon to St. Lucia was capped off with 4 nights at Cap Maison on the north side of the island. Before I get into too much detail, there wasn't a negative thing about this place! Our room was the first floor of a 3 story villa, complete with living room, dinning room, breakfast nook, kitchen, washer/dryer, huge bedrom and bathroom, outdoor patio and L pool! We are told that guests can rent the entire villa, and we plan on making another trip with 2 other couples in the future!

The food was excellent, and service was impeccable. While we were there, the Olympics were starting, and we wanted to dine in to watch. After requesting all our meals be brought in all at once so we would not inconvenience the staff, the matre' de demanded (nicely of course) that they bring each course to us in our room (b/c it would get cold). Also, the restaurant was literally 30 ft from the restaurant entrance, so we opened our back doors, and a server brought each course of our 4 cours dinner right to our dining room table so we could watch the opening ceremonies! Never expected that level of service!

Their private beach, Smuggler's Cove, was also really cool. Guests can rent snorkling gear, and other things to swim and float in the enclosed beach area, and a full bar is there for drinks. I decided to snorkle, and saw tons of tropical fish, all within 50 ft of the shore.

We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alarose20 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Cap Maison during your recent trip to St Lucia.

It was great to read that you had such an awesome time and I loved the Olympics story, we are blessed to have such lovely staff

Do come back and pay us another visit in the future

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Cap Maison is a fantastic hotel, with warm and welcoming owners and staff. Nestled on a beautiful cliff top location and with a relaxing secluded beach, I could not recommend it more strongly.

I will forever have fond memories of this hotel. Whether it was having breakfast in the beautiful restaurant with its breathtaking views out over the sea or wandering through the beautiful gardens, this hotel really is idyllic.

If you have the opportunity to visit the beautiful island of St Lucia and satay here - do. You will make fantastic memories that will last a lifetime.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank mushis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you very much for writing your review following your stay with us last February

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your time spent with us and thank you for recommending us also - it means a lot to us

With Kind Regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We came here for our honeymoon and booked the villa with jacuzzi, they are huge 3 story houses of great quality.

Excellent staff, the view is tremendous of the sea

My only concern would be if it wasn't our honeymoon the venue is a little out of the way and is quiet but if you want that sort of holiday (which we did on this occasion) you will not be disappointed here

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank jamez1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jamez,

Thank you very much for posting your review and for choosing Cap Maison for your Honeymoon and I am delighted that you both had such a great time spent with us

We wish you a fun filled life together

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here on business, but it was a great stay. The location, accommodations, staff and restaurant were all perfect. Judging by the happy holiday makers it is also a perfect vacation choice. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Richard

Thank you for choosing Cap Maison to stay during your recent business trip to St Lucia

Great to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you just need to make a return trip when you are not working so that you can really get to unwind

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
980 reviews
10.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
18.4 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
13.9 mi away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range: £253 - £548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cap Maison 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a lovingly created, family owned and managed five star boutique resort combining great attention to detail with a highly personalized style of service. Set in a stunning location above a beautiful secluded sandy beach on the north west coast of St Lucia, it offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools, as well as Junior Suites and rooms. Facilities include the much sought after Cliff at Cap panoramic fine dining restaurant as well as the equally famous Naked Fisherman Beach Bar & Grill, a spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, West Indies, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing