We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had gone to Cap Maison for our honeymoon in April 2013 and loved it so much went back again for a week in April 2014! We convinced another couple to come with us this time. The resort was just as amazing the second time. The beach bar and the menu there have been updated since our first visit, the food is great and the portions are the right size. My husband was not left hungry at lunch this time. It amazed us how the staff remembered us from our first visit. We also had dinner on the rock maison. It was alot of fun and a great night. The beach is so peaceful, quiet and relaxing! We already booked our 3rd trip for April 2015!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Wow what I can say when you chose to come back and also brought along some friends to enjoy the beautiful island that is St Lucia and Cap Maison - many many thanks for doing so

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the changes on the beach also and that you have already planned another visit in April 2015

We look forward to welcoming you both back

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    113
    47
    8
    3
See reviews for
81
510
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a ocean view rooftop suite! Can you say ahhhhhmazing!!!! I love Saint Lucia! This hotel is aprox 45mins to an hour from the airport so you definitely want to book the appropriate transportation! We booked a private car service which drove us to the hotel in a new Escalade SUV.

The suite was gorgeous! The upstairs rooftop pool was fantastic. It was well lit at night with lights on dimmers. Perfect for skinny dipping! Hey, we are adults and it was our anniversary! There was a small outdoor kitchenette area with a built in banquette and a table and chairs with an umbrella. There was also 4 lounge chairs to sunbathe on and the walls were high enough where once again clothing was optional!

The main living area had a long porch that expanded the length of the living room and dining room with French doors leading out to eat! The perfect place to have breakfast every morning. There were also a couple of rocking chairs on the porch. The living room had a couple of comfy couches with a big tv and the dining area had a large table with 6 chairs around it. There was a full kitchen with a breakfast banquette. There was a half bath near the kitchen and a desk area. The bedroom is the ONLY room with air conditioning. So keep this in mind the only air flow in the other areas is from the tradewinds. Not really cool during the day. The bedroom had a balcony with French doors leading out to it. There was a little sitting area and big tv. 2 nice size closets. The bathroom was big with double sinks and a big window in the shower which made you feel like you were talking a luxurious shower outside. Of course if you didn't feel like being exposed to the wilds you could close the shutters! If you had a big family you also book an adjoining room. Perfect for either another couple or the kids!

The room service menu was somewhat limited and the 1 Resturant on the premises had very specific times and was also limited. We booked a package which included breakfast and it was perfect.

It's true, the mosquitos are horrendous! So much so they provide mosquito spray and after bite spray in your room!

Cap Maison is close to Rodney Bay which has restaurants, bars, a casino and shopping.

The service was impeccable! The staff accomedated our every need. I was even able to book a deep tissue massage in my room near the pool. My massage was originally scheduled to be in the spa but I was really tired (doing nothing is hardwork) so I had them come to my room instead! They happy accommodated me!

We will go back again! We stayed there May 2013 but I chose September 2013 b/c I had no other choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justbeyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for both choosing to return to Cap Maison and for posting your review following your stay last September

Your review gave a very good overview of what guests can experience during their time with us and we thank you very much for doing so

Just to mention that since your last visit we have added another restaurant on our beach - The Naked Fisherman - which has certainly been well received

We all look forward in welcoming you both back to St Lucia and Cap Maison next year

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Cap maison beach is very beautiful with warm water, clean beach and comfortable chairs. What they need is more umbrellas. The equipment rental is for guests only.
The naked foundation (bar restaurant at the beach) was quite nice with good cocktail, but the burger they serve is small and was overgrilled, while french fries were tasty.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Supertourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us in March of this year

I am delighted that you enjoyed our new addition on the beach although I need to work on getting its name recognized a little more - The Naked Fisherman - is a great little spot on the beach and we are all very proud of the team that work both in the kitchen and on the service side of this little beachside restaurant

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Pros:
SPECTACULAR views!
Delicious food (gourmet)
Spacious rooms
Friendly staff

Cons:
Mosquitos!!!
Rooms could use some repairs/renovations

This would have been the perfect vacation...

Food & Drink: We paid the extra $ for all-inclusive. Highly recommended if you don't have plans to eat a lot off site. The food is amazing, and most everything is included. If you go this route make sure to specifically ask what's included because they don't explain very well otherwise. I know we saved a lot of money with the package. If you stick with local liquor (rum punch is delicious), local beer, and wines by the glass (ask for the "by the glass" menu... There are a lot more than they let you think) you will most definitely save money. They'll even fill your fridge with whatever you want to drink, all included if you stay within the fairly generous restrictions. The food at the beach bar was the best, but the cliff restaurant was also very good.

Room: The room was VERY spacious. We had room 19, a ground floor villa suite with a private pool. One of the best rooms of the property in our opinion. The room was incredibly spacious; full living room, dining room, kitchen, bedroom. We were right next to the cliff and had a beautiful panoramic view of the ocean. The room definitely needed some maintenance. There were huge cracks in the bathroom ceiling, which sprung leaks when it rained. We spoke with couples that had the rooftop suites, and although they loved their rooms, there's not quite as much privacy because all the rooftops can see each other.

Staff: Everyone is super friendly and helpful. Don't hesitate to ask questions. They're not necessarily trained to anticipate needs in advance, but if you ask questions and make requests they will do everything they can to take care of you. My only criticism would be that it was a little off-putting that a few of the staff kept trying to get us to do tours with them on their off days. It seems to be common in St. Lucia that the locals want to make money from you in some way (tours, trinkets, even drugs), but it was uncomfortable when the staff was doing the same. When you have the same wait staff at dinner every night it becomes uncomfortable to keep making daily excuses as to why you don't want them to give you a tour.

Mosquitos!!!: Okay, here's the worst part. We were relentlessly attacked by mosquitos, in our room, at the restaurant, everywhere! I looked like I had a bad case of chicken pox from all the bites (that took more than a week to go away). Many of the other women we met had the same red speckled arms and legs. They give you some spray, but it is not very effective. We also couldn't sleep at night because the little buggers would constantly buzz by our ears. My husband would stay up all night trying to kill them. After many complaints they finally gave us some bed netting on our last night. Another couple told us they requested one and were told there weren't any left. We did stay during the rainy season (I'm sure it's better in the dry season), but they really should give every room netting. We talked with people from other hotels that were given netting standard.

Tips:
Do the yacht tour through the hotel... Amazing!
Ask what is included if you purchase the all-inclusive package
Ask them to fill your fridge with your preferences
Get mosquito netting
Eat at the beach bar

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for posting your review following your stay with us at Cap Maison

It was good to hear that you found the all inclusive package good value and I will look at making the inclusions within the package clearer to all guests - thanks for that feedback - great that you also enjoyed the kitchens efforts

I am also delighted that you had positive feedback on our staff

With regards to the problems you encountered with mosquitoes the simple answer is that we did not react quickly enough to the increase in mosquito’s numbers due to the recent rains for which I apologize - what we have done is to increase frequency of our preventative spraying and we have now gotten the situation under control

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked this as part of the Peak to Beach package that include 3 nights at Ladera and 3 nights at Cap Maison. Ladera was fantastic and Cap was nice as well, but not as exceptional. Most of the menu at Cap required a supplement - which seemed a bit cheap to charge me $15 to order most of the entrees (in light of the total package cost this seemed pound wise/penny foolish). The room was fantastic and included a private rooftop plunge pool (with chaise lounger and mini fridge and bar). The bedroom was air conditioned which was great - but beware the rest of the villa can get stiflingly hot since there isn't good air flow. The beach is small, secluded, intimate and has stairs which might trigger a heart attack unless you are in good shape. Very nice snorkeling at the beach. We had some service issues, which I raised to the General Manager who thanked me for the feedback, and went out of his way to ensure things improved (and they did!). For the price this was nice, but just missed on service and weird things like the menu supplements.

Room Tip: The rooftop plunge pool made the trip. Also the beach stair access can be a walk from some of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poolpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and also for taking the trouble in speaking to me during your stay.

It’s always great when guests take the time in providing feedback as it allows us to feed this information back into the operation and make the necessary changes to improve consistency

With kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Cap Maison is a beautiful hotel hidden away in the extreme north of the island.

Our room was a two story villa with a hot tub on the balcony and incredible views of Smugglers Bay and the most beautiful sunset you could ever imagine. Other rooms had the option of private and even rooftop pools.

The restaurant serves superb food, morning, noon and night, and is situated on a cliff, overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The two pools are perfect for couples looking to unwind and relax again overlooking the vast sea. Smugglers Bay is a secluded beach area with free activities as well as a small restaurant and bar, which serves amazing cocktails all day.

The staff were beyond polite and helpful every minute of our stay there, and my wife and I would return in a heartbeat if we had a chance to.

It truly is a paradise on a stunningly beautiful island.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank martynbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Cap Maison

I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for mentioning how you were looked after by our staff

We do hope to see you again in the future

With Kind Regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I's honeymoon to St. Lucia was capped off with 4 nights at Cap Maison on the north side of the island. Before I get into too much detail, there wasn't a negative thing about this place! Our room was the first floor of a 3 story villa, complete with living room, dinning room, breakfast nook, kitchen, washer/dryer, huge bedrom and bathroom, outdoor patio and L pool! We are told that guests can rent the entire villa, and we plan on making another trip with 2 other couples in the future!

The food was excellent, and service was impeccable. While we were there, the Olympics were starting, and we wanted to dine in to watch. After requesting all our meals be brought in all at once so we would not inconvenience the staff, the matre' de demanded (nicely of course) that they bring each course to us in our room (b/c it would get cold). Also, the restaurant was literally 30 ft from the restaurant entrance, so we opened our back doors, and a server brought each course of our 4 cours dinner right to our dining room table so we could watch the opening ceremonies! Never expected that level of service!

Their private beach, Smuggler's Cove, was also really cool. Guests can rent snorkling gear, and other things to swim and float in the enclosed beach area, and a full bar is there for drinks. I decided to snorkle, and saw tons of tropical fish, all within 50 ft of the shore.

We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alarose20 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Cap Maison during your recent trip to St Lucia.

It was great to read that you had such an awesome time and I loved the Olympics story, we are blessed to have such lovely staff

Do come back and pay us another visit in the future

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
18.4 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
19.9 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Property: Cap Maison
Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Holiday Gems, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing