We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing accommodation”
Review of Cap Maison

Cap Maison
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days on our honeymoon and it was probably the most memorable hotel stay. Unlike so many all inclusive resorts the food here was amazing. Employees there did everything to make our stay fantastic - they were all so personable and helpful and the facilities were amazing. I definitely recommend splurging for a villa

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mkmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you very much for posting your review and thank you for choosing us for your Honeymoon

It was great to read that our food exceeded your expectation and we are certainly proud of our entire kitchen brigade - they do a great job

We very much hope that we will have an opportunity in the future to look after you both again

Kind regards

Ross'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    117
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
84
533
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

we booked in for a night whilst holidaying elsewhere on the island and wished we had seen this resort first. It is a great mix of privacy, relaxation and quality. Staff are great, Crystal is very professional but makes you feel comfortable and at ease at the same time. The manager Ross is very personable and welcoming, we observed him speaking with the gardening staff which was carried out with the utmost professionalism and respect.
the food at the Cap is absolutely fabulous... you have to experience it, you can involved yourself as much or as little a you want in the resort, and we enjoyed the privacy element. So much so it has made us review our previous 'all inclusive' habit completely.
all together a great 'mini-break' whilst on holiday and we can highly recommend.

Room Tip: go for the best you can afford....... there are some lovely ones with pools which we intend to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your one night stay with us at Cap Maison and it was great to read that your impromptu decision paid off for you both

I am also delighted that you are thinking of a longer visit next time around and we look forward to taking care of you both

With Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I spent 8 days in beautiful St. Lucia this past spring celebrating our 32 year anniversary. Cap Maison made it a truly magical trip. The grounds are beautiful with tropical plants and flowers and private areas around every corner. We had a garden view room but were able to see the ocean from our spacious balcony. Our room was clean and beautiful with so much space. We opted for the all inclusive package and were not disappointed. We looked forward to every meal and loved the small servings. I can't say enough about the friendly accommodating staff. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we were happy. The beach is small and private which we loved. Having the long trek up and down the steps to get to the beach made the Naked Fisherman restaurant convenient since it is right on the beach. We loved every minute at CapMaison and cannot wait until we can return!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for posting your review following your stay with us in April and we are delighted that you chose Cap Maison to celebrate your anniversary

It was great to read that you enjoyed your experience and we all very much looking forward to welcoming you both back to the beautiful island that is St Lucia

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had gone to Cap Maison for our honeymoon in April 2013 and loved it so much went back again for a week in April 2014! We convinced another couple to come with us this time. The resort was just as amazing the second time. The beach bar and the menu there have been updated since our first visit, the food is great and the portions are the right size. My husband was not left hungry at lunch this time. It amazed us how the staff remembered us from our first visit. We also had dinner on the rock maison. It was alot of fun and a great night. The beach is so peaceful, quiet and relaxing! We already booked our 3rd trip for April 2015!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Wow what I can say when you chose to come back and also brought along some friends to enjoy the beautiful island that is St Lucia and Cap Maison - many many thanks for doing so

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the changes on the beach also and that you have already planned another visit in April 2015

We look forward to welcoming you both back

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a ocean view rooftop suite! Can you say ahhhhhmazing!!!! I love Saint Lucia! This hotel is aprox 45mins to an hour from the airport so you definitely want to book the appropriate transportation! We booked a private car service which drove us to the hotel in a new Escalade SUV.

The suite was gorgeous! The upstairs rooftop pool was fantastic. It was well lit at night with lights on dimmers. Perfect for skinny dipping! Hey, we are adults and it was our anniversary! There was a small outdoor kitchenette area with a built in banquette and a table and chairs with an umbrella. There was also 4 lounge chairs to sunbathe on and the walls were high enough where once again clothing was optional!

The main living area had a long porch that expanded the length of the living room and dining room with French doors leading out to eat! The perfect place to have breakfast every morning. There were also a couple of rocking chairs on the porch. The living room had a couple of comfy couches with a big tv and the dining area had a large table with 6 chairs around it. There was a full kitchen with a breakfast banquette. There was a half bath near the kitchen and a desk area. The bedroom is the ONLY room with air conditioning. So keep this in mind the only air flow in the other areas is from the tradewinds. Not really cool during the day. The bedroom had a balcony with French doors leading out to it. There was a little sitting area and big tv. 2 nice size closets. The bathroom was big with double sinks and a big window in the shower which made you feel like you were talking a luxurious shower outside. Of course if you didn't feel like being exposed to the wilds you could close the shutters! If you had a big family you also book an adjoining room. Perfect for either another couple or the kids!

The room service menu was somewhat limited and the 1 Resturant on the premises had very specific times and was also limited. We booked a package which included breakfast and it was perfect.

It's true, the mosquitos are horrendous! So much so they provide mosquito spray and after bite spray in your room!

Cap Maison is close to Rodney Bay which has restaurants, bars, a casino and shopping.

The service was impeccable! The staff accomedated our every need. I was even able to book a deep tissue massage in my room near the pool. My massage was originally scheduled to be in the spa but I was really tired (doing nothing is hardwork) so I had them come to my room instead! They happy accommodated me!

We will go back again! We stayed there May 2013 but I chose September 2013 b/c I had no other choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justbeyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for both choosing to return to Cap Maison and for posting your review following your stay last September

Your review gave a very good overview of what guests can experience during their time with us and we thank you very much for doing so

Just to mention that since your last visit we have added another restaurant on our beach - The Naked Fisherman - which has certainly been well received

We all look forward in welcoming you both back to St Lucia and Cap Maison next year

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Cap maison beach is very beautiful with warm water, clean beach and comfortable chairs. What they need is more umbrellas. The equipment rental is for guests only.
The naked foundation (bar restaurant at the beach) was quite nice with good cocktail, but the burger they serve is small and was overgrilled, while french fries were tasty.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Supertourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us in March of this year

I am delighted that you enjoyed our new addition on the beach although I need to work on getting its name recognized a little more - The Naked Fisherman - is a great little spot on the beach and we are all very proud of the team that work both in the kitchen and on the service side of this little beachside restaurant

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Pros:
SPECTACULAR views!
Delicious food (gourmet)
Spacious rooms
Friendly staff

Cons:
Mosquitos!!!
Rooms could use some repairs/renovations

This would have been the perfect vacation...

Food & Drink: We paid the extra $ for all-inclusive. Highly recommended if you don't have plans to eat a lot off site. The food is amazing, and most everything is included. If you go this route make sure to specifically ask what's included because they don't explain very well otherwise. I know we saved a lot of money with the package. If you stick with local liquor (rum punch is delicious), local beer, and wines by the glass (ask for the "by the glass" menu... There are a lot more than they let you think) you will most definitely save money. They'll even fill your fridge with whatever you want to drink, all included if you stay within the fairly generous restrictions. The food at the beach bar was the best, but the cliff restaurant was also very good.

Room: The room was VERY spacious. We had room 19, a ground floor villa suite with a private pool. One of the best rooms of the property in our opinion. The room was incredibly spacious; full living room, dining room, kitchen, bedroom. We were right next to the cliff and had a beautiful panoramic view of the ocean. The room definitely needed some maintenance. There were huge cracks in the bathroom ceiling, which sprung leaks when it rained. We spoke with couples that had the rooftop suites, and although they loved their rooms, there's not quite as much privacy because all the rooftops can see each other.

Staff: Everyone is super friendly and helpful. Don't hesitate to ask questions. They're not necessarily trained to anticipate needs in advance, but if you ask questions and make requests they will do everything they can to take care of you. My only criticism would be that it was a little off-putting that a few of the staff kept trying to get us to do tours with them on their off days. It seems to be common in St. Lucia that the locals want to make money from you in some way (tours, trinkets, even drugs), but it was uncomfortable when the staff was doing the same. When you have the same wait staff at dinner every night it becomes uncomfortable to keep making daily excuses as to why you don't want them to give you a tour.

Mosquitos!!!: Okay, here's the worst part. We were relentlessly attacked by mosquitos, in our room, at the restaurant, everywhere! I looked like I had a bad case of chicken pox from all the bites (that took more than a week to go away). Many of the other women we met had the same red speckled arms and legs. They give you some spray, but it is not very effective. We also couldn't sleep at night because the little buggers would constantly buzz by our ears. My husband would stay up all night trying to kill them. After many complaints they finally gave us some bed netting on our last night. Another couple told us they requested one and were told there weren't any left. We did stay during the rainy season (I'm sure it's better in the dry season), but they really should give every room netting. We talked with people from other hotels that were given netting standard.

Tips:
Do the yacht tour through the hotel... Amazing!
Ask what is included if you purchase the all-inclusive package
Ask them to fill your fridge with your preferences
Get mosquito netting
Eat at the beach bar

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for posting your review following your stay with us at Cap Maison

It was good to hear that you found the all inclusive package good value and I will look at making the inclusions within the package clearer to all guests - thanks for that feedback - great that you also enjoyed the kitchens efforts

I am also delighted that you had positive feedback on our staff

With regards to the problems you encountered with mosquitoes the simple answer is that we did not react quickly enough to the increase in mosquito’s numbers due to the recent rains for which I apologize - what we have done is to increase frequency of our preventative spraying and we have now gotten the situation under control

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
No photo provided
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
935 reviews
20.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
No photo provided
18.4 mi away
No photo provided
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,161 reviews
19.7 mi away
No photo provided
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Property: Cap Maison
Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelbag, Expedia, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing