We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

My husband and I arrived tired, exhausted, grouchy and in bad need of a shower at the Cap Masion on Feb 15th to be greeted by the most friendly and helpful people I have ever had the pleasure to meet at any hotel. The lovely lady at reception promptly offered me a glass of champagne and the Manager stopped by to welcome us and our fantastic vacation was off to a glowing start.

The grounds and facilities at Cap Maison are absolutely stunning, set on the top of a cliff overlooking the ocean. Everything from the pathways to the pools is fastidiously clean and elegantly arranged. We had dinner the first night at the Cliff at the Cap and the meal certainly lived up to the glowing reviews we had read previous to our arrival.

Our room was an ocean view junior suite. The bed was ridiculously comfortable and the room was well appointed with a mini-bar, coffee maker, toaster and numerous glass types and cutlery. We were welcomed with a lovely package of cookies (delicious!) and all the makings for a rum punch (also delicious!!). Our suite had a lovely large balcony overlooking the smaller main pool with two loungers to fully appreciate the ocean and pool view.

As you can note from the pictures of the hotel, the windows are a combination of shuttered screens and glass casement windows which add to the ambiance of the property. What they don't add is a lot of sound-proofing for the room. We were unfortunately awoken on the first morning promptly at 6 by the sound of the young kids in other suites. A set of earplugs by the bed allowed us to continue snoozing while the hotel awoke around us. I would also recommend that the hotel invest in felt pads for the bottoms of the chairs in each suite. The wooden chairs make a terrible racket when dragged on the tile floors, the felt pads would certainly reduce this noise issue.

The staff are incredibley courteous and helpful. We had arranged a rental car prior to our arrival to help tour the island. Unfortunately, the car broke down on our 3rd morning and we had to wait for the representative to come to replace the battery. Every single employee that passed us in the parking lot asked if there was anything they could do to help.

Overall we loved the Cap Maison and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank In_transit_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    115
    50
    8
    3
See reviews for
84
518
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

After doing quite a bit of research and having never been to St. Lucia before, my love and I settled on Cap Maison. It was a decision we did not regret for one single moment from the instant we arrived until we departed (they practically had to evict us) after a glorious week there. We had one of the Ocean View villas with a plunge pool and it was magnificent. The facilities were just wonderful at every juncture, restaurant, spa, reception area and the grounds - clean, well-tended and clearly maintained with a concern that the resort reflect the highest standards of the hospitality industry. Our villa was kept immaculate by housekeeping and those tending the grounds clearly took pride in their work.

One other item I have not seen mentioned in other reviews is the resort's security presence - day and night, which I found comforting. I don't mean to imply that the island isn't safe or that there are any over threats to guests; in fact, I saw no reason to think that at all. Having said that, however, I was pleased to see a security presence on site at all times. The gentlemen were unobtrusive and in no way detracted from our experience, but were a good example of "an ounce of prevention." They were not just guys "hanging out" and doing nothing. They were vigilant, but again, without being annoying or drawing attention to themselves. A perfect presence at all times.

Aside from the physical amenities of the resort however, I think was was most extraordinary was the attitude of all of the staff we encountered. Without exception, every single person made us feel welcomed and comfortable. It started from the moment we arrived and were met by Ross Stevenson [Manager] and continued until he bade us farewell when we departed. Maggie in the Restaurant, you are absolutely the best; your kindness and professionalism were exemplary (including being my co-conspirator in surprising my love with an engagement ring on Valentine's Day after dinner!), and I know that Matthew [Food & Beverage Manager] realizes he is lucky to have you. Ross, you are to be congratulated because the experience we had is a reflection of the disciplined attention to detail that you have brought to bear, and your professionalism.

Anyone who goes to Cap Maison will experience the old adage of "you get what you pay for." Cap Maison may cost a bit more than the other places, but there's no better value. We will definitely be back, hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzhughlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Cap Maison is truly a special place for any occasion –put it on your list! My friends and I have made our travel plans to return to Cap Maison while we were still on St. Lucia.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SexySupperClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

I have travelled all over the world, to many outstanding hotels. This is one of the best. The GM Ross greets you upon arrival and is there every day to see to your every need.
The rooms were new and luxurious. We had a villa with a private pool that was spectacular. The staff are incredibly friendly and Matthew who runs the restaurant caters to your every need.
Ross arranged several upscale tours for us, including a day on their private yacht.
If you seek a luxury experience with knowledgable and friendly staff, then this is the place for you.
By the end of the first day, many of the staff knew us and the wait staff already were "tuned in" to our desires, food allergies and dislikes.

Ross runs a first class resort. You will love it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuckerjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

After 25 years together, my husband and I wanted to travel somewhere really special. We've been to many of the islands in the Caribbean, but never St. Lucia and our expectations were high. What we discovered is that not only is the island gorgeous and the people friendly, but our experience at Cap Maison just blew us away from the moment we arrived! It was the perfect hideaway for romance and relaxation and our every need was attended to with detail and genuine care. The staff was the friendliest I have ever experienced and the service was above and beyond. The food was fresh and delicious. The spa masseur most talented. Our room was spectacular with amazing views of the ocean. The gardens were carefully designed and maintained. The pool was inviting and the beach clean and lovely. My only regret was that the surf was too rough to swim several of the days. Other than that, this vacation was truly perfect and went beyond our every desire! We're already scheming to return - something we don't tend to do because we like to try new destinations - but Cap Maison is different. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninaroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carefreeLondon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

On a recent holiday I found Cap Maison a special place and a superb all round experience.I have been to St. Lucia many times and stayed in some of the nicest hotels.Cap Maison is right up with the very best.The rooms are fantastic,plenty of room with lovely bathrooms.The swimming pool and garden areas are spacious with waiter service wherever you may be.In fact nothing is too much trouble for the very friendly helpful staff and the owners who are very hands on.Finally the restaurant....great food,service and ambiance....wonderful position on the clifftop above the slapping waves....an impressive classy wooden building.I was there two Saturdays....a well known saxophonist,Rob Z Taylor,played the first week and a terrific woman sang for two and a half hours the week after.Wow...yes we will be going back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevincannoncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Cap Maison is a unique peace of paradise that provided all the ingredients to make my holiday truly special. The resort boasts beauty and elegance without being pretentious. The atmosphere is serene, relaxed and friendly aided by the helpful staff. Set amongst breathtaking views the rooms are characteristic, elegant and very comfortable and each own an individual pool. The food in the restaurant was impressive also and I particularly enjoyed the selection of small tapas dishes served on a Saturday night. I am very much looking forward to returning to St. Lucia and to Cap Maison!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemBembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.6 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
18.4 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
3.5 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Property: Cap Maison
Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing